Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is metal....
Wow, wow and wow! Remember all the promises Slipknot made on how "Iowa" would sound? They sure lived up to it! As soon as you hear the twisted screams and cries in "(515)", you know you're in for a real treat. An unsettling and strange beginning, it soon tears into "People=S**t". Now this is where the promises become a reality. 3:36 of brutal...
Published on 18 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars their worst album
I'm a big fan of Slipknot.

But this has got to be their worst album for me, marginally worse than the debut.

It still gets 3 stars because it still has a couple of great songs, Left Behind and My Plague (the single remix of my My Plague is much better).
Published 2 months ago by neko83


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is metal...., 18 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
Wow, wow and wow! Remember all the promises Slipknot made on how "Iowa" would sound? They sure lived up to it! As soon as you hear the twisted screams and cries in "(515)", you know you're in for a real treat. An unsettling and strange beginning, it soon tears into "People=S**t". Now this is where the promises become a reality. 3:36 of brutal guitars, excellant drumming, heavy bass and manic vocals. As a matter of fact, this is the case in all of the songs. Take "The Heretic Anthem" for example in which frontman Corey Taylor (8) screams "If you're 555, then I'm 666!". Each member posesses a terryfying talent on thier respective instrument. For example, Joey Jordison (1) and his brilliant drumming in songs like the previously mentioned "Heretic Anthem" and "Metabolic" and guitar tag team Mick Thompson (7) and James Root(4) and their intense metal riffing. For those of you thought their first album "Slipknot" was good, Slipknot have just turned it up a notch and upped the ante once again. To sum up, "Iowa" is a must buy and trust me, it's well worth it. From the classy artwork to the actual album content, this is fantastic throughout. As Corey Taylor said: " We are not a Satan-worshipping band, but it's not for the queasy or weak-minded." Trust me people, he ain't lying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The darker side of the KnoT..., 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
This album is dark...this album is very, very dark...
After the monumental success of SlipKnoT's first titled record, they were put under the enormous pressure of topping it and creating an album which could live up to its predecessors glory. The album begins with "[515]", bassy, twitching synths, accompanied by numerous members shouting and screeching the word 'death' in such a way that the reaper himself could be in their presence. The first full song is in the form of "People=xxxx"...it's pounding drum/guitar intro is very reminiscent of the previous albums' opener "(sic)"...it malevolently combines an awesome riff with almost war-cry vocals and ultra-violent drumming, it leaves the mind and the senses truly stunned. Next comes the dominant "Disasterpiece"...a lot of work has gone into this one, numerous time and key changes combine with harsh and melodic vocal work and some very neat interplay between guitarists Jim Root and Mick Thompson, this is one of the albums great tracks and along with a couple of others...possibly "Iowa's" best. There are three slower tracks on the album in the form of the re-worked "Gently" (re-worked from the bands' first album Mate, Feed, Kill, Repeat), "Skin Ticket", and the albums' title track, "Iowa". These three songs are unquestionably the darkest and most moving of the 14 songs...doom-laden drumming and percussion give a stalking feel, and Corey Taylor's lyrics and vocal do more than enough to terrify and amass thoughts of suffering, escapism and intense emotional anguish. These songs are very cathartic and I find myself lost in them frequently. Mosh-pit anthems are also included in "Iowa", in the form of "The Heretic Anthem", "Left Behind" (the first single-release) and "My Plague" (the second single-release). The opening and progressing riff from "Left Behind" still raises goose-bumps to this day, and is arguably one of SlipKnoT's greatest. As for the rest of the records offerings, there is the soul-demolishing genius of "Everything Ends", the incredible "New Abortion" and the harmonic and melodic cry of "The Shape", these three songs are in no way inferior to the rest of the album, they are actually some of the best material SlipKnoT have ever produced!! Band-wagon fake's will buy this because it's cool...true Maggots will hold "Iowa" together with the rest of the albums as a great step in the ever conquering cycle of SlipKnoT's reign over our hearts and our minds..."you can't take my soul away from me...", we give it to SlipKnoT...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we've been waiting for!, 4 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Despite usally being into more extreme music, i absolutly adore Slipknots debut and i never thought they'd have the passion and anger to better it. But with "Iowa" they have taken their sound to a new level, producing an album no fan of extreme music should be without. After the weird intro, "People=S**t" suddenly erupts forth from the speakers with its devestatly heavy music and a cry of "Here we go again motherf******!" that annouces the arrival of "Iowa" in the best way possible. Next we get "Disasterpiece", a song that Cannible Corpse would be proud of and that will probably be the heaviest song anyone buying "Iowa" for the image will ever hear. And to be honest the album just carries on being fantastic. "Everything Ends" and "The Heretic Anthem" are 2 of the best Slipknot songs ever and "Left Behind" still sounding good on the album despite being less extreme. "Gently" is one of the albums quieter moments. Most people wont have heard the origonal which was fantastic and much rawer but this dark re-working just about manages to be the better of the two. Towards the end of the album "Skin Ticket" and "Iowa" help create a dark and dangerous atmosphere that prove the point that Slipknot are totally against being trendy or popular. So forgot the silly image, the leigons of 11 year old fans and the fact that they are called nu-metal. Buy this for the music and you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful stuff, 12 Jun 2003
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
This is a great metal album, even if opinons of them are split more than probably any other band at the moment.
The best song on the album is Heretic Anthem, an awesome song from the strange 8, 7, 666 countdown at the start, to the very last second, although there is plenty of competition from other songs such as Disasterpiece, and Everything Ends.
It isnt as diverse as its predeccesor, but if you thought (Sic) was the best song on the last album, this is for you.
There is a couple of bad points on the album, such as the pointless intro, and the overlong final track, which is very subdued, and not what you would expect from a band famous for their aggression.
They aren't the best metal band out there, but if you do take them at face value, admitting the masks are just a gimmick, and that its hard to take them seriously when two of them spend more time fighting than playing instruments, you should really enjoy this album, especially if you liked the first, or other similar bands.
It took me a long time to get into Slipknot, and I'll be the first to admit that not everyone likes them, but if you liek the songs you've heard, you should be happy with this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iowa, 5 Dec 2002
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
Being the second offering from the brillaint Slipknot, 'Iowa' follows up well from their amazing debut. Right from the opening track '515' you know your in for quite a listen, as it explodes into 'People = S**T'. There are perhaps one or two weaker tracks here which let the album down, but as a whole, it represents everything about Slipknot, and lives up to the hype surrounding its release. Every self proclaimed fan should have this album. Its amazing, dark, heavy, melodic, brooding and surprising. GET IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iowa Review, 7 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
I was resistant to buy Iowa at first but I definitly don't regret it now.
The album is better than the previous one although one cannot forget such classic tracks as 'Wait and Bleed' and 'Spit it Out'. The band sound more refined - Corey Taylor's voice and willingness to try out new styles of singing have matured.
I reckon that even the most timid and non-adventurous would get some satisfaction from this album. Songs such as 'Left Behind' and 'The Heretic Anthem' are songs that I have listened to over and over again.
The only flaws in this album are the situating of '(515)' as the first song (it is clearly not an encouraging welcome that will make you want to listen on) and the length of 'Iowa' (it drains some of the atmosphere out of the album through).
Nevertheless, it is a good album by Slipknot and is sure to get a few mosh pits going wherever it is played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fitting tribute to an amazing album!, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Thomas Woods (Ayr, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This re-issue of the now 10 year old Iowa is fantastic! The album has always been an absolute amazement to me, and to get it now with the DVD etc is a pleasure! Definitely a fitting tribute and re-issue of this album! A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iowa beats their last album by miles!!, 9 Feb 2002
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
When I bought their other album, I was disapointed with it because it just didn't sound very good. I went off Slipknot for a while, but then when this album came out, because it came out on my birthday, I decided to give them one more chance and I was glad that I did! Their other album didn't have any effect but this one was excellent! The best songs are probably:
I AM HATED
IOWA
and
PEOPLE=S**T
But I warn you now, if you don't like songs with words you can't get the hang of ... ever ... then DO NOT buy this. But if you don't give then buy it .... NOW!! You won't be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best from ...Slipknot!, 2 Sep 2001
By A Customer
By far the best album to hit the shelves in the metal world to date (although I can't see another getting even close to it). The nine-man band couldn't have been talking about 'IOWA' when they named the third track 'DISASTERPIECE' for it is the complete opposite. Indeed, heavier than the first, probably due to the three drummers experimenting more with the rest of the band, (one of the drummers has an oil drum). 'PEOPLE = SHIT,' 'MY PLAGUE,' 'EVERYTHING ENDS' and 'LEFT BEHIND' are fantastic in their own ways. 'EVERYTHING ENDS' has a excellent drum beat mixed with Corey's vocals that gives the song an outstanding atmospheric and even haunted feel. Corey's vocals change from high to hoarse to give the already lively 'LEFT BEHIND' an extra kick (fantastic/best song). To conclude, any sane (loyal) metal fan would want this badly. The only reason for not buying this album is that it would out-shine all your other CDs too much. Another terrific effort from slipknot. Hats off to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erm.........., 8 Mar 2003
This review is from: Iowa (Audio CD)
Before I say anything else, I MUST say I bought this album thinking I wont t like it'
I dont normally listen to this music, I like 'Disturbed' and 'Rage Against The Machine' but never in a million years would I have thought this would be stuck in my CD player for years.
After listening to this album for the first time, I found myself begging to listen again....and again....and again
Please buy this album, You wont regret it, I promise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iowa
Iowa by Slipknot (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews