Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied
I was hoping to replace my damaged ICF-SW100E, but, finding that Sony had discontinued that model, I purchased the 7600GR.
It is a larger, heavier, set, but I have to say that I'm very satisfied in almost all respects...better reception, clearer sound from the larger speaker, and an FM stereo line output good enough to record classical music progs to replay on my...
Published on 7 Jan 2008 by K. R. Cope

versus
48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable value but lacks thought in its design.
I bought this radio because I travel a lot and wanted a good quality all band receiver. Good points: It's well made, with good quality construction and a nice solid feel to it, and covers a wide range of short wave bands as well as FM. Reception is good. It comes with a nice soft leatherette type pouch. Bad points: no tone control and the speaker is tinny, Sony have...
Published on 28 Jan 2008 by mitsy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied, 7 Jan 2008
By 
K. R. Cope (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
I was hoping to replace my damaged ICF-SW100E, but, finding that Sony had discontinued that model, I purchased the 7600GR.
It is a larger, heavier, set, but I have to say that I'm very satisfied in almost all respects...better reception, clearer sound from the larger speaker, and an FM stereo line output good enough to record classical music progs to replay on my hi-fi (and I'm very particular!).
The four batteries seem to have a long life (better than the two in the SW100, as you would expect), but I purchased the mains adaptor as well; this is also a solid well-made item.
I'd give 5 stars if the aerial mount was less flimsy...I'd hope that it's stronger than it seems, since, despite being a careful guy, I have a habit of breaking aerials! Sony, please note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior performance and a great price., 9 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. C. Saunders (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
Pro: Synchronous detection circuit helps a lot with fading signals. Superior battery life. Radio appears solid and well made. The antenna can be pulled away from the case so it extends at a proper vertical angle, not at an awkward angle like the Eton E5 and other cheaper radios.

Con: Whip antenna connection to case is slightly flimsy. 4 AA cells needed; a bit inconvenient for portable use. The radio weighs approx. 600 grams, and the dimensions are slightly large for a compact receiver. The ICF-SW7600GR does NOT come with a power adapter.

Overall, I love this radio, and highly recommend it. Sony has discontinued the ICF-SW100E, so grab a '7600GR before it's discontinued!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally Good for the Price, 7 Jun 2005
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
I have this radio for 4 years now, and I must admit this is one of the best purchases I made on Amazon. Reception quality is very good on SW and FM, and presets are just so convenient. Perfect for those learning languages, listening to the news from their home country, travelling to remote spots where FM or digital does not reach (but serves as great FM radio as well). Price is very reasonable, for it's technical parameters this is great value for money. Aerial could be a bit sturdier - well nothing is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New for Old, 6 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
I have owned Sony's earlier SW AM FM receiver the ICF-7600DS for over 20years, it has been in use for many hours,nearly every day. Finally,last year,the screen packed up, otherwise it continues to work perfectly.

I was looking fo a second-hand replacement when I read the reports of the ICF-7600GR and thought that I would purchase one, in the hopes that it was as good as my old machine.

What a surprise, it is exceptional. The glowing reports were absolutely justified. I listen to SW and local MW / FM stations a lot and find the fuctionality quite remarkable for a portable machine.

If you are thinking of purchasing this type of radio, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A specialist SW radio, 1 Feb 2010
By 
R. Cook "techno-bat" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
The SW7600GR receiver has stood the test of time. The GR model is the third in the 7600 line and has itself been around for 9 or 10 years.
Why, when most other models have come and gone?

Simply because this is a 'real' short wave radio (I really mean AM as the receiver covers 150kHz to 30MHz and also FM radio band). The radio's performance is excellent and it offers the specialist facilities that a serious DX and/or SW listener wants. Admittedly, the design is old fashioned, the display could be much more comprehensive, and the controls more intuitive BUT it really does work, and work well.

The radio has the following, almost essential, SW features:
* A socket for an external antenna (this actually has 5 volts on it to switch a Sony Active Antenna automatically when is used with this radio - for our normal use, don't worry about this or fit a 10nF capacitor in the lead if it does worry you.)
* SSB - single side band (switchable USB and LSB) for listening to radio hams, morse, VOLMET (aircraft weather reporting) etc, with a rotary fine tune control. This works well and is pretty stable.
* Synchronous Detector - almost unique in a cheap radio. This can be used to lock-on to an AM signal and allow reception in fluctuating conditions. This function really works too.
* Line-output socket - useful for connecting other devices, eg. code reader, PC, or recorder.
* Attenuator controls - there is a continuously variable RF attenuator to adjust the input level when excessive signals are present or for varying the level detected during scanning.

I really miss a rotary tuning knob but the strange tuning control buttons work surprisingly well. The outer buttons step in 5kHz steps or by holding set an automatic scan in operation. The radio mutes whilst scanning. When a signal is found the radio dwells for a few seconds before continuing scan. The inner buttons step in 1kHz steps and if held cause a scan without mute so that any odd signals can be heard. The button must be held down to continue scanning. In addition, direct frequency input can be made with the number buttons. `Direct' and `Exe' must be pushed to activate before and after the inputted number.

It is essential to use the operator's manual initially as the setting sequence for clock, timers, memory, frequency etc, is not intuitive. Battery life seems good.

Basically this is a quirky short wave receiver with very good performance for serious listening.
This is the top short wave radio that Sony still manufacture, and still made in Japan, but for how much longer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable value but lacks thought in its design., 28 Jan 2008
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
I bought this radio because I travel a lot and wanted a good quality all band receiver. Good points: It's well made, with good quality construction and a nice solid feel to it, and covers a wide range of short wave bands as well as FM. Reception is good. It comes with a nice soft leatherette type pouch. Bad points: no tone control and the speaker is tinny, Sony have really let themselves down by putting in a poor speaker. It takes 4 AA batteries, and if you use rechargeables (IE: 4.8v instead of 6v as with alkalines) they have to be just recently charged or the radio will not operate. The supplied external wire AM aerial is rubbish. Also to enter a frequency directly rather than use presets, you have to push one button, then enter the frequency you want, and then press another button - not very user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good radio at moderate price for beginners, 19 Sep 2003
By 
Shilpa Gupta (Bangalore, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
Good clean silver finish (not aluminium), 102 presets, tone switchable to 'News' and 'Music'. Nothing compared to WorldSpace transmission of BBCAsia, but considering my catching BBC from India via SW, pretty good! 4AA size batteries becomes a little incovenient sometimes, when on the move (2 would be so much more convenient!). Scanning digitally thru the whole SW steps range is a little tedious, and I still haven't figured out how to scan the whole band! Wise back-light and hold button. During daytime, I need to connect to an external antennae to get SW. Comes with a chart of all the frequencies and times of transmission of various stations of the world. All in all, a good thing to start with, to scan the SW world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all rounder, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Michael Pook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
I started with the iconic IC2001 and have many Sony short wave radios since. This one is the best all rounder yet and has the quality and design touches you would expect from Sony. Sensitivity and station grabbing on SW are excellent especially if you give it half a chance with almost any aerial. It doesn't eat batteries. Its solidly built - I agree the aerial needs a bit of care but its a big long aerial for the case and double jointed. Controls are smooth and effective. The only thing I don't like is the case, a little 'cheap' for the radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Ummagumma (Middlesbrough, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
Excellent Shortwave radio. Sony 'made in Japan' quality, with a model history dating back to the 1980s.

Initially put off by two aspects; the lack of a tuning dial, and no supplied power adapter. Don't let that put you off, batteries are safer than power, with no electrical 'noise'. I use rechargeable's, but also have a set of alkaline's on standby when charging is required. No tuning dial is not as bad as thought, keep the inner tuning button pressed, (1Khz step) and you get a reasonable tuning speed, with no 'muting', it's the best way to tune on SSB. On Shortwave broadcast, keep the outer button pressed, (5Khz step) initially to start automatic searching, although in this mode, there is a tendency for it to stop 5Khz short of the actual frequency.

Selectable USB/LSB is a good feature, as is the synchronous detection. Shortwave sensitivity is up there with the best in the portable catagory, but LW and MW is especially sensitive. It would have been ideal if the buttons were backlit.

Build quality is top-notch; The speaker grille is metal, and the the LCD window is extremely solid. Sony items should last the distance. Best to buy quality from the start, and as far as radio's go, your looking at it.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL WORLD RADIO, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio (Electronics)
The radio has a clearer reception and very handy when traveling according to my brother who requested for it in Africa, Nigeria. He has an old version of it which he acquired in UK a long time ago and wishes to replace it with the one which has digital selection spec.

Being a country witout electricity supply for 24hrs. He has found it a most valuable/reliable asset via which he can listen to news from the rest of the world. In fact he sleeps with the Radio like a man will sleep with his wife.

I give it 41/2 stars and recommend it to anyone who will like to listen to happenings in other parts of the world.

Thanks.

NB. Please send the receipt of this order urgently to my home address as I am yet to get it till date. This is not part of the review please.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony ICF-SW7600GR World Radio
109.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews