Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a selection of tunes
As the other reviewers have mentioned the quality of the mix is not great, if it is existent, but the quality of the tunes themselves are enough to make up for it by a long way. But whos to say anyway that the album has to be mixed nicely to be enjoyed? Howie B obviously has the talents to mix a few records together but with these selections he obviously feels the album...
Published on 4 Sep 2002 by Adam Toone

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tracks but horrible mixing
The tracks on this album are great, they really are chilled out and fit in well with the style of the complilation series. Theres something for everyone and in particular for me the highlights were the 'Love's Theme - Love Unlimited Orchestra', 'Walking In Rhythm - The Blackbyrds' and 'Summer Hot - Curtis Mayfield'. However, the way some of them are 'mixed' together...
Published on 10 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a selection of tunes, 4 Sep 2002
By 
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
As the other reviewers have mentioned the quality of the mix is not great, if it is existent, but the quality of the tunes themselves are enough to make up for it by a long way. But whos to say anyway that the album has to be mixed nicely to be enjoyed? Howie B obviously has the talents to mix a few records together but with these selections he obviously feels the album can only reflect the tempo and enthusiasm of the songs by switching from one top the other 'just like that'...
Its not such a chilled out record though. Even listening to it in the office i feel like jumping up and grooving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good picks, but no mix, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
a couple of real discoveries on this cd and a few like the frankie beverley track that one dug in a disco in the early 80s and was too drunk to find out what it was called. only bad track is probably howie b doing under the boardwalk which might have looked fun on paper. only thing: theres not much mix about it, the tracks just cut into one another like he put it together on cd architect or something. no problem, the man has great taste in deep medium pacers. best playinthecar thing ive bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixing, Schmixing, 20 Dec 2002
By 
John D. Storer "xlo58" (Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
Save us from these sad, sad people who denigrate an album because it doesn't cut tracks off just as they are getting to the good bits, and isn't padded out with dreadful "dance"tracks that are only included because the bpm allows it to be used to segue one earlier track into a later track.
I now own most of the "Another Late Night" series, as well as the "Back To Mine" series, and they have been an education. And Howie B's is just about the cream of the crop (although MJ Coles BTM selection pushes it close)
No! It's not mixed!! Shock! Horror!! But a finer groove than this album gives will be very, very difficult to find.
PS: Isn't it about time someone let "The Streets" loose on one of these albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a high quality set, 24 Sep 2001
By 
MR D E FULLER (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
Who cares how the tracks are mixed - I didn't notice anything jarring in it. The tunes are excellent and it's a very good soulful collection to chill to, including both old soul nuggets and new hiphop and electronica tracks - very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tracks but horrible mixing, 10 Nov 2003
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
The tracks on this album are great, they really are chilled out and fit in well with the style of the complilation series. Theres something for everyone and in particular for me the highlights were the 'Love's Theme - Love Unlimited Orchestra', 'Walking In Rhythm - The Blackbyrds' and 'Summer Hot - Curtis Mayfield'. However, the way some of them are 'mixed' together really detracts from the album as a whole.
Having read the other reviews below I was encouraged by the comments about the tracks and paid little attention to the complaints about the lack of mixing.
The album would have been fine if the tracks died away rather than being flung in abruptly into each other. Dont get me wrong some tracks do slip in together but others are just horrendously switched mid song which is very unpleasant listening.
All in all the album is worth buying for the tracks alone but be warned about the mixing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Surprise, 4 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
I must confess I hadnt heard of Howie B before I bought this album. It was a nice surprise, some really good tracks and well mixed together to give it quite a fresh outlook and something a bit different. I have several anotherlatenight mixes and this one is added to the collection for continued use. good work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars could do better!, 28 Aug 2003
By 
M. Rooke "flat4" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
This was an overall disappointing listen for me. I expected great things given Howie B's reputation and the other releases in the excellent 'Another Late Night' series.
While the selections are on the whole good and varied, the mix is inexistent, which grates and doesn't lend to chilling out, and to cap it all his version of 'Under the Boardwalk' is terrible... Maybe he did it as a joke, but whatever, it doesn't help the overall notion that this was a few tracks he flung together in an afternoon rather than thought out carefully and mixed lovingly, the impression you get from the other albums in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is awful., 8 Aug 2001
By 
Mr. P. J. Kennedy (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
This is awful! Not particularly because of the songs that are on it but more because of the transitions from one track to another. It isn't mixed at all it's simply faded in volume from one track to the next sometimes Howie B just moves the cross fader straight accross giving the listener a near heart -attack. Definitely not conducive for chilling to. It would scare the life out of you.
Another late night? Another bag of shite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy this and give yourself a heart attack!, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Another Late Night - Howie B (Audio CD)
Being a bedroom DJ and a lover of music, I was shocked to hear this "mix" by Howie. Although the selection of tunes is mostly good, there's no order, and certainly no mix, not even the fading in and out of tracks. There is no way you'll be able to chill out to this CD.. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another Late Night - Howie B
Another Late Night - Howie B by Howie B (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews