Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No words to describe....
How fantastic this film is. I was fortunate to see this film on BBC2, the same as the March 4th reviewer. I make no claims to having personally experienced cancer treatment or know how it feels, but several family members have suffered from it. This film provides an insight into their feelings that I cannot help but intuitively feel is authentic. There are certain films...
Published on 11 Mar. 2006 by Adam

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm just a bit dumb
AMAZING film. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Only thing is I didn't realise it was formatted for US TV (I didn't even know there was a difference!) so had to watch it on the laptop. D'oh!
Published on 20 Mar. 2011 by Sianij


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No words to describe...., 11 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
How fantastic this film is. I was fortunate to see this film on BBC2, the same as the March 4th reviewer. I make no claims to having personally experienced cancer treatment or know how it feels, but several family members have suffered from it. This film provides an insight into their feelings that I cannot help but intuitively feel is authentic. There are certain films that I believe everyone should see, and that being on a *must watch* list just does not do this film justice... I saw this film and simply had to have it, and I'll be telling everyone I can... *6* Stars! BUY THIS FILM, IF IT'S THE LAST THING YOU DO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film for UK, 15 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
This was a truly amazing film and Emma Thompson's performance is outstanding. I saw it by accident on TV late one night...why oh why is it not available on DVD in the UK? Please someone rectify this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep, Dark, Depresing, 14 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
Vvian Bearing is a 40-something college professor specialising in 17th Century poetry when she discoveres she has ovarian cancer and is put on an experimental trial of chemotherapy for 8 months to destroy the cancer cells. 'Wit' follows her life for these 8 months, giving us an insight into a patients journey through the health care, from embarressing examinations to research-driven doctors only interested in getting their name in the great medical journals rather than making sure their partient is alright.

It's a dark and deeply moving film, and definately not an easy watch - I'm glad I've seen it this once but I never want to watch this again. It drains you emotionally and put me in a dark place for a few hours afterwards.

Emma Thompson is incredible as Vivian (but do you expect anything else from her?), you can really feel her pain, loneliness, regret, humiliaiation etc. She acts in such a way that you go through every emotion with her, part of the reason this film becomes so hard to watch.

I would recommend this film if you have any interest in working in health care, or would like to see an intelligent film about a woman's final few months. I would not recommend this film however for an enjoyable night in, or just as casual viewing. I'm glad I've seen it, but almost wish I hadn't - there's a feeling I get when I remember this film that sinks my heart, and probably will for the rest of my life.

Incredibly moving, dark and depressing. Not my cup of tea, but definately a great achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATCH THIS MOVIE!, 18 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
Like everyone in the UK who has reviewed this film, I chanced upon it early in March 2006 when it was on at a dreadfully late hour. It is enormously moving - I cried most of the way through. It portrays accurately the barabarity of modern chemotherapy through the eyes of a young lady with advanced ovarian carcinoma. Emma Thompson is outstanding but the whole film is just great. Should be compulsory viewing for all oncologists! Also brings out the great poetry of John Donne! Why is this not available in the UK??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need the DVD, 31 Dec. 2005
By 
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
This play is moving and thought-provoking in all the most vital ways. Not mawkishly sentimental but agonisingly painful, It asks all the most important questions that we have to face about life, death, faith, pain, and being alone. And it presents one of the most beautifully touching relationships I have ever seen on film. Superb cast, wonderfully simple and clear direction, and gorgeous music.

Please SOMEONE release this in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, honest portrayal., 12 April 2006
By 
Helen Stevens (High Wycombe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
Emma Thompson proves what a fantastic actress she is in this harrowing but compelling story of a University professor diagnosed with ovarian cancer, based on the play by Margaret Edson. A loner through her life, Vivian Bearing has no family and few friends, and so goes through an intensive course of experimental chemotherapy treatment alone, save for the Doctors and nurses who treat her. The story begins with Vivian right in the thich of her treatment, and she explains, talking directly to the camera, how she arrived at this point in her life. She tells her tale often through flashbacks, with the 'now' Vivian often appearing in the midst of each flashback - including a charming scene of the character as a 5 year old, first getting to grips with literature in the form of Peter Rabbit.

As her treatment progreses Vivian is forced to come to terms with her inevitable fate, but also with the life she has had.

The film is intensely intimate, as for much of it's duration there is only one other person there besides Vivian - you, the viewer. As she talks directly to the camera, as if addressing a close confidant, you feel drawn in, as if you are there visiting a patient in the hospital - a patient who is a dear friend, as you cannot help but care for Vivian almost from the start.

Emma Thompson threw herself wholeheartedly into this role - shaving her head amongst other things, and it was clearly a role which meant a great deal to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary experience, 16 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
W;it, the only play written by Margaret Edson, won the Pulitzer Prize for drama in 1999, which gives an indication of its quality. It is quite simply the most amazing script I have ever read, and Emma Thompson's rendition of the principal character, Vivian Baring, is breathtaking. Watching a woman at the height of her mental and physical powers succumb (literally) to the disease consuming her, does not seem the best way to spend an evening, yet -- as a friend commented -- it turns out to be "....an uplifting experience".

The author tackles the profoundest questions that face us all: life; death; redemption; relationships; knowledge; freedom; success; failure. She does so against the leitmotif of John Donne's Holy Sonnets, such unbelievably beautiful and challenging poetry.

The other equally amazing performance in this version of the play is that of Eileen Aitkins as E. M. Ashford, Barring's professor of English Literature. It is hard to comprehend how someone can instil just two 10-minute cameo scenes with such grandeur and humanity. She personifies what may be a key to the whole play, a sentence found on the lips of the young Vivian: 'Highest professional standards and simple human truth. There is a link somewhere, but I...' (Understood, though not uttered: 'I... couldn't see it.') Ashford not only sees it; she lives it. For her, everything is indeed a matter of life and death -- and life again.

If you have the courage to read this play or watch this DVD, I dare to venture that you will be changed by it. For the better. It should be compulsory viewing for all those in the medical and educational fields.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Nov. 2005
By 
MISS SARAH I REID (Inverness, Inverness-shire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
this is a brilliant film. emma thompson did a great performance and as a student nurse found the film very informative. you find yourself becoming involved with the characters. it is a very powerful and emotional film i would reccommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Compelling, 6 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
The story is about a college professor who is forced to reasses the success of her life when she is diagnosed with terminal ovarian cancer. The film follows Vivian Bearing (Thompson) as she goes through all stages of chemotherapy and eventually death.

I watched this film when it came on the tv at christmas and I was just astounded by it's dramatic impact. Thompson gives a compelling performance of a hopeless situation. Even though you know what is going to happen from the outset it is still a deeply moving and terrifying story of reconciliation. It is filmed in such a way that it draws you to notice ever slight look or gesture that is made. Every scene with Susie and Vivian made me want to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and beautifully acted, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
Skeadugenga (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wit [2001][Region 1][NTSC] [DVD] [US Import] (DVD)
After seeing this film I'm a fan of anything Emma Thompson does.

Thompson's character is initially not that sympathetic, but as the story progresses and her illness develops, so her character becomes more appreciative of others and her delightfully ironic humour and bravery make you warm to her. Given the subject matter and the fact that the film is almost a monologue, Thompson's performance had to be perfect, and it is - by the end you care deeply about what happens to the character; its some of the most brilliant acting I've ever seen.

Most people who have discovered 'Wit' started to watch it by accident, after all not many people would choose a film about ovarian cancer for entertainment, but the story is much much more than that and once you start watching you can't stop. I never cry over films (its just a film - right), but the scene with Eileen Atkins got to me. Its a marvellous film, sad but so uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews