Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet ANOTHER CLASSIC by the best band in the world
I love The Wailers, but even i'm almost getting tired of giving them 5 star reviews! In many people's eyes Kaya was seen as a drop in form after the collosal achievement that was Exodus. Let's not forget that Time magazine voted Exodus as the most important album of the 20th century. But despite not matching Exodus, Kaya is still great. Just like Dennis Brown and...
Published on 5 Mar 2009 by Rudy

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Unambitious
We get one extra track Smile Jamaica which is exactly the same as the 2001 re-release. I know of 2 very different versions of Smile Jamaica, one poppy, one melancholic so the least we could have expected would have been both versions.

Then we get Live at Ahoy Hallen as a bonus disc, 1978 tour i.e. Babylon By Bus so this is going to be the Bob tries to become an...
Published 16 months ago by Gashead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet ANOTHER CLASSIC by the best band in the world, 5 Mar 2009
By 
Rudy (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kaya (Audio CD)
I love The Wailers, but even i'm almost getting tired of giving them 5 star reviews! In many people's eyes Kaya was seen as a drop in form after the collosal achievement that was Exodus. Let's not forget that Time magazine voted Exodus as the most important album of the 20th century. But despite not matching Exodus, Kaya is still great. Just like Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs, The Wailers often mixed love songs with "reality" themed songs. It's a shame in my view that it is mostly the love songs that are the most famous. It says it all that Legend took only 1 song from Catch A Fire, 2 from Burnin' and none from Survival. It is interesting that this album is the opposite of Exodus in that the first 5 songs are the more feel good, love songs etc and the second half has the more serious ones. It opens with the relaxed, joyous Easy Skanking and Kaya before the hit single Is This Love. This album contains a few reworkings of old songs (Kaya, Sun Is Shining and Satisfy My Soul) but unlike the few on Natty Dread for instance, the new versions can be held up to the originals. As you would expect the musicianship is outstanding and the trademark melodies are present and correct. The Wailers music attracts many different people, some really listen to the lyrics and others who just want to put it on and drift away and Kaya has songs that will suit everyone. The first half of the album is concluded by another classic love song Satisfy My Soul. But then the second half starts in sombre mood with the heartache of She's Gone and feature some of my favourite lyrics off the album.

"She had left me a note, hanging on my door
she say she couldn't take it, she couldn't
take any more
the pressure around me, just couldn't see
she felt like a prisoner, who needs to be free..."

The quality continues to the end of the album. Crisis is another of my favourites with more great lyrics from Bob.

"They say the sun, shines for all
but in some people world, it never shines at all
they say love is a stream, that will
find it's course
some people think life is a dream
so they making matters worse."

It's a beautiful song on an album full of them. If I were to try and pick standouts i'd probably end up listing half the album! What makes it even more unbelievable is that as great as Kaya is, it still doesn't make the top 5 or 6 albums by The Wailers. Those spots are fought over by (in no particular order) Soul Rebels, Soul Revolution, Catch A Fire, Burnin' Exodus, Survival and Best of The Wailers (recorded at Beverley's, produced by Leslie Kong and Warrick Lyn). The music of The Wailers is timeless and Bob Marley's lyrics will remain relevant as long as there are human beings on this planet. Bob Dylan is more poetic, Bruce Springsteen is a great storyteller, The Beatles wrote more hits but who else could say so much so simply?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Unambitious, 23 April 2013
This review is from: Kaya - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
We get one extra track Smile Jamaica which is exactly the same as the 2001 re-release. I know of 2 very different versions of Smile Jamaica, one poppy, one melancholic so the least we could have expected would have been both versions.

Then we get Live at Ahoy Hallen as a bonus disc, 1978 tour i.e. Babylon By Bus so this is going to be the Bob tries to become an international megastar type show. I saw him in Stockholm on that tour and while being excellent wasn't a patch on the Rainbow 1977 and Crystal Palace 1980 concerts I went to.

What about all those dub, 12" extended and instrumental versions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars scottishtony, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaya - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Kaya is a great album 10 out of 10,but island records are taking the total piss and greed on the Marley catalogue with this deluxe version,the live disc is total crap,its like a bad bootleg, bad sound is an understatment.I am sure if Bob Marley and his press officer Rob Partridge were still with us this would never have made the street,as all honest reviews would have been so bad it would not sell,sad to see the desperation of record companys to make money,just buy Kaya or the remastered cds,both sound great.shame on you island records.i ve never review anything before but this angered me.dont give them your money.Scottishtony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total masterpiece (I'm not exaggerating), 31 July 2000
This review is from: Kaya (Audio CD)
Although in my opinion Marley never wrote a bad song, Kaya has got to be one of his best albums. The whole package is incredibly upbeat and you cannot listen to it without smiling and feeling great.The songs are all excellent, particularly Time Will Tell which is my favourite Marley song ever.Tracks like Easy Skanking and Is This Love will keep any reggae fan happy. The title song too has that rare mix of being mellow and uplifting. People who only buy the best of Maley albums really do miss out on a lot! If you like Bob, and/or reggae, buy it!... go on trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 19 Feb 2001
This review is from: Kaya (Audio CD)
I was only thirteen when I bought this incredible album and have held it high in my top five albums of all time ever since. It is more mellow than Marley's previous masterpiece's and includes one of the wailer's greatest songs ever 'Is This Love'. Buy all of Bob Marley's albums and you will be able to listen to the greatest musician of all time any time you want. R.I.P Bob Marley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Marley gets a tad soulful on this one, 3 Aug 2012
This review is from: Kaya (Audio CD)
1978 album, it was in my view one of his last decent output albums. A friend was a big fan of "Exodus". He would dance to it like a pair of sledgehammers going in different directions simultaneously. I allways thought of "Exodus" as Mr Marley's stadium album. Dan Dare's dancing just confirmed it. I picked this (Kaya) up in a market without a cover. It is more personal. Some bluesy reggae songs with crooning vocal (Crisis and Running Away) make this a worthwhile purchase. Although not on the frequent play list but definately outside of the best of territory (except for "Is this Love"). There were some nice individual tracks subsequent to Kaya, but albums after this tended to have a bit too much filler for my liking. But gotta love the man. I am pleased Mr Marley graced this planet and laid down some memorable music. I have drunk deeply of his output and it is sustaining for the mind and soul. Kaya stands tall. There is some very good, understated but well executed lead guitar. Some good, if not patchy lyrics. There is the bouncey, thrashed to death "Is this Love". But as stated earlier, it has some other humdinger tracks in "She's Gone" and "Running Away". Add "Crisis" and you have a distinct sense Mr Marley-loverman might of taken a bit of a burning leading to the composition of some of these tracks. it also has "Sun is shining", there is a good cover of this by Black Uhuru on reggae compilations, and it is good to match it alongside the original. Kaya is well worth a listen and with parting with a bit of brass to add to the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marley was the greatest artist of all time. Kaya is a must, 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kaya (Audio CD)
'Kaya' has to be the album that most comprehensively demonstrates Marley's different styles. A small amount of money can give access to his best tracks. I would highly recommend that anyone beginning to explore reggae furnishes themselves with 'Kaya', it is second only to 'Exodus'. I own all Marley's albums, 'Exodus' and 'Kaya' are the best, and are essentials for any fan of reggae music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you remember...., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaya - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Traditionally "Kaya" has been dismissed as being a bit of a light weight. However, it is far better than some would say and contains a number of great songs including "Satisfy my Soul", "Is This Love" and the stupendous "Time Will Tell". With an added '78 show as a bonus this is an excellent worthwhile package that sits nicely on my shelf alongside the other Marley "Deluxe Editions".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy, 25 Jun 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kaya (Audio CD)
Is this the best Bob Marley & The Wailers album? Well no, of course it isn`t, the best is usually whichever one you`re listening to at the time. But Kaya is most definitely a favourite of mine. From the luxury of hindsight, their records having been around now for a few decades, I`d say it`s the equal of its illustrious predecessor Exodus.
There`s something so witty and unforced about the songs. Easy Skanking is a heavenly opening track, but everyone knows the first `side` of Kaya, just like we all know and love `Side 2` of Exodus, the sunny love songs, but the later tracks on Kaya, for example Misty Morning and Time Will Tell, two of the most compelling tracks recorded by anyone at any time, are glorious, and really should be played more often on radio - they tend to only play `hits` on the radio, as if we couldn`t take tracks we haven`t heard a hundred times before - since they are all simply wonderful. They have a lovely, languid feel to them, and help to make this superb album one of the jewels in Marley`s mighty crown. It`s not `easy listening` but it sure is easy to listen to. If Burnin` is a drenching storm, and Exodus a swim in a balmy sea, Kaya is more like a shuffle through shallow breakers at the end of a hot day.
The remastered sound is clear as a bell too, one of the best reissues of its kind I`ve heard, diamond bright and crystal clear as you could wish. The whole thing sounds unimprovable.
At the moment Kaya is my favourite album by Bob Marley & The Wailers...but that could change.
Absolutely gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Record company rip off, 24 April 2013
This review is from: Kaya - Deluxe Edition (Audio CD)
Music = 5 stars
Content = 1 star

Blatant evidence of a record company ripping off fans

Disc 1 gives us the original album plus ONE bonus track (which is the same as the 2001 re-release) with a total of (just over) 42 minutes of music.
So there is 37 minutes of missed opportunity on disc 1 where the record company could have given the fans something new.

Disc 2 gives us an INCOMPLETE concert (crisis and running away/crazy baldhead were performed before i shot the sheriff).
Why could they have not given us the complete concert by using the empty space on disc 1?

At least when they released the Rastaman Vibration deluxe edition they gave us TEN new tracks (and an incomplete concert later released in full - Live at the Roxy)

Does this mean there is a 2CD set with the full live concert around the corner?
(Though if they put the opening set by Steel Pulse on it as well - and there is enough room for it - they might just redeem themselves!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kaya
Kaya by Bob Marley (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews