Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2003
The Cystal Method return sounding like an adrenaline injected Chemical Brothers on a musical rampage ripping apart heavy guitar riffs and breaking all manner of beats.The energy in all of the tracks flows vigorously and is given a harder edge by the guesting of musicians such as Tom Morello, former Rage Against The Machine guitarist.They manage to nicely straddle several genres, for example Name Of The Game which navagates its way through hip-hop scratches before veering dangerously close to nu-metal territory. Seamless mixing hides a multitude of sins, the most obvious one being the repetitive nature of the drum samples used.However, the album is ideal for getting heads-a-nodding and will no doubt contribute to the soundtracks of several films and adverts in the next few years.Cystal Method have managed to resurrect long dead big beat sensibilities and create something that should have FatBoySlim quaking in his boots, even if its just the juicy basslines shaking the dancefloor.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
This album is, on the surface, a more chilled out affair then '97s Vegas, but until the surface we have classic TCM. The 303s are present and abrasively correct, the drum patterns are looser and funkier, but more importantly- The Crystal Method still know how to GROOVE and excite you at the same time. Basically it's pre- going out music, headphone music, annoy your housemates/parents music. The sounds coming from your bedroom are LOUD and BAD but in an unspeakably COOL way! Enjoy folks!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
This absolutely Rocks, I mean ROCKS! It is deep and grungy with great breaks and tweeks. If you like the Chemicals you will love this, twice as hard and much more funky. It really does get you moving and dancing round the house. It may be too hard for some but it is thick with bass and oozes with deep vibes.
If you buy one album this year let it be this, you will not be disapointed. It is quite old and cannot believe I have only just managed to get a copy. I have tried getting anything else by the Crystal Method but looks like their stuff is becoming rare?
Try it you may like it but I am damn sure you'll love it!
Have fun!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2003
If you liked Vegas, and even if you didn't but like banging electronica in general, you'll love Tweekend. Few dj pairs can combine bring-down-the-house beats, catchy synth lines, and power guitar riffs like these guys can! Must buy for any fan of Chemical Brothers, Prodigy, and the like.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2006
Well first of all I only bought this album for the Hybrid Remix of Name Of The Game on the 2CD release. Having heard Vegas a number of years ago and given it plenty of chances I found the whaling sirens that seemed to accompany nearly every track starting to grate very quickly.
I decided to give this album a try and after a few listens began to appreciate how much more mature and refined the sound was. My favourite track on here is most certainly Blowout and this tune epitomises their progression in style, to one that is more thoughtful and measured rather than raw and experimental. If you are a fan of electronica get this album and give it a few listens!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2001
Wow, what an album!! I have just bought this for my brother for xmas, and needed to buy another copy!!
The album is much looser and definatly less intense than vegas, but with tracks like Roll it up, with what I can only describe as incredable guitar breaks, less 303 used on this album, but just as good. All in all if you are into your non-cheesy, real techno. This is a definate buy. Order it Now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
This CD is great for testing out your system's bass. The opening track 'PHD' is a great opener, however the rest of the album doesn't exceed the drop on this track certainly not if you listen to it on a proper hi-fi to get the most of it. I would recommend buying 'Vegas' before this one and if you like it getting this one second.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2003
With the amount of Club and Dance Slowly Dominating the world and Mostly the UK techno and electronic music has become defined as anything with a basic meterome beat(thud, thud, thud, thud)
Crystal Method brings Great beats, Phsycidelic Sounds and great Ideas to this album, with a mixture of Techno Guitar EVERYTHING. Like their other Album Vegas THIS SHOULD NOT BE MISSED.
Its funny how their albums are getting old now yet still setting the ground for how techno should sound NOW and in the Future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having sat around gathering dust for the last week, this CD finally worked its way into my CD player today and it was well worth the wait; more mellow than Vegas, which serves only to enhance the listening experience. This CD requires absolutely no effort to listen to, but that in no way detracts from the music quality that oozes from every nook and cranny of this disc!! But it now, you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2003
When the hell did they release this? I got mp3s yonks ago but I have yet to find a proper copy of Tweekend lying on a record shelf. Oh well.
If you are already a Crystal Method fan then this is same old, same old. Phd is a cracking tune and one of the few of this record to use those trademark squelchy 303 riffs.
If, however, you don't have any Crystal Method, then Vegas is a total 5 star album. Get that and forget about this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.44
£11.06

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)