Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not good enough!
Dark Cloud is a very intresting game, since it mixes adventure with strategic construction of cities, but the best part of this game for me was the ability to gain weapons for Toan, and his fellow companions, and upgrade to other weapons that are more powerful. Also, Fishing finds itself being a good additional feature to the game, as you can get Special Items in exchange...
Published on 12 Oct 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Amazing!
Okay, to start off this review, Dark Cloud is NOT a bad game, however it is understandable to see why people would dislike it due to there being just as many negatives as there are positives.

The premise, without giving anything away of course is this:
You play as a young lad named Toan (or whatever you decide to name him) from a fantasy world known as...
Published on 27 July 2011 by ABeeps


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not good enough!, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
Dark Cloud is a very intresting game, since it mixes adventure with strategic construction of cities, but the best part of this game for me was the ability to gain weapons for Toan, and his fellow companions, and upgrade to other weapons that are more powerful. Also, Fishing finds itself being a good additional feature to the game, as you can get Special Items in exchange for Fishing Points (FP). You can even get Top of the range weapons, if you manage to catch rare fish. The Dungeons are great fun @ first, but unfortunately it does tend to delve into boredom, after about the 10th level of each Dungeon. But in most cases, the bosses @ the end more than make up for boredom factor. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves RPG's in general, although this is not for the casual gamer, who just wants to pick up and play, as the game can take as long as 50 hours (which for me is not much, compared to the likes of FF7 and FF8, which have as much as 100+ hours of gameplay).Overall a 4 out of 5, worth splashing your cash for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Amazing!, 27 July 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
Okay, to start off this review, Dark Cloud is NOT a bad game, however it is understandable to see why people would dislike it due to there being just as many negatives as there are positives.

The premise, without giving anything away of course is this:
You play as a young lad named Toan (or whatever you decide to name him) from a fantasy world known as Terra.
Terra is under attack by dark magic from an evil genie and his master (Even though the Genie seems to be the one in the driver's seat) and naturally, it is up to you to save it, meeting tons of allies along the way and rebuilding the civilizations that were destroyed.

It's story line is far from original, but it does have a certain charm to it that will keep you playing along.
While it is an RPG, the game is completely real time, which I count as a plus, I just find that turn based RPGs can be extremely frustrating in the third dimension.
The weapon system is fun and I do love collecting all the rare items and gems to power up my weapons, rebuilding the cities is also rather fun.

Though the game has it's faults, mostly down to the excessive amounts of pointless dialogue you have to sit through which is neither plot-driven or relevant. The dungeons have this habit of randomly generating the layouts of each floor (Also a rather dated idea) I wouldn't normally have a problem with this but all the floors are all so similar to one another and believe me there are far too many floors until you get to the rather offensively easy bosses, it can get very repetitive so patience is definitely needed in order to get far on this game.
You'll spend a lot of time grinding in the first couple of dungeons in order to even consider entering the later additions.

Had they made the game in a more Zelda-esque style, with more puzzles, unique but consistent dungeons, a few minigames and subquests, I think the game would have been much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not everybody's cup of tea...., 15 Oct 2001
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
..but a really good game. I got it Saturday and put in 8 hours over the weekend and still can't wait to get back to it.
As an RPG it has all the depth you could want. Weapons can be upgraded and customized more than in the FF games, although the character development is a little simpler.
The town building element is much more than the gimmick I expected it to be. It's really cool to pop some people in a house, place it on the map then go and talk to those people. And if you can rebuild the town to their liking you will be rewarded. You can return to this section at will, and the game flow is a nice blend of dungeoneering & town building.
The graphics and sound are excellent, in particular the villages look stunning at dusk. Overall the title is very polished.
True, it is a little repetitive, with all 15 or so floors per dungeon/forest etc.. looking very similar. However, new monsters are introduced regularly and there are about 6 characters to control. The packaging promises 50 hours of play, and I can well believe that from what I've played so far.
If you like RPGs, this is the best on PS2 by far. In fact, it's one of the best I have played anywhere - not quite up there with FF, but an excellent game all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great potential, 4 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
Dark Cloud is, a heart, a fairly basic RPG. Combat is hack-and-slash, similar to The Legend of Zelda on N64. Exploration is limited to walking around corridors pressing 'Action' next to a chest. The story is minimal and only really serves as a backdrop for the gameplay. The one thing that lifts this game from being a mediocre adventure to a very good role playing game, is the 'diorama' system.
Your goal is to collect pieces of various towns and villages, along with the inhabitants of said town/village, and then reconstruct them. You can do it anyway you wish - but the only way to complete the game proper and open up your next objectives is to listen to the villager's needs. Someone migth want to live next to the pond as they fish; another might want to live next to the bakery; another might want to face the ocean. Its a simple concept, but one that becomes hugely engrossing, especially as the game progresses and the towns become more complex. Even better, you can then return to game mode and walk round the town you have just constructed, askng people how well you've done.
Unfortunately, the dungeons and combat get repetitive and as the difficulty level rises, frustrating. The game takes around 40 hours to complete - the first 20 whizz by, but after half way things feel a little stale. Its such a shame, as there are so many wonderful touches to the game; great graphics, town construction and varied playable characters.
Dark Cloud shows great potential; its an excellent concept not quite as perfect as it should be. Thankfully, Sony are already at work on Dark Cloud 2....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 in 1, 29 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
Dark Cloud is probably one of the best titles for PlayStation 2. It's a mixed up from Final Fantasy, Zelda and Theme Park. The story line is fine, the graphics are great, the gameplay is excelent. You play as Toan (plus 5 companions that will join you during the game) and your mission is to save the world from a bastard called Dark Genie. All you have to do is to wonder around dungeons, kill monsters (zelda's battle style), acquired villages' pieces and reconstruct them (theme park alike).
Bad Stuff: no voice acting (which is a really bad thing for a game of this quality) and it seems too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And you thought that playstation graphics were good!, 26 Dec 2001
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
*Speechless* okay so not quite I have to tell you how great this game is. You open the box and insert the disc it's got a long title sequence (But so what, it's fantastic) with people dancing trying to summon an evil genie, and oh wow look at them dance. The movement is just so human it's almost real. Then the genie is summoned, destroys your town blah, blah, blah, (Buy the game to find out full details!) Looking around there is a bare but beautifully designed landscape. Water ripples and comes down in waterfalls, day turns to night, your cloak and hat blow in the wind, shadows form and when you walk dust comes up from the ground.
Sure it's not meant to look totally real as FINAL FANTASY 10 does but it has human realities.
If I could tell you to do anything in 2002, I would make you buy this game!!!
So hurry while there is still money in your pocket!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It`s not Final Fantasy 10 but it`s unique in its own way!, 13 Nov 2001
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
You play as Toan, a young lad from Nolan Village, who is chosen to rebuild the village by releasing the villagers, features and houses/shops and arranging them as you like!
With Zelda`s battle style and Theme Park`s creativity this makes it one of the best games to own. A Must Have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RPG? or Action Based Game?, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
Many have said that Dark Cloud combines the elements of Zelda and Final Fantasy together, well I can tell you for a fact that- that statement is wrong! This is more like a Zelda-Sim City type of game, in the sense that you go exploring dungeons, collect and upgrade weapons, but you also have to rebuild cities. This isn't a traditional RPG and we all love the Final Fantasy series (well most of us do) Dark Cloud is more of a RPG-Action game, this is not turned based. The game itself can be quite involving to begin with as its something new, but as the game developes, you soon begin to realise its just the same old thing, Dungeon levels can get tiresome as basically the gameplay is EXACTLY the same throughout the game, each dungeon is composed for 10-15 levels and your aim is to collect Atla on each of the levels, although you would expect a change from this as the game progresses but its just the same old thing for each scenario- Collecting and Building, which is generally the theme of the game. The music can be tacky in some areas but inspiring in others- Character involvement is "freelance" in the sense that you choose how you want to play it, you can involve other members of your team as much as you like, although some areas force you to play other characters (only for one level in a dungeon) whereas in others you require them to complete a particular section (e.g. jump over rivers, smash a button which your main character cannot do) but you can instantly change back to your main after it has been completed.
The story is very indepth, there was way to much writing and I found myself skipping through most of it, We all love a RPG now and then, but this is no Final Fantasy Game, if your a hardcore RPG fan, look elsewhere, but if you don't mind a change in the RPG genre then get a hold of this game! the main question is "Is the game worth my time?!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ESCAPISM!, 24 April 2003
By 
Kate "honest, deep thinker, sarcastic, unwill... (Dorset - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
This a game like no other I have found - encompassing many aspects of gaming, being a girlie I loved the animation and the building of the worlds, there's plenty of thought provoking stuff to do - I personally think of it as being one of the best RPG games I have played of late - can't wait for #2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best RPG on ps2!, 28 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Cloud (PS2) (Video Game)
Dark Cloud is a great game on the ps2. Although copying many ideas from the Zelda genre, they manage to pull it off quite well. This is by far the greatest RPG yet on the console, although not as good as previous titles from the FF series. The random dungeons are a clever idea and the cartoony style graphics are very good, making use of the ps2 hardware. Gameplay is amazing including a good *cough* Zelda fighting style and although the story line needed more time put into it this truly is a great all-round game. I would recommend this to anyone who liked Zelda, Final Fantasy or other similar games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Cloud (PS2)
Dark Cloud (PS2) by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews