Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album To Date, Completely Against Expectations
I wasn't a great fan of Stone By Stone when I first heard it and the title 'Paper Scissors Stone' sounds like a title by a band who are on the verge of selling out. The very disapointing Equally Cursed And Blessed gave this album little hope. I thought this was going to be a poor effort...
Oh how I was wrong! This is the strongest, and simply the best album by...
Published on 15 Aug 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another average Catatonia album
Think this was the last one before they split - shame that they went out on a disappointing album. Shame.
Published 3 months ago by Wazzer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album To Date, Completely Against Expectations, 15 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
I wasn't a great fan of Stone By Stone when I first heard it and the title 'Paper Scissors Stone' sounds like a title by a band who are on the verge of selling out. The very disapointing Equally Cursed And Blessed gave this album little hope. I thought this was going to be a poor effort...
Oh how I was wrong! This is the strongest, and simply the best album by Catatonia to date. Every song on the album is superb. They've mixed melencholy with anthemic, upbeat songs, perhaps more of the first. Immediate Circle is immidiately catchy and will get you head banging at live gigs, as will Village Idiots. What It Is is a branch into new teritory: dance - and one could easily be forgiven for thinking they've been making dance records all their lives.
After several listens you'll be singing every song. The best songs in my opinion are: Immidiate Circle, Fuel, What It Is, Imaginary Friend, Village Idiots and Beautiful Loser
Finally, the lyrics are very thought provoking and dressed up in their usual wit and irony.
Buy this album, it is definately the best ever by Catatonia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars return to form, 14 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
There are great songs on this album, the sort that need a few listens to, before they creep up on you and find you can't get them out of your head. Songs like Blues Song and Village Idiot would be #1 singles in a sane world. What It Is leaves you wanting more, the lead off single, Stone by Stone builds up nicely to the anthemic Catatonia we all love. Shore Leave is very popular amongst the fans for good reason - cos its a corker. Obviously not an album for the less discerning greenday fan, but if you like good guitar music, sung with passion, charisma and charm, you'll do geat with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catatonia return with their BEST album!!, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
I have to admit I was a little weary of buying Paper Scissors Stone after Catatonia's last album. But I'm so glad I did. This album has everything! It has the slow rockers like Godspeed, Imaginary Friend and Fuel for those "chill" moods, as well as the anthemic Stone by Stone and Blues Song. However the most exciting songs are Village Idiot and Immediate Circle which have you jumping up and down! They rock! Cerys sounds the best she has in years and you can tell that Catatonia have matured lyrically and musically. Buy this album and you'll be impressed as I was...guaranteed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 16 Aug 2001
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
I must admit that I only bought this album because I'd bought the others. I hadn't heard the single and reviews were complimentary if not glowing. However I was rather pleased that I'd bothered as Paper Scissors Stone is rather more accomplished than you might expect.
Sure it's got the singles in the form of Stone by Stone and Immediate Circle, but it's tunes like What It Is and Imaginary Friend which come as rather a surpirse. What It Is in particular sounds as much like Bjork as it does Catatonia and it adds a much more rounded feel to the album than we've seen in past efforts. Sure, there are still tracks that don't really shine like Village Idiots and the closer Arabian Derby, but for the most part they're not doing bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent come back!!!!, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
This sees the return of catatonia with an excellent album and far better than the previous 1999 album (equally cursed and blessed). This sees them returning to there traditional selves as featured on international velvet and way beyond blue. it gives a good mixture of upbeat tracks and slow ballads which is what is expected from a band such as catatonia. overall an excelent album a must for all catatonia fans and a must any music lover!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More musical genius from the Welsh Wonders!, 17 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
After Catatonia made "Equally Cursed and Blessed" there was a fear that the band would dissappear into obscurity. Not down to ECAB being a bad album which it most certainly was not, but due to the disappointing sales. However, Catatonia are back with a vengeance and this time displaying their mind blowing potential. With tracks as beautiful as "Invisible Friend" and as rocking as "Immediate Circle" and the stomping "Is Everybody Here on Drugs", you cannot go wrong. Buy it now or the British public will be missing out on one of their greatest musical assets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, unexpectedly mature and passionate, 23 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
It's a shame Catatonia split - this is their best album yet - unexpectedly mature with intricate melodies such as Godspeed and Blues Songs and intiguing lyrics.
Buy this and listen to it, it songs will keep you engrossed far longer than Roadrage and their like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the four, 30 April 2007
By 
Simon Brown (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
Wasn't expecting much from this album based on the reviews here, but to my lasting delight it turned out to be comfortably Catatonias best album. From start to finish it's full of superbly written songs and Cerys Matthews voice sounds better than ever.

I particularly like Blues Song, Imaginary Friend, Village Idiots, Arabian Derby, Mother of Misogyny, Is Everyone Here on Drugs, Immediate Circle and Stone by Stone, but the rest are excellent too. Mark Roberts song writing is exceptional. It's more sophisticated than previous albums, more challenging too (ahem, too much for some it seems) and of course the indie style from Way Beyond Blue is long since gone, but after 3 or 4 listens it's obvious how superior this is to their early work. Musically it's delightfully unpredictable and rarely goes where you're expecting it to.

It's a shame it's not more widely appreciated, and the same goes for all their albums. There can be few bands who produced four albums of such quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new beggining, 12 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
A rather different approach to their music from the good ship Catatonia. This surly isn't a collection for the fan of their early work. But signs of melodies of the past show their heads in "Godspeed", "What It Is" and "Beautiful Looser". Much of the rest is a stringed adaptation of the ECAB sound. Althogh this they seem to be more mature in the use of Cerys' voice, combining it, in places, with one of the lads voice. Altogether a better effort than the failure of ECAB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catatonia ARE good, believe me., 7 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Paper Scissors Stone (Audio CD)
Who'd have thought it? Several times over their 9 year history have they come close to self-destruction, but when the fruit of turmoil within the band is an album like this, it all seems worthwhile. Cerys has never sounded better and the songwriting is astounding, with lyrics seemingly of far greater importance to the band than any others they have written. Many people say this will flounder in the charts, and perhaps they are right. But Catatonia are rich anyway, so do they need the money a no.1 album will bring in? I think they have more to prove to themselves than anything, but it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paper Scissors Stone
Paper Scissors Stone by Catatonia (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews