Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2001
I practicaly stole the money off my friend 4 this album beacause i had heard 'praise corus' on a free compilation album and loved it. It's lyrics touched me as I was going through a tough break up at the time and found I could relate 2 what was being sed. This album goes through a blaze of emotion and speeds from the fast paced quite heavy Bleed American to the soft and touching 'my sundown' this album rocks! There is something for everyone, the lyrics can be uplifting like those of the track 'middle' thank god it comes with a lyric sheet! So in short I urge you 2 buy this cd, it's fast, slow, touching and uplifting so just click that button it's charm won't wear off.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2002
I first saw J.E.W at T In The Park last year and thought they rocked. I managed to get hold of a couple of songs (A Praise Chorus, Authority Song) and I was hooked. As soon as the album came out I got it and track by track I fell in love with this band. Each song as good as the other in different ways. 'Hear You Me' is one of the most beautiful songs ever, and 'Bleed American' is the best start to an album I've heard in a long time. Other stand out tracks for me are: 'Sweetness', 'A Praise Chorus' and 'The Middle'. I don't agree with comparisons to Green Day or that J.E.W are a punk band because they aren't, they are so much more than that. If you like beautiful melodies mixed with driving guitars topped up with emotional flavour, then you must have this album. "I want to always feel like a part of this was mine, I want to fall in love tonight" I Did!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bleed American (now simply renamed Jimmy Eat World) by Jimmy Eat World is the album that brought Jimmy Eat World to the attention of the record buying public and it's easy to see why.
Bleed American starts with the self titled track or Salt Sweat Sugar as it's also known which is full of energy and a nice loud track to start with with a great guitar riff and catchy lyrics. A Praise Chorus is one of the best songs on the album along with The Middle, another song with a great tune as does Sweetness, which is one of my personal favourites with all the wooh's in it. If You Don't, Don't (maybe the best song on the album, it's a tough choice with The Authority Song) and Hear You Me are a tad softer on the ears but are great songs which still have great tunes which seems to be something Jimmy Eat World are blessed with. Even the weakest song on the album, Your House is the work of genius. There really are no filler tracks it that good. It's hard to see why their earlier stuff didn't catch the public but this album is so good, one of the best of the year easily. In a world full of Slipknot and Korn, Jimmy Eat World are a breath of fresh air with great melodic pop tunes with thoughful and meaningful lyrics. They seem to have everything a band need with Jim's great sounding voice for their kind of music all the way to the guitar playing and percussion work.
Understandably they are likened to Blink 182 but JEW are better if slightly similar. If you like Blink or even New Found Glory or Weezer or just appreciate good pop rock music then try Jimmy Eat World, you won't be disappointed but If You Don't, Don't!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
As near to perfect as an album gets and equally as good as their previous album, Clarity, but very different in tone. Bleed American is a much more immediate album and definitely aimed at chart-bothering but that is no bad thing as it cemented JEW as the band they are today, bringing the catchiest tunes in the world to your doorstep! It was a shame that it was released around the awful September 11th attacks, changing the title from Bleed American (as you can imagine a very inappropriate title for the time)to simply Jimmy Eat World and the title song to 'Salt, Sweat, Sugar' but time has rectified the justified switch of monickers and it is now available as it was for a very short time in 2001.

To the music. Title track is a classic, has pounding guitars, an even more pounding rhythm and enough energy and passion to power a space shuttle. 'A Praise Chorus' is a minor classic, not well remembered today but one of my favourite tracks with a sublime middle section. 'The Middle' was the single and is about the catchiest thing on the planet, everyone's got to have had it by now! 'Your House' is one of those extra saccharin ballads that JEW do so well. They do something so special and secret to it that it does not come over as saccharine or trite but real and moving. Then 'Sweetness' knocks you off balance with a killer opening/verse/chorus/everything. Basically a perfect track and a masterclass in how to write a flawless pop song, with tongue firmly in cheek. 'Hear You Me' is another breathtaking ballad that worms its way into your psyche and is irremovable. 'If You Don't, Don't' and 'Get It Faster' can almost be described as filler but they're good filler. They're not as memorable as the other songs but on their own work very well. 'Cautioners' is yet another JEW mega-ballad with extra oomph. 'Authority Song' is basically one of the best songs by anyone ever. It's catchy, light, fun and just brilliant. 'My Sundown' ends the whole experience magically. Yes it's another ballad but it's a beauty.

It is slowly becoming part of musical history and I dare say that within a few years time it will be appearing on top 100 lists of albums to own. JEW helped to create the emo scene before it was hijacked and ruined by the powers that be who smelt money. Basically, stripped of the burden of a genre, JEW are just a fantastic rock band. And Bleed American is a fantastic rock record. Period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2005
It's true. I can listen to this album five times in a row and still not get bored of it. Great guitar riffs, and even the softer, last track "My Sundown" is fun to listen to. Every riff sticks in your head, every lyric has you singing it for days after. Just brilliant. Oh, and if you get the chance to see them live, do so immediately as they are great live. I saw them play in front of their biggest ever audience (65,000 people) at the Milton Keynes Bowl, and even though they weren't even headlining, they were fantastic.
And it's not typical emo either. It's everything; rock, punk, even a little jazz soemwhere in there. Oh, and a bit of blues too.
It's a great album, no filler tracks at all.
So buy it. NOW.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
This latest release from the fantastic Jimmy Eat World, is the kind of album that sets the guidelines for how an emo/punk rock album should be done. Not only are they way up there with the Get up Kids (maybe higher), they have the talent to go sky high if we lived in a more punk orientated world rather than corperate processed cheez that is pop. Unfortuneatlely this isn't the case but due to their melodic guitar riffs and brilliantly harmonised lyrics, this is a definate for any punker, regardless of taste. The stand out track is "a praise chorus", and again highlights their musical talent for creating perfect songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2005
every one says that this album is jews best. personnelly i would reccomend clarity but if you are just descovering emo then go for this.
the whole album is great and is probabley some of their heaviest stuff.
i love a praise chorus, hear you me and get it faster, but all the songs are good.
unlike clarity the album instantly appealed to me as clarity is so amazingly amazing that it took a while to sink in.
so if u want a classic emo album without a single bad track, buy bleed american!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2001
this cd is great!! it has many influences. goes from fast to slow as the band has gone from great to greater. this is a must have for EVERYONE along with there clarity cd. go buy this now!!! wow they just get better and better, great cd great band, these guys can even stand up to the superb weezer!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
I have had this album 24 hours, and i have fallen i love with every song on it! from the title track "bleed american" to the beautiful "my sundown". Every song is a rollercoaster of emotion! Thankyou Jimmy eat world!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
This in my opinion is the best albulm. All the tracks are good and you can chill out to them. Would highly recommend A+++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)