Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
The directors have done a superb job. Making Sandra Bullock very believable as a sloppy woman not taking care of herself. Some good comedy and a 'nice' story. A general all round, this film won't have you guessing the plot, but it does invoke that feel good factor.
If you haven't seen it, buy it. If you've seen it, you'll already know if it's for you or not.
Published on 5 Oct 2005 by Jeff

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun little flick.
Sandra Bullock always looks like she is having lots of fun making her films and this is no exception. "Plain" FBI agent turned undercover beauty queen storyline - easy to follow. There are not many laugh out loud moments, but it is good fun to watch. Michael Cain and William Shatner do good supporting roles and there are some excellent performances form some of the...
Published on 15 Mar 2002 by Alex Campbell


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sandra Bullock as a plain Jane? I don't think so......, 16 Mar 2004
By 
N. Oliver ""pinky"" (barnstaple, devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although Sandra Bullock is a v.good comedy actress, sometimes you have to wonder at the wisdom of some of her script choices. This would have to be one of them. The woman is pretty gorgeous and to try and convince the audience that she is plain Jane in need of a glamorous make-over.....well, its a tough one and for me, it is not very convincingly done. Bullock does her best - shows us unkempt hair, disgusting personal habits, etc. but we all know that underneath all this is one of Hollywood's most glamorous women - so where is the surprise?
Having said that, this film is fairly entertaining, light weight fluff and that is what Bullock is best at; let's be honest.
Michael Caine does a very odd turn as a gay beauty consultant - his scenes with Bullock are good but nothing that would stand out.
Benjamin Bratt (Julia Robert's ex) plays her love interest - but again its not anything spectacular.
So, if you want a fluffly, funny romantic-esque film - this would be it. If you think Bullock is a great actress - don't watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND THE RUNNER UP IS..., 1 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a moderately entertaining, if forgettable, comedy. It showcases Ms. Bullock's comedic talents, if nothing else. The premise of the film revolves around the need for an FBI agent to go undercover as a contestant during a beauty pageant, due to intelligence reports that indicate that the pageant may be subject to a terrorist attack. Before she knows it, FBI agent Gracie Hart, a tomboyish, klutzy, and nerdy female, who snorts when she laughs, is assigned to the job. A beauty pageant coach, deliciously played by Michael Caine, is assigned to turn our erstwhile beast into a beauty. He succeeds admirably, as he has a lot with which to work.
Ms. Bullock plays her role with somewhat ham handed determination. Still, she manages to charm. Her supporting cast, who include Benjamin Bratt, as her fellow agent and potential love interest, and Candace Bergen and William Shatner, as the pageant hosts, act as comedic foils. The pageant contestants also provide a number of light hearted screen moments. This is a comedy that is easy enough to enjoy, though predictable, as long as one's expectations are not inordinately high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You either Love it or Hate it!, 22 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This is the type of film that you either love or hate! I have to admit though, i am a loving one!
Gracie Hart (Sandra Bullock) is a tough FBI agent who just takes life when it comes at her. When she is sent to work under cover at the Miss United States compotition by her FBI friend Eric Matthews (Benjamin Bratt) she doesn't jump for the chance. She is then forced to do her job and is taken away to have some serious make-overs. Gracie Hart (FBI tough tomboy) then becomes Gracie Lu Freebush (Miss United States contestant that only wants World peace)!
In the end Gracie is the runner-up and saves all of her new friends' lifes and is then crowned 'Miss Congeniality' by her friends at the pageant.
This is a film with a happy ending and alot of comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much more..., 7 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss Congeniality [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film could have been so much more - the Hollywood idea that putting glasses on somebody immediately makes them unattractive is patronising to the audience. This detracts from the intended caterpillar into butterfly scenario that was presumably the aim of the film. When one listens to some of the proto-feminist tough talk that Bullock's character comes out with in the first half of the film and then compare this with the way she then swoons for her boss, this again seems to be a classic case of an attempt to put some feminist thoughts in, but not too much in case the movie became remotely interesting...
In essence this is not a bad film as such, but just terribly disappointing. While Bullock does not have a great range as a actress, she sleepwalks through a role that promises much but delivers little more than rainy Saturday afternoon fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out 'Wacky' comedy, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miss Congeniality [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I am not a Sandra Bullock fan, but I found this film funny and enjoyable. Michael Caines performance and the one liners that he has, certain make this film. I found the film heading down the Slapstick avenue, which if they don't make another movie in this style, will make it a worthy addition to anyones collection. The extras on the DVD are average, but as I bought my copy in Singapore, the extras might change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this one!, 11 Dec 2001
I wouldn't recommend this film to anyone! It is simply a predictable, terribly unfunny film, littered with clichés and slapstick.
I still give it one star thanks to Michael Caine, who's performance as dry talentcoach Victor Melling adds some quality to an otherwise boring ordeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst kind of chick flick, 28 July 2003
By A Customer
If you think that the addition of some lipstick and a few 'feminine' graces make women more fulfilled, then this is clearly the film for you. I, however, will continue to have a problem with its rosy portrayal of the FBI and its highly questionable overall message. I don't think that all women who enter beauty pageants are necessarily bimbos, but for once, just for once, I would like to see a film in which a woman finds that 'much-needed ego boost' without the aid of a makeover or a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably BAD, 27 Nov 2002
This review is from: Miss Congeniality [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is perhaps the worst film in existence. They had to give away tickets to get people to go see it at the cinema, which I did (d'oh). It is the biggest pile of mushy overly-sentimental slop that I have seen since "Junior". Michael Caine, what WERE you thinking? He plays the part of a camp beautician - it's real gut wrenching stuff. However, if you have a girl-power obsessed 8 year old, it's a perfect film. Just don't expect a hint of self-respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Congeniality [DVD] [2000]
Miss Congeniality [DVD] [2000] by Donald Petrie (DVD - 2001)
£2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews