Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Solution
I feel sorry for those who have had trouble with this product, but I havent had any problems and find Region X to be fantastic !
Firstly lets lay some troubles to rest....
Region X is very very easy to use, you *dont need* a manual. All you have to do is -
Put the Region X disc in,
select the region you want,
and then place your DVD in the...
Published on 23 Feb 2002 by S. Thomas

versus
36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless
Doesn't work with the new slimline model and it should say so. Totally worthless, might as well buy a multi region DVD player because it can't change your PS2
Published on 10 Aug 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Solution, 23 Feb 2002
By 
S. Thomas (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
I feel sorry for those who have had trouble with this product, but I havent had any problems and find Region X to be fantastic !
Firstly lets lay some troubles to rest....
Region X is very very easy to use, you *dont need* a manual. All you have to do is -
Put the Region X disc in,
select the region you want,
and then place your DVD in the PS2.
Also please make sure you have a NTSC compatible televison otherwise its all pointless.
But I have to say I love Region X. Im a big Japanese animation freak and so this has opened up the Region 1 world to me ! The picture is flawless imho - with no tinting and no fuzziness. Again Im sorry to hear about problems others have had with this, but I myself cant recommend Region X enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even plays new encrypted Region 1 DVD's, 1 Aug 2001
By 
Roger Eynon "dodger" (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
I own a multi region Pioneer DV717 but unfortunately some of the newer region 1 DVD's have been specially encrypted so they wont play on most multi region players (including mine). When I tried this Region X with Hollow Man (region 1 new encrypted) I wasnt expecting it to work as my Pioneer Multi region cant play it...............but it did!!!!
You will be able to play any dvd from any region in seconds, just plug and play. For some dvds, (any region) you may need a proper scart lead that supports RGB, because some films will display in a strange grey/green colour with the naff standard euro/scart lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing with two minor flaws, 16 Oct 2003
By 
Nightlegend (Alexandria, Egypt) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
Many people purchases the PS2 Console for both Gaming and Watching DVDs as well , but here appears the problem of the Region Restriction , so if you are owning a PAL version of the PS2 you won't be able to play any DVDs coded with any region but Region 2 and 0(sometimes called Region(ALL)) , so some people makes modifications for their consoles to bypass the Region Coding , which results ofcource in your Warranty being terminated and also some Rumored problems about loss of quality and some times colors , so what is the solution then ?
DVD Region X offers a very simple and easy solution , simply put the supplied cartidge in the same slot of the memory card slot , turn on the console and open the tray , place the disk and after the tray closes you have to reboot the console , then it will load the introduction screen and asks you to choose the Desired region to play , you choose the Region and press X on the PS2 controller , the tray will open automatically and you get the Region X Disk out of the tray and place the Desired DVD instead , the movie loads and plays perffectly .
This Tool is very useful , for myself i had some cheap DVD player along with the PS2 console , and when the DVD player started to malfunction i went to the DVD Region X , and it never let me down!
There are only two minor flaws about this Disk , the first one is that every time you turn the console on you have to repeat the above steps(you don't have to repeat in the same session as long as you have,t rebooted or turned the Console off) , so i thought that if there was the ability to save the necessary files to the Console or the memory card so you don't need all the above steps would have been cool although i think it technicaly hard , the second flaw is that in some movies the Colors may feel a little green or something and a little hazy on the edges , i think it's due to the difference in the color's encoding between the Region one DVDs and the Region two DVDs .
Last thing to say that this Disk solves a very big problem , which is the RCE DVDs , we know that some DVDs has some kind of region code locking which preventing it from being played on the multi region DVD Players , but this Disk solves this problem , simply put any RCE DVD and it will play it , so i think although the two minor flaws mentioned above this Disk deserves the five stars .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plays any DVD, 13 Jun 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
I bought this product a year back but I can say that it does what it is supposed to do.

I have played region 1 DVDs on European PS2 using this. The only drawback is that everytime the console is switched off, I have to repeat the steps of loading the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the case!, 17 Feb 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
With a lack of space it has been great to have a PS2 to play DVDs on too. However in recent months there have been a few DVD releases, in the USA in particular, that have had many more extras on them than their UK releases.
This product solves the problem. It doesn't have flashy packaging or pages and pages of operating manual info....what it does have is a VERY easy to follow instruction list of about 5 lines and in a matter of minutes you can view any Region DVD you want to.
I can't comment on the reduced "green-screen" effect, because I never had that problem so haven't noticed much difference....there again I'm not using an expensive high specification TV.
In conclusion, it's a great item, good value for money and easy to use. Five stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, 10 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
Doesn't work with the new slimline model and it should say so. Totally worthless, might as well buy a multi region DVD player because it can't change your PS2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory card included., 22 Mar 2004
By 
Why-So-Serious? - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
I bought the PS2 Region-X in March 2004 and it came complete with a memory card (saving the buyer a tidy sum in the process), and the notorious 'code' screen mentioned in certain reviews was non-existent in my version.
Perhaps the manufacturers have responded to the - entirely legitimate - quibbles of previous customers and simplified the interface?
Instructions for use are minimal and go, if memory serves, something like this:
1. Boot up your PS2
2. Place Region-X disc in the tray and close (the display will now show a list of numbers across the screen, numbered 1 to 9(?) corresponding to the regions it can decode)
3. Select desired region of the DVD you want to play (this will make the tray of the PS2 open)
4. Remove Region-X and replace with DVD of your choice.
5. Sit back, enjoy.
Yes, it really THAT simple.
The only drawback I can see is you need to repeat steps 1-4 if you reboot the PS2, but, realistically, how many DVDs do you watch in one sitting? Enough to make this a pain? Doubt it.
The only proviso is that you use an RGB scart cable to eliminate 'green screen'. I can't comment on this because I've only ever used scarts for my PS1 & PS2.
The memory card was pleasant surprise as I was prepared to buy a new memory card. At ?.99 this is outstanding value.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 16 Aug 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
First, an instruction book would have been nice. It has a lot of features (including one to modify it for older drivers via input of codes) that you just are not told about. Secondly, the disc has to be input every time you want to play a DVD. magazine reviews implied that you put the disc in once to set it and never used it again. Not so. You put the bood disc in, select the region (from 1-6) and the drive door on you PSX2 opens. You then insert your disc and actually have to push the door shut (auto close would have saved on wear and tear). The PSX2 then reverts to the browser, select DVD and you are up and running.
On the plus side, it DOES work and it also gets rid of the annoying 'green screen' effect by fooling your scart cable into thinking it is getting a composite. Worth the money, but only as a secondary DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make sure you have the right scart cable, 17 Mar 2008
By 
T. Straw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
I recently bought this product and it works fine. However, at first I had problems with just getting a b/w picture. I initially assumed that my TV was not NTSC compatible (most UK bought TVs are nowadays) but after a bit of self-education via the web, realised that it was the scart lead - You must use a true RGB scart lead and not the composite scart lead that comes with the PS2 (with mine anyway). These are readily available from £5 - £15 but you have to be careful as I've seen complaints that some of the cheaper ones are not really RGB. - Hope that's helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Memory Card Warning, 5 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: DVD Region X (PS2) (Accessory)
My version didn't come with a plug in for the memory card. The positive: I can now play Region 1 DVDs. The negative: running the disc reformatted the memory card in slot 1. Not only have I lost all data that was on the card, but I can no longer save new data to it. Thanks DVD Region X!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DVD Region X (PS2)
DVD Region X (PS2) by Datel Direct Ltd (PlayStation2)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews