Customer Reviews


360 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so long ago, in a Galaxy just round the corner...
TPM: so what was it? Star Wars! More or less.
In a nutshell, it was good, but not *that* good.
Pro's:
Fantastic explanative film - one of the most important parts was explaining how the Emperor got into power.
The overall plot was nicely done, the special effects were eye watering.
Also revealed what a lot of people wanted to know - what...
Published on 16 April 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I don't sense anything.....
As imminent conflict brews between the powerful Trade Federation and the peaceful planet of Naboo, Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi travel to Naboo to warn the Queen of the galactic fallout which is to follow.

Eventually, Naboo is invaded forcing the Jedi to evacuate the planet with the Queen and her court.

They travel to...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I don't sense anything....., 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
As imminent conflict brews between the powerful Trade Federation and the peaceful planet of Naboo, Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi travel to Naboo to warn the Queen of the galactic fallout which is to follow.

Eventually, Naboo is invaded forcing the Jedi to evacuate the planet with the Queen and her court.

They travel to the desert planet of Tatooine where they meet a slave boy named Anakin Skywalker who is evidently one with the Force.

They enlist his help in fighting the war, while the Jedi confront one of the Dark Jedi behind the invasion, Darth Maul.

Mauls master Darth Sidious continues to lead the invasion as a "phantom" behind the scenes.....

OK, so there is nothing really more to say about one of the biggest pillagings of a beloved franchise, so I won't hit on it too much.

I just wanted to see it again after all these years, Just to see if it really is an insult to 'real' fans. I have the Blu Ray but never once put it in my machine.

I just wanted to know, is it really that bad? No, it isn't, it's visually stunning, and Maul is one of the most iconic villains this side of Hans Gruber, but when it comes to direction and acting, the film just loses it's way.

People dog on Lloyd for 'bad' performance, the kid was ten for crying out loud, and wasn't really that bad.

You want to see the bad acting in this? see Macgregor, who just spends the duration of the film doing a really bad impression of Alec Guiness, and Portman, why is it whenever she is wearing make-up, she has to do a really silly voice.

Neeson, knows what he is making and walks around with a swagger, acting cool and basically telling Obi-Wan to chill out.

So all in all, it's not a good story, the narrative is awful, as is a lot of the acting, but it's visually stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ***Money For Nothing***, 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It's not that Phantom Menace is a bad movie, far from it, but then any franchise that waits 22 years between chapters is going to suffer. It also didn't help Episode One's cause that it was a prequel. It serves as an explanation exercise into characters and events that have already been well established....it presented the audience with little in the way of originality and invention. Indeed, the fact that Darth Maul...the films big selling point...only amasses a handful of screen minutes and is despatched to Sith heaven all too quickly seems testament to the fact that George Lucas has money to burn.
In 1977, with a meagre budget and considerable studio restrictions, Lucas created a small sci-fi movie that captured the hearts of millions. Myself included. But now, after the original Star Wars trilogy has been immortalised in cinematic history and it's profits firmly bulging Lucas's bank account....there are no restrictions or money considerations to be adhered to.
Phantom Menace...and the entire Star Wars universe...is George Lucas's baby, but with the cash coming from his own pocket he was free to do what he wanted. This lack of restriction seems to have ruined an otherwise golden opportunity to give us what WE all wanted...More of the same!
Phantom Menace is a movie of clean, dazzling effects, a movie of composite digital flare that leaves all in it's wake gagging in envy. It's a movie of dynamic design that HAS stood the test of time whilst alsorans strive to recreate it's undeniable power and attention to detail. It's a movie filled with references to characters that we know and love...it strikes a note within anyone who's ever been absorbed by the Star Wars phenomenon....BUT!
It's a movie of hollow, empty acting. It's a movie of idiotic religious leanings. It's a movie of missed opportunites and wasted set pieces...constantly cutting away from the light-sabre fight at the movie's climax is unforgivable. It's a movie that peaks an hour before it's end, the Pod Race is the ONLY nod towards the style and passion that we all know Lucas is capable of. It's a movie bursting at the "scenes" with Jar Jar Binks...If Mr. Lucas truly cared about US and what we want from these movies he would do away with this debacle of a character forthwith. Feedback came in torrents of negative response but he's moved not a jot. Perhaps a studio snapping at his heals would have seen Jar Jar consigned to digital hell, but as I said before...control is solely in the hands of Lucas. End of argument.
I didn't hate Phantom Menace but it IS the weakest of the four movies. A 22 year wait, a fan-based longing and a critical chomping-at-the-bit could never be overcome...not even without Binks.
A serious case of style over substance. I await the hate mail with a sense of dread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many graphics, not enough plot..., 9 Aug 2002
By 
A. P. Ryan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I have to say that Episode I was slightly disappointing...but only slightly. The special effects are amazing, the battle outside Naboo being one of the best, and the lightsaber fight between Obi-Wan Kenobi, Qui-Gon Jinn and Darth Maul is, put simply, AMAZING.
Most people I've spoken to find Jar Jar extremely irritating. I can never understand why: he adds a comic aspect that, given the slightly bad plot, is very welcome. He does get a bit annoying at times, but he's still very funny to watch.
Only one major gripe: THEY CUT SOME OF THE BEST BITS OUT!
When you watch some of the deleted scenes, and read the novel, you'll see what I mean.
The music, as usual, is unfaultable. "Duel of The Fates" has to be one of the best pieces of music in the film.
As for the plot...well, it fades in places that it shouldn't. For example, in the fights involving the Naboo and the Battle Droids...well, they don't really seem that worried about being shot at, especially not Padme Amidala, which is slightly worrying.
Nevertheless, Episode I is a worthy beginning for the Star Wars saga, and well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so long ago, in a Galaxy just round the corner..., 16 April 2000
By A Customer
TPM: so what was it? Star Wars! More or less.
In a nutshell, it was good, but not *that* good.
Pro's:
Fantastic explanative film - one of the most important parts was explaining how the Emperor got into power.
The overall plot was nicely done, the special effects were eye watering.
Also revealed what a lot of people wanted to know - what happens if you shove a lightsabre into a solid metal door.
Con's:
Needed more outstanding dialog, more one liners, stronger characters. More space battle clips would have been nice too. The final part was too similar to Jedi, several battles going on at once. Although well put-together, I couldn't help thinking of Ewoks, Death Star attacks and "If you will not turn, you will meet your destiny".
Some incredibly cheesy one liners. "What does your heart tell you"
Ewan McGregor is FAR too 'English'
-
I've now seen this 5 times. 3 times at the cinema and twice on Video. As with the original, you see more as you watch it....possibly not as 'profound' or revealing as watching 4, 5 and 6, but still there.
Summary:
"Careful, there might be more of them out there" "Hey, it's Star Wars"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An honest reappraisal, 7 July 2008
By 
N. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This absolute mare of a film with be 10 years old next year. And guess what? Time hasn't been kind to this boring, insulting film, and complete and total disappointment.

George Lucas should have been brave enough to hand the reigns over to the likes of Frank Darabont and David Fincher to direct what should have been a dark, depressing journey all the way to the dark side of the Force. It should have been thrilling, amazing, and awe-inspiring. Instead it was trill, mediocre, and bloody awful.
He's directed one good film - back in 1977 - what idiot thought he could deliver a trilogy of real quality in this day and age? Well, with the chief yes-man Rick Mcallum on board to ensure this dated, patronising, twee vision actually made it to the screen, I guess we were in deepest. darkest committee hell. Remember - a room of professional, mature, articulate, creative adults, would have met on numerous occasions and discussed the introduction of Jar Jar Binks as being a good idea for the film. They would have discussed design sketches, discussed accents, and then, weirdly, amazingly, decided on something that they ALL agreed would benefit the film.

The story (if you could call it that) was devoid of any kind of excitement and plot development, and the casting of Anakin Skywalker brought to light two of world's worst wooden actors. Again, what were they thinking? And why make him the focus - the original three films had a real characters with many different threads to the story. Little brat turns to teenage brat then goes bad - what should have been an epic, sad, terrible journey to the dark side of the human psyche was handled with all the panache of a 6th form film student.

Then there's all the obvious insulting plot holes that make you think that the film was directed by someone who was brought in at the last minute having only watched the original trilogy the day before.

I'd have more respect for George Lucas if, in some weird, almighty precedent, he held his hands up and disowned the films - he could blame Mcallum, retrieve the films and give them to some directors with talent.

And the argument that the new films were aimed at a new generation of young people as the original trilogy was doesn't quite wash. I can watch any of the original trilogy as a thirty-something, whereas the new ones were insulting to even teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good scene setter, 7 Sep 2000
By 
It must never be forgotten that in the long run, this will be considered the least important of the Star Wars films.
This film is really nothing more than an introduction to some of the characters that will eventually have so much a say in the balance of the galaxy, but Lucas still manages to create a magnificent story.
Of course, it will never compare to the originals, or the expectations of desperate fans, but it never disappoints. The standard of the effects is the best ever in motion picture history, bar none, and in the epic Obi-Wan, Qui-Gonn, Darth Maul lightsabre battle, Lucas has created one of the cinematic set-pieces of the nineties.
Very occasionaly, Lucas allows his Spielberg-esque instincts draw the story to an annoyingly childish point, but if you can ignore some of these so called 'gags' and don't take Jar Jar too seriously, there's plenty to enjoy.
My only gripes are the space battle, which is feeble compared to Return of the Jedi's Death Star assault and the Gungan vs. Droid battle, which doesn't seem to wipe out any Gungans.
Still, it's a great introduction to Star Wars, and as the next two episodes are destined to be very much darker, we may come to be grateful for the comic relief we sometimes see here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
My little boy loves the film. Excellent quality dvd, I am not a star wars fan myself but my son and husband enjoyed the film emmensly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy!, 19 Jun 2014
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Very happy thankyou :) (sorry for the late review) dvd works like a charm like new case couldn't be happier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Ep 1, 8 Jun 2014
By 
bezzie w (nottingham uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Not everyones favourite but as it's part of a story that we love we enjoyed watching this. Paid but more than would have liked and did take awhile to arrive but still happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get of your high horses all you retro buffs..., 26 April 2014
By 
Mr. G. Cresswell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Ok. if there were going to be more StarWars, there was always going to be a compromise.
This isn't just quite as good as the original trliogy, but hey, we asked for more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace [DVD] [1999]
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews