Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infamy, infamy, they've all got it in for me! Now in HD
The tenth Carry on film was the most lavish they ever made (largely due to using the sets and costumes inherited from the extravagant production 'Cleopatra'). Its also one of the finest. The humour is so sharp thanks to one of Talbot Rothwell's best scripts. The cast are all clearly having a ball, with Kenneth Williams' as 'Julie' Caesar ("ooh, I do feel queer") and...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. J. C. Kent

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carry on Caesar
I watched Carry On Cleo for an Open University course which begins with a look at Cleopatra in modern culture, and though some of my countrymen may see it as sacrilege to confess, I don't think it's very good. I laughed several times, but it's a crudely assembled and edited film. The amateurish direction doesn't suit slapstick, which is used a lot; it makes you appreciate...
Published 19 months ago by Jack Heslop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infamy, infamy, they've all got it in for me! Now in HD, 3 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. C. Kent "johnckent" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The tenth Carry on film was the most lavish they ever made (largely due to using the sets and costumes inherited from the extravagant production 'Cleopatra'). Its also one of the finest. The humour is so sharp thanks to one of Talbot Rothwell's best scripts. The cast are all clearly having a ball, with Kenneth Williams' as 'Julie' Caesar ("ooh, I do feel queer") and Amanda Barrie's Cleo really standing out.

And now, 50 years after release, we have the film in glorious HD on Blu-ray. So how does it look? In one word - fantastic. Compared to the previous SD Studio Canal DVD release this is a HUGE upgrade. The picture is exceptionally sharp and very clean. The colour is also much better than the DVD release, being washed out and over dark on the previous version. There is a fine grain evident throughout, as there should be for a film of this era, and it is presented in the correct ratio of 1.66:1. Barring a full negative restoration (which is sadly likely to never happen) this is the finest this film will probably ever look.

The special features were all previously on the DVD. You get the original trailer, stills gallery and an audio commentary from Amanda Barrie (Cleo) and Julie Stevens (Gloria) moderated by Robert Ross (Carry On expert). The commentary is a wonderful affair, with both actresses giving many insightful tales. The DVD also had some trivia info which is not on the Blu-ray, but it is no great loss (I would guide people to the Carry On Companion by Robert Ross for the full story behind all the Carry on films).

The packaging is a bit poor, with the cover picture appearing a bit blurred, and the running time stated as 95mins, despite actually being 92mins, but these are minor quibbles on an otherwise superb release.

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Carry On's, 10 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Carry On Jack (1963) was the series first historical epics and is easily the most forgetable. Its not so much that its a bad film, but whats lacking in this is the true spirit of the Carry On's, probably as there are so many of the regulars missing - theres no Sid James, Joan Sims, Barbara Windsor, Hattie Jaques or Kenneth Connor. Only Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtrey are the main regulars to be featured in this, though Jim Dale has a cameo role in this who starred in many of the 1960's Carry On's. Bernard Cribbins, who to be fair, blends in with the cast as though he'd always been a regular, plays Albert Poop-Decker, an unlucky man, who after years of struggle, finally wins his commission only to have his identity, rank and uniform stolen from him by Sally (Juliet Mills) who he soon falls in love with. The historical accuracy is impressive with the sets and the costumes but this Carry On film misses its mark slightly though Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtrey are on fine form throughout. An adequate comedy.

However the real reason to get this DVD (which compensates for the patchy Carry On Jack) is the inclusion of one of the series best and most fondly remembered entries in the series - Carry On Cleo (1964). When the great epic disaster Cleopatra starring Elizabeth Taylor was abandoned from filming at Pinewood Studios, the Carry On team took full advantage of the lavish sets and extravagent costumes, making it all look and seem more expensive than usual. The hopeless Hengist Pod (Kenneth Connor) comes up with the idea of a square wheel to stop carts from rolling downhill - amusing stuff! However he and his neighbour (Jim Dale) are soon captured by invading Romans and are rapidly sold off as slaves. Julius Caesar (a superb comic turn from Kenneth Williams, taking lines such as "oooo I do feel queer" and "Infamy, infamy, they've all got it in for me" to new heights) has caught the flu from Britains damp climate and is unaware that his best general, Mark Antony (Sid James) has joined up with Cleopatra (played beautifully by Amanda Barrie), Queen of Egypt, to overthrow him.

Carry On Cleo is consistently amusing with Kenneth Williams and Sid James putting in one of their finest roles in the series. Charles Hawtrey also crops up hilariously being as overly camp as ever, in the role of Seneca whilst Joan Sims plays Calpurnia, which she plays to perfection as the tempramental, nagging, vase-throwing wife of Julius Caesar and this type of characterisation eratically became something of her trademark in the series. One of the very best in the series and was certainly the finest film they'd made up to this point. Classic British comedy at its very best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Carry On has never looked better, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Burgess "Martin Burgess" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You know the movie by now, so we won't go into that. For many it's the best of the series. I'd certainly put it in my top 3. Aside from that, what about the Blu-ray? Well, it's certainly clear that the film has never looked better. The only scenes that don't seem to have improved much are the early sequences between Jim Dale & Kenneth Connor in Ancient Britain. Those scenes still look a bit grainy. After that though, things certainly pick up. The sequences in Rome & Egypt are sharp, clear and look as though they were shot yesterday. As I mentioned in my Carry On Cowboy Blu-ray review, it would be nice if there were some extras and maybe even a booklet to go with the release as it doesn't exactly come cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best. An essential purchase., 28 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Carry On Cleo [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Number 10 in the series sees the team take advantage of the sets from Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton's Cleopatra left at Pinewood Studios. Sidney James returns to the series after being absent for three films and plays Marc Antony to Kenneth Williams's Julius Caeser. Joan Sims also makes a welcome return after being absent for the last four films. Sims plays Wiliams's hard-faced wife, while her father is played by Charles Hawtrey. Kenneth Connor is another actor making a welcome return after an absence of three films - he and Jim Dale are British slaves who break free in an effort to return to their homeland. Meanwhile James is deciding how exactly he is going to dispose of Williams after he has fallen for Cleo (Amanda Barrie). The innuendos are flying around like never before in the series and after watching this, you'll never look at Burton and Taylor's film and keep a straight face ever again. After Carry On Cleo it's difficult to imagine exactly how they could top it. But thankfully they did! A couple of times! Look out for William's "Infamy" speech. A winner every time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5 stars, 3 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Carry On Cleo [DVD] (DVD)
Recently got my copy of this 'Optimum Releasing' 2007 re-re-release of this title and was so delighted that in addition to the film we are also treated to a three minute trailer, a four minute stills gallery and most welcome of all a commentary. Sitting around the microphones for this particular title we have moderator (and Carry On film expert) Robert Ross who is joined by actresses Amanda Barrie (the title Cleo character) and Julie Stevens (who played Gloria).
Really got it as its one of my favourite Carry On's but judging on the fine job that Optimum Releasing have done here I'll certainly be considering more titles in their 'Carry On' range, especially in the 50th anniversary year of this franchise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect carry on, 29 May 2014
By 
S. Leaton "scudder" (uk dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's just the right format for this time. I had to see if it was good and was pleased with the look from my old DVD version. I'm hoping the black and white ones get the bluray touch too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Carry On film, 15 May 2014
By 
J. Bethell "jabeth" (Worthing , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Cleo [DVD] (DVD)
Nice clear copy. Super All the usual rogues and some of the best one-liners are in theis film, and Amanda Barrie's Cleopatra is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT GIFT, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Cleo [DVD] (DVD)
Our son, when young, loved these films! He was overjoyed to get them when he was that much older! Great gift for Carry On lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carry on cleo, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Cleo [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Carry on cleo dvd was very good in picture/sound, we are happy with Carry on cleo dvd.

thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The milky way, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Cleo [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely great classic movie with the cutest Cleopatra ever with plenty of good laughs... but aren't they all? :-) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carry On Cleo [DVD] [1964]
Carry On Cleo [DVD] [1964] by Gerald Thomas (DVD - 2001)
5.85
In stock on September 18, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews