Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Kart Advance is the best Mario racing game of all!
What can I say?This game is higly addictive and brilliant.A choice of 8 different racers(Mario,Luigi,Yoshi,Peach,Toad,Donkey Kong,Bowser and Wario)who all race differently give plenty of Character choice.There are 16 tracks you can play when you first get the game.Then you unlock 4 more and then anther 4 and another and another and another and finally 4...
Published on 12 April 2002

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The Mario Kart cartridge I received was damaged beyond belief ...
The Mario Kart cartridge I received was damaged beyond belief, it works, but the fact its so battered, bruised and bent annoys me to no end.
Published 5 months ago by Donall


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Kart Advance is the best Mario racing game of all!, 12 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
What can I say?This game is higly addictive and brilliant.A choice of 8 different racers(Mario,Luigi,Yoshi,Peach,Toad,Donkey Kong,Bowser and Wario)who all race differently give plenty of Character choice.There are 16 tracks you can play when you first get the game.Then you unlock 4 more and then anther 4 and another and another and another and finally 4 more.Basically,there are 40 tracks in total and you have to unlock 24 of them!Also 20 of those 24 secret tracks are the exact same 20 tracks from the old SNES game.With 3 different engine types,3 different game modes,40 different tracks and 8 different characters,this game takes a while.Also the graphics are good and I think it is the most colourful game ever on the GBA.I think this should be everyones 1st GBA game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a game worth buying a GBA for., 8 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
What can I say- brilliant from start to finish.
8 characters, 3 difficulty settings, 20 tracks (plus bonus one's I haven't yet got) too many power ups to list. FANTASTIC!
Graphically, this game rules- crisp, clear, nigh on perfect. The characters are well aminated- each having their own voice characteristics too.
The control system is easy to use, but why the jump button is also the powerslide button is anyone's guess.
Gameplay wise, nothing beats this game. Only tetris is more addictive. Unfortunately the single pak multiplayer mode only has 1 character (Yoshi, but in four colours) and four tracks- which are pretty dull in comparision with the rest of the game. And it's just standard racing, no battle mode which made the SNES version infamous. But hey- everyone with a GBA will own this game anyway, so there'll be no problem finding a few people for a multipak battle game.
Overall, I can't fault it. An amazing conversion of the SNES classic that somehow is so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS GAME, 7 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
if there is one racing game you are going to buy for the gba, make sure it is this one. Addictive, fast flowing and a game you will still be playing six months after youv'e bought the game. Trust me. I still am. You won't rest till you have set an unbeatable time on rainbow road. About the game... where do you start. You can play as 8 classic nintendo characters ( mario, luigi, peach, toad, yoshi, wario, bowser and dk) and race them around brand new tracks or classic snes tracks. All the old pickups are here including the unbeatable blue shell. You will have hours of fun in single player mode but where the game really comes to life is in multiplayer mode. Get a mate round and the days will fly by. Its even got the rare ability of a single pack link. And now... cause its been out for such a a long time you can get it really cheap. Buy now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Kart Advance, 27 Jan. 2002
By 
Paul M. J. Mcewan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
When I played it on the snes, I thought it was amazing. When I played on the N64 I could not believe how they managed to make an excellent game better. Now they have made it even better!
Mario Kart Advance allows you to play one of the best racing games anywhere. You can play as all the characters from the N64 version, each one having there own special abilities, and the graphics are just like that of its N64 counter part (even thought the console is only 32 bit). The controls are very easy and comfortable, A is accelerate, B is brake, L is to fire weapon and R is to jump. The makers have also manage to encorpurate all the weapons from the orignal (fast mushrum, invincible star, homing red shell etc) which all add together to give this game some really good action and game play. Plus the best feature of the game must be the inclusion of all the original race courses from the Super Nintendo version. Infact, the only thing that would have been better would have been the inclusion of the levels from the N64 version.
Apart from this, Mario Kart Super Circuit is one of the best games on the Gameboy Advance and demands attention from every GBA owner, even the ones who are not big racing fans. I do not hesitate in giving this game 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chris's Mario Kart: Super Circuit Review, 17 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
Mario Kart: Super Circuit is an amazing game that will appeal to everyone. The graphics are subtle and they are very good considering it is on a portable machine. They are much better than the SNES game. The game however plays the same. Every gamer will like it. It is not an easy game though, you must slow down at the corners and the enemies fire weapons at you as much as you fire weapons at them. It is a challenge and will last for a long time. The learning curve is good and simple. In other words, it is easier to catch on to than other games such as 'Konami Krazy Racers.' There are 20 original tracks and 20 hidden ones from the original SNES version. In all that is 40 tracks for every difficulty. The courses are colourful and musical. Even if you do not like Mario games or racing games, I can assure you that you will love this. If you love racers and Mario games than you will not need to think twice about buying this game. It is (so far) the best game on the Game Boy Advance. There are eight players to choose from. They all have certain advantages and disadvantages. For example: Toad is fast but not very strong, so he can be bashed around a lot, but Bowser is very strong but he takes a long time to get up to speed. Characters such as Mario and Luigi are average. The most exciting part of the game is the multiplayer mode. Although the N64 versions multiplayer was better, this is still good - especially with four players. It is just like the SNES multiplayer version. Furthermore, you do not need to have four copies of the game to play multiplayer but this unlocks more options and you can trade ghosts. On the whole this game is perfect. It is the best Mario Kart game in single player but in multiplayer, the N64 is better. I strongly advise anyone with a Game Boy Advance to get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mario Kart: Super Circuit, 15 Oct. 2006
By 
.. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
Another Mario game. This time a remake of a 64 and NES classic. This is really good game . To start with you have three modes, quick run a quick race on a ny track to warm up, Time Trial to break indignented records, and GP which is going into the cups and competing with the other racers.The racers are Mario, Luigi, Yoshi, Bowser, toad, Peach, Donkey, Kong, and Wario.Obviously they all havce different abilities like faster accellaration, to weight to bash cars out of the way. Also you get item boxes with different weapons like bananas, classic blue shells, red shells, green shells lightning and Boo. on the game there are unlockable bonus tracks as well if you collect 100 coins on star cup to get to the bonus ones. There are also different types of speed 50cc,100cc and 150cc. Overall this is just a remake of a classic spruced up with better graphics and portablity. So get this its really cool and good say for long journeys in the car, ferry, or train. This has also been made out on the DS in another Remake that is very good too and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Better than my gamecube version!, 27 April 2004
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
This game is spot on. This was my favourite game years ago on the snes andwas the reason why I bought a GBA and a gamecube.
This version has the same feel of the original it's all there includingthe time trial mode (which is good to play when you and your mates havegot back from the pub and are waiting for the takeaway to arrive!)
The graphics are clear and movement is smooth, there is no pop up as allthe backgrounds are kept close to the original. The sound is all therewith little bits of speech from the characters when your racing.
I feel the gamecube version has lost the grin factor which you still geton the GBA, so much infact I've flogged my cube.
Give it a go, its the mutts nuts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another piece of Mario Kart gold!!!, 10 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
It seems no matter how many spin off games are made nothing can quite comare to the real thing. Mario Kart super Circuit takes the best from both the original Super Mario Kart and the ever popular Mario Kart 64 and combines it all into a gaming delight.
All of your fave characters are there, Mario, Luigi, Yoshi, Peach, Toad, Wario, DK and the ever popular Bowser. The format for the game is nothing new, but the brand new tracks in familiar settings make for an exciting new challenge. Super Circuit is an easy game to get the hang of and as such it doesn't matter if your an experienced Mario Kart Guru such as myself ^_^ or a first time player. Either way you will thouroghly enjoy this title.
The only downside that i could possibly find in this game is one that is impossible to avoid. Repeditiveness (is that even a word? you all know what i mean.) in that i mean that after a while, one player just don't cut it no more. and thats where Super Circuit's amazing Multiplayer option comes in.
Multiplayer allows four players to play off a mere one game pak, thats right one. however this mode is extremely limited where all players are renegaded to the pitful position of Yoshi (Just not one of my favorites) and you can only choose from four tracks. but when you throw another game pak or two or three into the equasion, things get really fun. When there's you and three of your friends, driving as any kart you choose on any track of your choice, even the best driver of the four can end up looking like a complete Jack-Ass. When you've had enough of driving around a circuit, with the same person winning all the time(uncommon but it happens) Battle mode comes into play. Anyone who has played battle mode on Mario Kart 64 will know this scene all too well. four Karts, one arena, all fun. it's the same ol' same ol'. Grab an item hurl at at your friends Kart, watch the look of aggrivation as one of their three fragile ballons floats away. And when you've lost all your baloons, it doesn't end there. If you are one of the first two to drop out, you become a Bomb-Kart, you have the privelege of baisically deciding who wins and who loses, it's obvious how, and unlike Mario Kart 64, you don't only get one crack at your "friends", once you blow up. your grow up again making you one of the most powerful racers on the track (I know people who lose just to become one of these bad boys)
In conclusion this game is great for experts, and beginners, and like any game, throw in some mates and it's even better. This game represents everything Mario Kart stands for, but before you play remember three things, think fast, hit fast, and most of all, drive fast!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can i give this 6 stars???, 7 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
If you are buying a Gameboy Advance this Christmas and are not sure what game to buy make sure you get Mario Kart Super Circuit. Most people would normally get themselves a Mario Land game to begin with on any new Nintendo console but it was a dissapointing first game to have with my new GBA. Mario Kart is by far the best game in my collection and i have been addicted to it ever since i got it in September.
There are four different cups to play for, each with four different tracks and once you get a gold cup in all four, a fifth cup is availiable to play. You can play the Mario GP,'Quick Run' or the Time trial. These are brilliant because if you want to practise on specific tracks you don't have to play the whole cup. The Time Trial mode records all your times and has a ghost racer which is the best time in which a player has completed a track. You have something to race against. No matter how you do, you can always view your race in replay mode to see where you went wrong.
If there is one GBA game you get this Xmas make sure it's this, you won't know what you've been missing until you play this. This game is perfect for all ages and if parents want a game they can play too get this!! Just make sure to let your kids have a go too! Pure entertainment and highly addictive. Worth Every Penny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARIO KART, 22 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit (Video Game)
This could easyly be one of the greatest games made for gameboy advance!The graphics are the
best I've seen for the advance and it's just
like the N64 version!The levels are challenging
(and you usally get that from gameboy!)So if your
looking for a game you can play again and again
pick this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit
Mario Kart Advance: Super Circuit by Nintendo (Game Boy Advance)
£99.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews