Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Modern Country
This 2000 release was Womack's 3rd and it's by far the best thing she's ever done.In my opinion most of the best country music of the last 20 years has been produced by female artists and this more than holds it's own with any you'd care to mention.It''s a collection of outstanding songs and Lee Ann's voice has a most appealing mix of sweetness and fragility that never...
Published on 15 Jan 2010 by Fergal Woods

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor packaging
I purchased 3 of these for presents, however due to poor packaging all 3 cases were cracked badly when received.
Published on 16 July 2010 by jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Modern Country, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Hope You Dance (MP3 Download)
This 2000 release was Womack's 3rd and it's by far the best thing she's ever done.In my opinion most of the best country music of the last 20 years has been produced by female artists and this more than holds it's own with any you'd care to mention.It''s a collection of outstanding songs and Lee Ann's voice has a most appealing mix of sweetness and fragility that never slips into coyness or cuteness.

The album opens with the Ronnie Bowman-penned "Healing Kind" where Womack's own harmony added to Ricky Skaggs almost outshines the original version. "I Hope You Dance" has a wonderful lyric and was a huge hit.Her version of Rodney Crowell's "Ashes by Now" is probably the best cover of a Crowell song I've come across and that's saying something! 2 more of my favourite country songwriters, Bobby Cryner and Dean Dillon, also contribute exquisite songs.Womack herself has only one song-writing credit - but with a tasteful selection of class songs like this who's complaining? The albums closes with the the old Don Williams number "Lord I hope this day is good" and here Womack utilises 2 of the best voices in bluegrass - Ronnie Bowman and Dan Tyminski (both former band mates in the Lonesome River Band) on superb harmony vocals.

The musicians on this recording are in the main the Nashwille A-List of the time, but as much of the material is acoustically-driven this recording is not as generic sounding as most Nashville "product" and should have a very broad base of appeal.I can't recommend it highly enough.The enhanced CD includes a most informative bio of Womack and has a number of other useful features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant from start to finish, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Hope You Dance (Audio CD)
What a great CD. Lee Ann has excelled herself, sometimes sounding like Dolly Parton, sometimes like Alison Krauss, but more usually like herself. There is a really good mixture of songs on this album ranging from the title track which has both superb melody and outstanding lyrics to the simple but extremely catchy 'Why they call it Fallin?' A first class album which I can recommend without hesitation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of trad and contempory songs play and play again, 23 Dec 2000
This a stunning album no filler tracks . Lee Ann can go on and become a major star. This should appeal to stone and new country fans alike.The production is slick butsympathetic to Lee Anns traditional country vocals a throw back to Dolly but moving the music forward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive stuff!, 25 Jun 2001
I bought this album not long after it came out, after repeatedly hearing the title track on the radio. It was so good that within two weeks I'd also bought her first two albums as well! While possibly not as good as her previous album "Some Things I Know" (there's no real equivalent to the wonderful song "I'd Rather Have What We Had" to be found here), nevertheless this is an album to appeal to everyone. Lee Ann's previous two albums were really for dedicated country fans, this album is for everyone. The title track is a musical masterpiece, in spite of being cheapened by the appalling remix that gets played on the radio (which thankfully is nowhere to be found here, only the original in all its glory). If you don't have this - why not? And if you do - go buy Lee Ann's first two albums if you don't already own them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this CD especially the track I hope you dance. Have been playing it in my car over and over and still find all the tracks beautiful. What a great voice she has
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Hope You Dance (MP3 Download)
This is the second time i have bought this album, being a country and western fan it's great......i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening country, 14 July 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Hope You Dance (Audio CD)
When Lee Ann released her debut album, she was acclaimed as the new standard bearer for traditional country music. Her second album reinforced that status but this third album finds Lee Ann moving towards an easy-listening style although this is still essentially a country album. Following this album, Lee Ann made a significant step away from country with her next two albums (one of which was a Christmas album) but then returned to her roots with a much more traditional country album. Thus, Lee Ann has tried various styles but her wonderful voice always sounds great.
The big hit here is, of course, I hope you dance, which crossed over to the American pop charts and even became a minor UK hit - no mean achievement in an era when country singles rarely become big pop hits. Apart from I hope you dance, there are many other great songs here including I feel like I'm forgetting something (a great up-tempo song to get those toes tapping), Lonely too (an excellent ballad written by Bruce Robison, a brilliant singer-songwriter), Lord I hope this day is good (a cover of a Don Williams classic), Does my ring burn your finger (written by Buddy and Judy Miller, an under-rated folk-country duo), Ashes by now (a cover of Rodney Rowell song) and Why they call it falling (a brilliant ballad).
This high-quality album should still please most traditional country fans, if not quite as much as Lee Ann's first two albums, while also pleasing fans of contemporary country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, 27 May 2000
In the days of country being gradually abandoned and 'rocked up' in favour of 'cross-over' success, here is a talented singer still producing great country music. If you missed her first two albums, make it up and buy this.
The title track is excellent, a stunningly gentle yet emotionally powerful song. It's worth the admission price alone ! the other tracks although not as spectacular are still great and round out her best album so far.
Whilst you are here order her previous two albums and discover an artist that can sing songs with passion, commitment and at times great humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lee Ann Womack, 18 May 2013
By 
R. M. Lawson "bobble" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Hope You Dance (Audio CD)
I purchased this album for the title track (I never have danced) it's good advice for the young! The remainder of the tracks are good, too. She's a crossover artist, but I like her for her "Country" sound. Good value, and not a "bad" track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Her best album and the one to buy, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Musicfan (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: I Hope You Dance (Audio CD)
Lee Ann Womack has her own style but can probably best be described as something of a mix of Dolly Parton and Alison Krauss. She is a classy singer who sings with real feeling. One of the besta round. Added to that the songs on this album all being great, especailly the title track which is powereful and moving. Great album for those that love great music and for those that love modern country music. Many years on, this album still sounds everybit as it did when it was released. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Hope You Dance
I Hope You Dance by Lee Ann Womack (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews