Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack!
This album is automatically considered to be a flop by many people. However, it was a concept album and a soundtrack. For a soundtrack it actually did very well. Not the best of Mariah's career but it still has some great tracks on this and she sounds great! 'Loverboy' is a great opener. Many say is has no tune but this is due to Jennifer Lopez using the Yellow Magic...
Published on 4 Nov. 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good voices but only a couple of memorable songs
The thing I liked about the Glitter cd was the quality of Mariah Carey's
singing.The best songs were the ones she sang unaccompanied such as Reflections.I think you have to be a big fan of hip-hop,funk and rap to like most of the tracks on offer here.For a lot of the songs I kept thinking that Mariah was out of place when she was backing the other artists and they...
Published on 13 Sept. 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disco diva, 22 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
I really like this album, it is brilliant for getting ready to go out with the girls as well as having some ballads too! After seeing the film I enjoyed the album even more- it has a really 1980's sound to it- probably because the film was set in the 1980s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely glittering!, 10 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
I just had to write a review on this album, because it is absolutely superb. Every single song is amazing. It may sound cliché because of the album's title, but this entire album is literally glittering.
...Buy the album, and you'll know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!, 10 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
this is a VERY GREAT CD, it has pop,r&b,hip hop,80's and 70's disco and Mariah, oh Mariah, she still sings from her heart making the song Reflections (Care Enought) her best emotional song ever. Hey,She's still no.1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah's back and better than ever, 28 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
It's hard to describe Glitter in a few words because it's such a great music compilation, that it makes you want to listen to it over and over again. Loverboy (Remix and regular version): You must all know Mariah's first single by now. It's a very groovy funky track, which you love more the more you listen to it, but in my opinion is probably the "less good" track on the album Lead the Way: Lovers of Mariah ballads you're going to adore and praise this. This is so touching and beautiful... If We: Excellent combination of Mariah's vocal, which only shine towards the end of the track, with Ja Rule's Didn't mean to turn you on: With this you just want to get up and dance. Listen to Mariah shadowing the synth notes with her 5-octave voice! Don't Stop: Ok, there's a lot of Mystikal here and very little Mariah, but you will learn to love this track and the "I Feel it" chorus is breath-taking All My Life: This song was written by Ricky James for Mariah and you can hear her sing here like in her old days, her vocals take you back to Someday or any other uptempo from her earlier albums Reflections: beautiful and catchy ballad Last Night a DJ saved my life: Mariah's soulful and dark vocals are the best here. Perhaps too much rapping... Want You: Beautiful and funky duet with Eric Benet Never too far: the new single, go and request it on the radio! Twister: very emotional and intimate, a lovely, albeit short, song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing and frustrating return to 80's pop, 23 Sept. 2001
By 
Noah Canada (Arlington, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
Only true hardcore Mariah Carey fans can tell the difference between most of her albums. The transition from 'Daydream' to 'Butterfly' was the only one that casual fans can pinpoint out, as it was her experimenting with Hip Hop R&B. So, with 'Glitter,' Carey is attempting to infuse Hip Hop sensiblity to 80's club pop. 'Loverboy' forgiven, the rest of the album plays as a testament to Carey's syrupy ballads and her new found fondness for having rappers galore featured on her songs. 'Last Night A DJ Saved My Life' plays on for 6 minutes, and it seems that Carey plays guest star instead of lead. 'I Didn't Mean To Turn You On,' well, there is no explaination for this mess. She gets too close to the microphone and forgets how close she is when she decides to actually use her vocal range to um, sing. Over the past albums, Carey seems to have learn to more or less utter the words under her breath, which in theory is to evoke a sensual feeling, which should work, but Carey sounds surprisingly dead. The ballads are just like any other Carey album, slow, murky, one wonders when she is just going to scream and start doing something exciting. So, what album is this, #7? It is baffling when such a viable songwriter and accomplished vocalist puts out worthless schlock like this. Whenever she decides to actually take a chance on her music, like maybe trying trip-hop or something, let me know, because at that point will I be interested in buying another one of her albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, oh dear, oh.....dear, 12 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
I work in the music department of a well known superstore, and get to play all the best new releases. It's a great job as you get to listen to fantastic new music and not have to buy it!
But that all changed when someone put this record on...
This sounds like everything Mariah has done before, except much much worse. There isn't a single catchy tune in there! It doesn't even sound like she's done any work. There are so many guest artistes on ths album, i'm surprised its even come out as a Mariah Carey album!
Then when you DO hear Mariah, you have to constantly put up with her whiny, breathy vocal aerobics - if you call that singing, i'm sorry but you must be from another planet, where singing normally to a tune is outlawed!
And as for ending the album with the same song as you start with, albeit a remix, that doesnt really show a lot of imagination, now does it?!
I cant believe some of the reviews that are giving this album five stars, saying its her most adventurous album to date and all that. Maybe its adventurous for her, but lets face it - its nothing we havent heard before - nor want to hear ever again! It is insipid, putrid, whining, and ultimately, fake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly glittering, 10 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Glitter (Audio CD)
I bought this album after purchasing the Mariah Carey "Greatest Hits" CD so, I was expecting material of a high standard.
And yes, on the whole (despite most reviews being quite poor) most of "Glitter" displays Carey at a reasonably good stage vocally.
The best tracks being the ballads "Never Too Far" and "Lead The Way", because you can actually hear Mariah for more than 30 seconds!
Some of the other ballads are ok but not quite as spectacular.
Mariah has also made a reasonably good attempt at recreating the hits "Last Night A DJ Saved My Life" and "Didn't Mean To Turn You On".
Sadly, there are some real let downs. The most noticable being "Loverboy" (both versions), "If We" and "Don't Stop". This is because Mariah hardly gets a word in (ruined totally by Mystikal, DaBrat and all the rest of the crazy line up!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glitter
Glitter by Mariah Carey (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews