Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manchester's finest!
Long before the Stone Roses were the darlings of the Manchester indie scene, the Buzzcocks were writing and playing some of the best music in the country. In the late 70's they wrote some of the best love songs ever to be played under the banner of 'punk', and they make the so-called 'punk' bands of the 21st century look like the third-rate metal bands with guitarists...
Published on 24 Feb 2004 by michael_m

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Punk rocker's finest ... almost!
The Buzzcocks are now legendary and have rightfully earned their place in the Punk Rock Big Four (Sex Pistols, Blink 182 and The Boomtown Rats being the other three of course). With a natural flair for writing punk pop tunes, of which only the early material of The Cars could rival, this collection of hits is essential. While London dominated the late 70s punk-rock scene...
Published 7 months ago by BLS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manchester's finest!, 24 Feb 2004
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
Long before the Stone Roses were the darlings of the Manchester indie scene, the Buzzcocks were writing and playing some of the best music in the country. In the late 70's they wrote some of the best love songs ever to be played under the banner of 'punk', and they make the so-called 'punk' bands of the 21st century look like the third-rate metal bands with guitarists that can't solo that they are.
I was tempted to take a star away for the inclusion of a few later tracks that aren't as good quality as the others (i.e. 'Why She's A Girl From The Chainstore' et al.) that weren't on the original release of the CD. However, I can easily forgive that due to the fantastic songs that make up the rest of the album.
From the teen anthem 'Ever Fallen In Love', through the heartache of 'Promises', to the naive optimism of 'Everybody's Happy Nowadays' and the harsher Steve Diggle vocal on 'Harmony In My Head' you simply cannot help but love these songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest pop songs ever?, 18 Dec 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
Well it's easy to state such and such is the greatest pop song ever, but this classic 1979 compilaton of early Buzzcocks gives us 16 reasons why Buzzcocks are contenders for writers/performers of the greatest pop songs ever. Few others in the post-punk era had a sense of melody and pop savvy, though I would mention bands like The Undertones, early Ramones,The Only Ones & The Clash in this regard.
Following classic e.p. Spiral Scratch, Howard Devoto left (later to form the great Magazine) & Pete Shelley took over on vocals. These 16 songs pursue a poppier direction than SS, though the ghost of Devoto lurks in opener Orgasm Addict (co-written with HD) & in Lipstick (which shares a riff with Magazine's debut single Shot By Both Sides). The current crop of pop-punk pseuds (Ash, Blink 182, Sum 141, Good Charlotte etc) are put into dust by such songs as What Do I Get?, I Don't Mind, Promises, Love You More, & the timeless anthem Ever Fallen in Love. Things become more interesting towards the end, Why Can't I Touch It? as complex and epic as Marquee Moon-Television.
Simply put this is a great compilation and primer as to why Buzzcocks were so great (still are!)- though more expansive compilations such as Original Manual and Product are probably greater! Simply put: every home should have a copy of Singles Going Steady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great band; great singles, 13 Nov 2006
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
An utterly fantastic collection.

The Buzzcocks were masters of those three minute soap operas (on black vinyl)that we used to spend 99 pence a throw on back in the seventies.

They started as part of the punk movement, but went on to go beyond this, practically inventing the concept of power pop on their own with tight singles with great tunes and a good dose of camp.

Most of the Buzzcocks albums were bitty. This great collection represents them at their best. No filler guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noise that doesn't annoy, 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles: Going Steady (Audio CD)
In the best traditions of Punk Rock I was going to keep this review short and straight to the point;

"This album is Punk-Pop perfection. Five stars out of five stars."

Then I realised there is one - very important - extra thing worth mentioning.

The track selection on this 1990 CD issue (CDP 7464492) remains faithful to the original LP release. It features 16 tracks which compliment each other perfectly, giving the album a very natural flow to the extent that it sounds more like a "proper" album than a compilation.

But. When this title was remastered a few years ago they threw in a whole pile of extra tracks from the tail-end of the band's career, tracks which are VERY different in sound and style to the original 16. This had the effect of completely destroying the original - and almost perfect - flow of the album.

So unlike this 1990 edition the more recent remaster sounds like a compilation, not a "proper" album. You may want to bear that in mind if trying to decide which version to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True and lively, 13 Feb 2004
Beautifully packaged in Men with Bears 180 gr. vinyl, this record shows different sides of this seminal band. A pop face that is filtered by a punk structure, psichedelic influences, a true passion for songwriting. But above all, we hear from those grooves a real and complete lively performing group. This record tells us stories from another era, when recording songs was an immediate and true act. That's why I love listenning to punk records like this: sincere, hard, direct, full of ideas, very distant from today's mass pop levelled plastic productions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 25 Sep 2005
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
Every serious music fan needs to have a copy of this album. Buzzcocks were so influential on the punk scene, but have also extended their influence to the modern day, with many new groups citing them as an influence. Their quirky and short melodic-punk classics from the early days are all captured on this single collection. It's also worth catching up with their new releases as their recent writing has been as good as, if not even better, than the early days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Where Madchester began, 2 Mar 2010
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
If ever a group needed a greatest hits collection, it was Buzzcocks. One of the most interesting acts to emerge from Manchester's fertile punk scene in the mid 70s, the group knocked out an immaculate run of highly charged, deeply confessional pop singles. At a time when hatred was prescribed as a universal topic, the buzzcocks had the smartness and sensibility of writing to order to fill a three-minute pop single. Although the songs ruminated on love and openly paraded the personal trials and tribulations of being gay they created these brief pop masterpieces. By the time the group had reached "Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn't've)" in September 1978, the formula was complete and the band became chart regulars.
Going Steady collects their first eight United Artists singles, A-sides together with B-sides and captures the group at their fleeting best, as essential to the late 70s as the Sex Pistols or the Clash. The songs are bitter sweet and bursting with infectious hooks but are a bit samey. Vocally the delivery is an acquired taste and can be irritating, but it was right for its time a time of DIY. Ironically these recordings sound a little cheesy today but in their day they were rebellious and the sound of youth struggling against a bleak future of unemployment. Never the less the Buzzcocks remain on of Manchester Finest. and deserve better recognition. With out these unsung heroes we would not have had the Smiths or the Stone Roses which became Madchester which became Britpop.
If you want to understand the sound of Manchester in the late 70's this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 26 Dec 2009
Plain and simple great music with a unique sound. I can imagine people in many years to come catching one of their tunes on the radio or wherever, and thinking 'this is great, I need to hear some more of this stuff'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmony in my head, 9 Jan 2009
By 
P. Mcshane "McShane" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
You can take Kink Kronikles, Meaty Beaty Big & Bouncy, The London Years and all your other classic compilations and throw them in the rubbish for all they matter. Singles Going Steady collects 8 of the Buzzcocks' A-sides along with their corresponding B-sides and perfectly encaptures the brilliant melodicism and hook writing of messrs Shelley and Diggle -- predominantly the former although we must not overlook Steve's moments of greatness -- the '70's greatest pop writers and worthy precursors to Andy Partridge and Colin Moulding, who wouldn't quite get their stuff together until '79.

Classics abound here, but for me the highlights are "Orgasm Addict," "What Do I Get?," "I Don't Mind," "Promises," "Everybody's Happy Nowaday's," "Harmony In My Head," "Lipsti"....no, I can't do it. It's all too perfect. And whilst the bonus tracks aren't quite as uniformally superb as the originals, I wouldn't dump them for the world.

Big thanks to EMI for reissuing (remastering? I've not heard them yet) the band's first three classic albums, but none of them will ever compare to this. Very few albums do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quintessential love song, 17 Oct 2002
By 
E. Alby (Va) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles Going Steady (Audio CD)
The greatest love song ever written is "Love You More". It was the perfection of a process by the best punk-pop group of all time (well, tied with the Ramones) that ended with a song on an NME tape, "I Look Alone", and with the words from Pete Shelly "I've left to join the Social Democrats". When this band broke up it was like a close friend died, but in retrospect we're lucky to have received these gems in our lifetime. Most of their singles are going to seem dated, but if you were a teenager when they came out, and and shared them with a girlfriend... relive the past - these songs will never get old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles Going Steady
Singles Going Steady by Buzzcocks (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews