Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars37
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2004
The 49th Edition of the most successful compilation series ever "Now That's What I Call Music!" brings us the best of pop, rock, indie, R&B and dance music!
With a string of number ones and top ten singles, the double album captures the best of recent charts, and is a pure reflection of today's hottest tunes.
Disc One starts-off with great Top 5 ballads with Robbie Williams' "Eternity" (No.1), Gabrielle's "Out Of Reach" (No.4), Atomic Kitten's cover of The Bangles' "Eternal Flame" (No.1) and Blue's "All Rise".
Then the up-tempo hits start to catch you and put you to dance with pop numbers by S Club 7 with "Don't Stop Movin'" (No.1), the dance-influenced "It's Raining Men" by Geri Halliwell (No.1)and Ronan Keating's "Lovin' Each Day" (No.2).
After some good pop songs, the CD introduce some indie/rock offerings with the Stereophonics' "Have A Nice Day", Wheatus' "Teenage Dirtbag", Blink 182's "The Rock Show" (out of the UK Top Ten) and U2's "Elevation (Tomb Raider Mix)" (No.3) from the "Lara Croft: Tomb Raider" soundtrack.
The sound quickly moves to an R&B/hip-hop songs by Outkast (Ms. Jackson) charting at No.2 and the chart-topper "Survivor" by the Destiny's Child.
Closing an excellent Disc: One, is the return of ballads with popstars winners Hear'say with "The Way To Your Love" (No.1), the Backstreet Boys' least successful hit to date "More Than That" (No.12) since their debut offering "Get Down (You're The One For Me)" made No.14 in 1996, female teenage superstar Britney Spears with her lowest chart-number "Don't Let Me Be The Last To Know" (No.12), Marti Pellow's "Close To You", chillout/ballad superstar Dido with her first ever top 3 hit "Thank You", Zero 7's underrated master-piece "Destiny" and Radiohead's Top 5 welcome back "Pyramid Song".
Disc: Two kicks-off with the re-issue of the 70's superstar Eddy Grant's "Electric Avenue", followed by the year's most successful new act 'the Gorillaz' with "19-2000 (Soulchild Remix)". Next is the chart-topper/dancefloor friendly "Do You Really Like It?" by DJ Pied Piper & The Masters Of Ceremonies, Mis-teeq's R&B offering "All I Want"; Roger Sanchez dance master-piece "Another Chance" (No.1) and a sort of dance anthems by Basement Jaxx, Da Hool, Ian Van Dahl's No.3 debut "Castles In The Sky" and Fragma.
Steps make the pop's return on the album, followed by the A*Teens' first and only Top Ten hit "Upside Down" and Bellefire's "Perfect Bliss".
Texas returns once again with a new remix of the 1989's hit "I Don't Want A Lover" and bringing the dance back is Boris Dlugosch featuring Roisin with "Never Enough".
Then the CD is filled with R&B/pop songs by Janet Jackson. Sisqo, Melanie B and Eve.
This CD is a must buy for any 2001 fan! But if you want the hugest hits of the year, you must try "Now That's What I Call Music! 50", this one offers chart-topping hits by Kylie Minogue, Westlife, DJ Otzi, Bob The Builder, Five, Blue, So Solid Crew and Afroman, plus Top Five Singles from Steps, Sophie Ellis-Bextor, Nelly Furtado, Emma Bunton, Jennifer Lopez, Alien Ant Farm, Wheatus, Travis, Britney Spears, Iio, Supermen Lovers featuring Mani Hoffman, Destiny's Child, Eve featuring Gwen Stefani and many more!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
Well all up this is a pretty good indication of the state of the UK pop charts at the moment. Whether you believe that to be good or bad is not really this compilation's job. There are 41 songs on this ranging all the way from Hear'Say to Roger Sanchez to Radiohead, don't know too many compilations stretching that wide. There's bound to be something on here for anybody's tastes, which is really what the "Now" people do best.
The only criticism I would lay at its feet is that, yes, some of the songs have long been and gone. In fact some of the artists featured on this disc are back in the charts at the moment with newer songs. Which, as we all know, usually results in the traditional end of year "Now" CD release full of songs they missed first time around taking up space instead of current releases.
But enough whining, all up it does its job admirably and should keep anyone interested in the current chart music happy for oooh two hours or so at least.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2001
You can't disagree with the facts - if the Now! albums have almost reached their 50th release, they must be doing something right. And with such a wide range of styles on the albums, you can't fail to like at least one of the songs. The problem is their isn't a wide range of artists: it's just the same old people: Steps, S Club 7, Ronan, Hear'Say (shudder) amongst others. They definetly need to bring in some fresh blood, such as that wkd 'Lady Marmalade' song. It's nice to see Dido & Destiny's Child here though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
This Now that's what i call music is pretty similar to other Compilations that have recently been released. It's also very similar to it's own Series (ie) the Artists. there are roughly 17 artists that are new to the Now Sereies, Apart from these facts. I will still by it cos it is part of my collection. But come on guys either release the Now series before other compilations are put new stuff and artists on there!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
I enjoy both the US and UK versions of the Now Music series and first found out about the Now music series in the late 90’s (when I was still in high school). I purchased Now 49 at my Walmart job after spotting it in the cd sections during one of my breaks. Now 49 contains music that has been played on top 40 radio during summer 2013 and predating to recently with such musicians such as Pitbull, Katy Perry, Imagine Dragons, One Direction, One Republic, Ellie Goudling, Zedd, Bruno Mars, and other music artists. A mini music sampler of what is available is also featured on youtube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2001
Now 49 is your usual standard chart fare: cheesy pop covers (insipid versions of Eternal Flame and It's Raining Men by Atomic Kitten and Geri Halliwell respectively), indie-rock anthems (U2, Wheatus), shouty R&B (Destiny's Child), commercial hip-hop (Eve, Nelly feat. City Spud) and faceless trance (Ian Van Dahl, Fragma, Roger Sanchez). The majority of these songs have been played to death, and even of those that haven't, only a few tracks stand out; these include Gorillaz' 19/2000, Radiohead's Pyramid Song, U2's Elevation and Roger Sanchez' Another Chance. I would not recommend this compilation, unless of course you are a fan of all types of music, instead I suggest a more genre-based compilation.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2010
Top sounds of 2001 featuring, Gabriell, Nelly Furtardo, DJ Piper,
Roger Sanchez, Basement Jaxx and many more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Really really really great.It's the greastest now album ever! In the U.S. And it's got all my favourite songs on it like timber,Wrecking ball,Counting stars,Burn,Story of my life,Royals and say something.Agreat mix of songs.And it's got all the songs of my favourite year 2014 (The start of 2014) that's when it came out and that was a good time as in the start of 2014
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
I like the songs, takes me back to my childhood...but I was told it was used, but the condition was "like new", which is was not. The CD case is broken at the hinges and the CDs themselves are scratched and more than half the songs on each are jumpy. I was very frustrated and contemplated sending it back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
Don't get me wrong - this is NOT a terrible album. But I wouldn't recommend you to buy it.
As ever the Now series come out with songs that are terribly outdated. The following artists are featured on the CD with old hits while they all have new tracks already in the charts as you read this: Geri Halliwell, Wheatus, Outkast, Destiny's Child, Janet Jackson and Eve. But what I don't understand is how some of today's biggest tracks aren't featured on it (like 'Lady Marmelade' by Christina Aguilera, Mya, Pink and Lil' Kim, 'Pop' by Nsync or 'Loverboy' by Mariah Carey and Cameo). Madonna, Jennifer Lopez, Missy Elliot, Faithless, Travis, Brandy & Ray J, 2pac, Daft Punk, Limp Bizkit, Incubus and D12... never heard of 'em? Instead we get Bellefire and the A*Teens? Hello? And what's up with the remixes? Why can't we get the radio edits from the Gorrilaz and Eddy Grant?
I have every single Now album but this is the one time I'll have to skip... Please change your formula before it's too late...
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)