Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2014
I have enjoyed the the 1st episode, the only one I've seen so far, even better than when I watched them in the 90's. Though it will never be better than thunderbirds, joe 90 or secret service which are my favourite series (especially thunderbirds which was the 1st gerry Anderson I watched).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 December 2006
This first set of Captain Scarlet features 6 episodes. If like me you first watched these as a kid, probably in black and white, it is marvellous to see them now in remastered colour with 5.1 sound. The picture quality is really very good.

Although I have always preferred Thunderbirds, I have grown to love Captain Scarlet over the years. Its a darker series overall. To this day I still love the spooky opening credit sequence with the cat screeching, and Captain Scarlet in the alleyway being shot and then pulling his own gun.

Although there aren't that many extras there is a an interesting commentary from Gerry Anderson on the first episode. I've got vol 1,2 and 5 and intend to get the rest!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 September 2002
This is the second of 5 DVDs which, between them, contain all 32 episodes of Captain Scarlet (also available as a box set). This DVD contains episodes 7 - 12.
I prefer this volume to volume 1 because by now, the characters have established themselves. There is no need for introductions, leaving more time for the actual stories.
The stories revolve around the Mysterons continuing their revenge against Earth after Captain Black obliterated their base on Mars in the first episode. This revenge usually takes the form of them attempting to kill a major world figure or, in the case of "Special Assignment" and "The Heart of New York", destroying major cities or continents. It always seemed to me to be the Mysterons biggest mistake to announce what they were going to do in advance, thus giving Spectrum time to thwart it. If you're going to kill the World President, why not just shoot him when his back is turned. But that would not make for a good adventure.
This volume contains my favourite episode "Lunarville 7" where Captains Scarlet and Blue and Lieutenant Green travel to the moon to investigate a suspected Mysteron base being built there. The added factor of the hostile lunar environment adds to the tension.
The extras on the disc are superb. Whilst, regrettably, there is no commentary, what you do get is another Audio adventure (originally released on vinyl records in the sixties) plus some excellent archive material consisting of four adverts from the time, two for Lyons Maid ice lollies and two for Sugar Smacks.
With two and a half hours of episodes and extras as well, this disc represents excellent value for money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
I always wanted to know how Captain Scarlett became indestructable....

Intersting that although a British product, members of the 'Spectrum' organisation follow the 'Shoot first, ask questions later' mentality. Don't look to deep for a plot.

Good fun for your inner 5 year old. That, and my son loves it too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2002
I have watched and enjoyed Captain Scarlet since I was 7 years old. This DVD features the first ever 6 six episodes. The extra features are far from great but i still recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2007
This is brilliant stuff! Join the Spectrum Cloudbase crew in their fight against the evil Mysterons. Episodes include Avalanche, White as Snow, The Trap and Operation Time. "Avalanche" is a series of crippling attacks on Frost Line Outer Space Defence bases sees Captain Scarlet and Lieutenant Green race to stop the Mysteron assailant before a trigger-happy general starts an interplanetary war with Mars. "White as Snow" is Colonel White himself is targeted by the Mysterons. "The Trap" is a summit of top military commanders is secretly a Mysteron ruse to eliminate the best minds of Earth's armed forces. "Operation Time" is Crucial Mysteron weaknesses are revealed when a leading brain surgeon is killed and reconstructed by the Mysterons to murder a top army general.
This is thrilling stuff! Along with Captain Scarlet and the Mysterons Vol. 8 [1961] these make a great pair!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
This tape has 4 digitally-remastered episodes of Gerry Anderson's Captain Scarlet. These are: Point 783, Model Spy, Seek and Destroy and Traitor. The visual image is clear and sharply-focussed, the sound excellent.
Everything about this series was top-drawer puppetry for its day (1967). If you like Thunderbirds, you'll like this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
One of the superior productions by Anserson, set in the 21st Century, about a paramilitary world security force, thatin fighting a malevolent alien martian force that can't be seen. Ideal for kids, including the adult kids that grew up 1st time round on the programme.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2001
On British Televison in the 1960's the Science fiction puppet series from the imagination of Gerry Anderson became popular and a thing of a past.
Like two of Anderson's classics, Thunderbirds and Stingray, CAPTAIN SCARLET AND THE MYSTERIONS is defanly Gerry Anderson's best series of all time.
The time is the future, Captain Scarlet aka Paul Metcalf is a special agent working for SPECTRUM.
SPECTRUM is a agency where it's base is located in the sky.
SPECTRUM at the command of Colonel White are about to face their biggest enemies, "The Mysterions" alien lifeforms who have the ability to assume a human form.
Where Captain Scarlet has become their arch enemy and only he can stop them and save the world.
Where not only he fights them but he fights Captain Black, who is controlled by the Mysterions as their agent.
Good vehicles, awsome closing music, good action-packed stories, Captain Scarlet really shows that he is truly indestructible and he is the best Science Fiction hero of all time.
Lets Pray that there will be a live-action CAPTAIN SCARLET motion picture one-day as we see a real-life film star bring Scarlet to life.
***** (5/5)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
gerry andersons finest hour. all episodes on this dvd are excellent.the stand out one being seek and destroy .the mysterons take over angel aircraft ,never tire of watching this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse