Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only Street Fighter Anime/Movie worth watching ...
This is new release of a classic anime movie , includes the Japanese version which was previously unavailable in the UK.

This disc includes two discs, the English dubbed version on Disc 1 and the Japanese audio version with English subtitles on Disc 2.

Both versions have different background music , so loyal fans might enjoy watching both versions as...
Published on 27 Aug 2007 by Low-Quality

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WAY BETTER THAN THE ACTUAL MOVIE
THIS MOVIE DOESNT HAVE THE BEST STORYLINE IN THE WORLD, BUT YOU GET A GENERAL IDEA THAT THE WRITERS TRIED THERE BEST TO INCLUDE AS MANY CHARACTERS, AS POSSIBLE.
Published 7 months ago by henry conteh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only Street Fighter Anime/Movie worth watching ..., 27 Aug 2007
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is new release of a classic anime movie , includes the Japanese version which was previously unavailable in the UK.

This disc includes two discs, the English dubbed version on Disc 1 and the Japanese audio version with English subtitles on Disc 2.

Both versions have different background music , so loyal fans might enjoy watching both versions as the different soundtracks produce different emotions throughout this movie.

The western track is more aggressive and adreniline pumped .... while the Japanese track is more subtle and beautiful/artful.

The accuracy of the subtitles themselves seem abit iffy / don't seem too accuarate ..... but it a small imperfection that can be overlooked , in this impressive set.

The colour quality of both versions seems to slightly differ from one another too. ( The english disc seems to have a darker/stronger tint to it ..... while the japanese disc has a paler/clearer tint )

Anyway about the movie itself :

Along with the awful Hollywood Movie , there are also a bunch of streetfighter animes / anime movies besides this ..... but I personally think this is the only one really worth watching. ( It also seems to be the most faithful adaption in accordance to the games )

It has great cel and animation quality ( Not the bright and colourful palette you expect from typical anime ... the colours are more real/pale ) , along with a great soundtrack.

It has amazing chreography when it comes to fight scenes.
Plotwise , not much can be said really , except it's based on a fighting game , so what can you expect ?

But it's worth watching just for the fights.

My rating is mainly for people who enjoyed playing Street Fighter alot in their youth and want to see a movie that does it justice.

Add a star if you are a huge Streetfighter fan though ( All your favourite characters come to life , blood and all! ) or take away a Star if you have no interest in Streetfighter.

Either way it's a solid title that's still a satisfying fight ( animated ) movie to watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The only Street Fighter Anime/Movie worth watching ..., 10 Nov 2006
By 
Low-Quality (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Along with the awful Hollywood Movie , there are also a bunch of streetfighter animes / anime movies besides this ..... but I personally think this is the only one really worth watching. ( It also seems to be the most faithful adaption in accordance to the games )

It has great cel and animation quality ( Not the bright and colourful palette you expect from typical anime ... the colours are more real/pale ) , along with a pumping soundtrack. It has amazing chreography when it comes to fight scenes. Plotwise , not much can be said really , except it's based on a fighting game , so what can you expect ?

But it's worth watching just for the fights. My rating is mainly for people who enjoyed playing Street Fighter alot in their youth and want to see a movie that does it justice.

Add a star if you are a huge Streetfighter fan though ( All your favourite characters come to life , blood and all! ) or take away a Star if you have no interest in Streetfighter.

Either way it's a solid title that's still a satisfying fight ( animated ) movie to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest, 20 Oct 2002
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the first Manga film that I purchased, and let me say if it is yours you wont be dissapointed. This is in my opinion one of the greatest manga's of all time. The story is set in the not so distant future, the evil mastermind Bison is determined to capture the minds and bodies of the worlds greatests fighters, for his plan to conquer the world. The only two people that can stop him are Ken and Ryu, two very powerful martial arts experts. With a gripping storyline till the very end you are kept entertained by the superb fight scenes and not to mention the excellent soundtrack to boot (if your in to that kind of music that is). This is a simply must own for anyone new to the manga scene, I wouldnt believe if anyone would say any different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Manga, 18 Sep 2003
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This film surpassed all of my expectations and I am glad I got it on DVD. The sound and animation is just superb and each character from the games up to Super Street Fighter 2.
I have few faults with this film. It portrays each part of the Street Fighter universe amazingly well, and Ryu is given an amazing depth to his character. At last a reason for the headband.
The fights with Fei Long and M Bison rank as the best in the film, although any part with E Honda in is comical.
A pity Sagat didn't have a bigger part in it, but he does appear as a Shadowlaw agent, so he hasn't disappeared totally. Unsure of what the other reviewer meant by Akuma's appearance. Have not seen him.
Otherwise, a film worth anybody's money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SONIC BOOM!, 8 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is awsome, its the only street fighter film worth watching. Im not sure what goes through some peoples minds when they decide to make films of games, books etc and go off on their own little tangent as if they know what people want to see like the french actor masquerading as an american but with a french accent Van Dame! street fighter live action movie was awful! and the new Chun li film isnt to good from what ive heard.

However this film is awesome it actually stays true to the source material and has a brilliant but simple story. The Character roster is great all your faves are in there somewhere and Ry and Ken are actually the stars!! if your a street fighter fan this is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street Fighter II - Animate it!, 22 April 2003
By 
L. O. Adcock (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Fighting games rarely have a plot, so Capcom had to jack one together quickly. M. Bison and his jerks want to take over the world, and Ryu and Ken have to stop them. I get the feeling that half-an-hour of decent plot was forgotten about.
The animation, on the other hand, is excellent, and the only problem is that all the way through the film, muscles are emphasised hugely.
It seems that Capcom tried to include all the characters from the games, even the ones that no-one gives a dog's toss about. Unfortunately, they come in for a two minute scrap and one or two lines, and are never seen again. What you need to pay attention to are the four main characters - Ryu, Ken, Guile and Chun Li.
While SF2 might seem like a must for kiddy fans of the game, you parents had better think twice. In the unedited version, there are vast amounts of blood, and Chun Li is shown having a shower, before fighting Vega half-naked. There is also a lot of hard-core swearing, not just the mild stuff that your kids learnt off you.
There's a lot of opportunities to read between the lines in SF2. Ryu and Ken have constant flashbacks about each other, and I get this constant feeling that Guile and Chun Li have something going together - partly because he doesn't run her over, partly because he nearly cries when he thinks she's dead, and partly because of that huge hug she gives him in hospital.
Still, to the fans of Manga, anime and SF2, if you don't mind the adult content and thin plot, this is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Ready Fighters!!!!, 12 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
B4 I start may i just say that this is 1 of the BEST films i've ever seen i must have rented it 50+times from my local video store because i couldn't find anywere that sold it so when i herd about its DVD release it was music to my ears!!
As an Avid fan of the Street Fighter series i LOVE this film but im sure most people would enjoy its fast paced luscious fight scenes and dynamic characters
The film is mainly about Ryu, a Japanese guy wandering the world to improve his fighting skills and Ken his lifelong friend and training partner who havn't seen each other in years and Ken starts wondering about him, as does Ryu about Ken. Then Shadowlaw comes into the plot(yeah, the big bad guys!!)and start sending out surveilance robots to find the worlds best fighters to join their evil organisation and find Ryu to have the greatest fighting potential as he kicks the s**t out of Sagat at the start of the film!!Sagat is 1 of Bisons(the leader of Shadowlaw) best men so Bison tries to recruit Ryu but they cant find him so they get Ken in his absense and subject him to mind control so that his only target in life is to destroy Ryu!!! they meet towards the end and the punches and kicks fly!! but Ken starts to remember his old buddy and the two pair up to finish off Bison(And what an amazing finish it is!!)
All of your Fave characters are in there Ryu, Ken, Guile, Chun li,E Honda,Dhalsim,Fei Long,Zangief, Blanka, Balrog, Sagat, Vega & Bison(and Akuma if u watch closely)they all have their trademark moves(as you'd expect)
If your a fan of Street Fighter or Manga this should be a definate purchase and if your not i'd recommend it anyway.
Cheers,
Chico ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Hollywood fails...., 5 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
You can always count on our friends in Japan to come up with the perfect movie conversion of a hit video game. Street Fighter II - The Movie was released in Japan at the same time as the dire Hollywood version was released in the UK and having seen both I know which one I would have prefered to go to the cinema to see. Released in the UK by Manga Entertainment, Street Fighter II follows the fortunes of Ryu and Ken, former sparring partners who were seperated and eventually reunited by fate. Ken spends his time taking part in organised street fights to make a quick buck while Ryu has become world famous after fighting and defeating the master kickboxer Sagat. Unfortunately Ryu's fame does not go unnoticed and Bison, the leader of the crime empire known as Shadowlaw, decides to capture Ryu for his own devious purposes.Fans of the video game will not be dissapointed with Street Fighter II. All the characters are included (although some only in cameo roles) and the story follows the game closely. Add to that the smooth amimation in the fight scenes and a kick-ass soundtrack by such artists as 'Korn' and 'Alice in Chains' and you finally have the movie that the Street Fighter franchise deserves. This proves once and for all that a great game can make a great movie. Sheer Class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good SFII movie...., 4 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would agree with the review that says this is the only Street Fighter II movie/series worth watching. While I understand what one or two of the others tried to do, I thought they were managed poorly. Plus, I rarely enjoy prequels anyway. For me: what is the point? They can't change "history"....

Back to SFII the animated movie. Also correct from another review here is the animation/colour style. Mostly more subtle colour, much more pleasing to the eye, given the contemporary setting.

I expected more fights. But was not disappointed as the plot, and more importantly characterisation, were not quite as two-dimensional as expected. Some Manga/Anime goes on and on, past it's want-by date, but I actually could have stood a bit more of this film. Some characters from the game are barely touched (e.g. Blanka, Zangiev, and couple others) in favour of those more central to the story. Not too much one could do about that, as otherwise the film would end up longer than a Bollywood epic. ERGO, I would have preferred sequels from other films not prequels. But that is not a discussion for here!

Summary: A great Anime movie, that won't break into my top three faves, but I'm proud to own nonetheless.

Low point: Guile. Far less effective in the movie than he was in the hands of a skilled player.
High point: Chun-Li vs Vega fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Anime movie ever!, 27 Jan 2004
This review is from: Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe I'm a little biased. After all, my whole life has been consumed withe constant playing of the Street Fighter games series. What can I say, I love them. And this anime encapuslates the game in the best way possible. Van Damme may have ruined it in the live action version, but there is not a single fault I can find in the translation of game to anime. FG=rom the minute it begins, every true Street Fighter fanatic knows that they're in for a treat. It may only be loosely based on the official Street Fighter plot canon, but its own plot is as good as, if not better, than the original story.
Every character is portrayed exactly how they should be: Ryu the honourable warrior,Ken the arrogant champion, Guile the vengeful Colonol, and, best of all, Vega the ultimate psychopath. These are just a few examples, but almost everyone else follows suit(although I don't like what they did to Cammy...so there is a single fault after all). Any SF2 fan will love this anime! If they don't, then they are either crazy, or don't...like...the anime...which is fine I guess...
Well I love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street Fighter 2 - The Animated Movie [1994] [DVD]
£19.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews