Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the British
Anthony Hancock was undoubtedly one of the greatest British comic character actors of all time. His character portrays a melancholy, pompous and argumentative man whose high aspirations are always undone by his own ineptitude. Some of the funniest moments on The Very Best of Hancock occur when Hancock’s limited intelligence and unique view of the world and his...
Published on 19 May 2003 by Ian

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the master commedian is digitized
The master of british comedy, but never recognised as such. I have been listening to Hancock's comedy since my parents introduced me to his acerbic tongue when I was only 7 years old, now 30, I have attempted collected every tape, CD and video available and I must say that I was a little disappointed that only his "solo" material was included this, hopefully...
Published on 28 Dec. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the British, 19 May 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
Anthony Hancock was undoubtedly one of the greatest British comic character actors of all time. His character portrays a melancholy, pompous and argumentative man whose high aspirations are always undone by his own ineptitude. Some of the funniest moments on The Very Best of Hancock occur when Hancock’s limited intelligence and unique view of the world and his rightful place in it is brought to light.
Hancock’s talent is catered for brilliantly by the writing talent of Ray Galton and Alan Simpson whose brilliant scripts include such classic lines as, “a pint. Why that’s very nearly an armful... I’m sorry I’m not walking round with an empty arm for anybody.” The Hancock show ran until 1961, achieving record viewing figures. This DVD contains 5 hilarious episodes including two of his best and most famous, the classics “The Blood Donor” and “The Radio Ham”.
The recent interview with Galton and Simpson included on the Special Features gives a fascinating insight both of Tony Hancock and the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute genius, every show a solid gold gem!, 31 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
At last Hancock gets onto DVD. Five of the final 6 shows he did for the BBC (Why couldn`t they have included the final show?). Aside from that the shows are absolute gems. I`ve lost count of the number of times I`ve watched them over the years and they still make me roll around with laughter. This DVD is a must for everyone`s comedy collection. Don`t think about buying it, just buy it I promise you`ll never regret it;0)
Come on BBC, where`s the next Hancock DVD????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're never alone with a pilchard, 8 May 2007
By 
M. Doherty "Miche" (Hibernia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
In what was effectively the final series of Hancock's Half Hour (named simply Hancock because the running time was cut to 25 minutes with a view to overseas sales), Tony Hancock got rid of the astrakhan, the homburg, East Cheam and even Sidney James - but the pretentious, vainglorious and vulnerable Hancock persona remains. Here he is at the height of his powers: alone in a bedsit trying to get to grips with Bertrand Russell, stuck in a lift with John le Mesurier, getting the boot from a radio show suspiciously reminiscent of the Archers, trying to help a mariner in distress ("Yellowjack!") and, most famously, giving "very nearly an armful" of blood.

It is indeed a pity that the BBC opted to issue a "best of" containing five episodes out of six, leaving The Succession: Son and Heir as the only surviving episode not on DVD (though - whisper it - it's not a great episode). Nonetheless, the five shows on this volume provide terrific entertainment and a masterclass in comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the master commedian is digitized, 28 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
The master of british comedy, but never recognised as such. I have been listening to Hancock's comedy since my parents introduced me to his acerbic tongue when I was only 7 years old, now 30, I have attempted collected every tape, CD and video available and I must say that I was a little disappointed that only his "solo" material was included this, hopefully first of many, DVD collection.
The two original classics that everyone remembers, Blood Donor and Radio Ham, are here in glorious digital quality. The picture quality is excellent, but very little attempt has been made to enhance the sound, and I found myself turning the volume up quite a bit more than normal. Included is my favorite, The Lift. Hancock in absolute storming mode, even with only one small gaff, he basically delivers the lines with such confidence, it makes you wonder how he could ever have doubted his amazing talent.
The interview with Galton and Simpson, while good, it seems as though it was an attempt to "lets capture their thoughts on tape again, as they may not be around for much longer". They tell us nothing we didn't already know, plus it lets slip that it the inclusion of the rather meagre "The Bowmans" episode was only put on to apease Galton and Simpson, as this was their favourite episode to write.
While this is a very good collection, I feel it it really only worthwhile, if you are a die hard fan, if you fancy simply trying on Hancock for size, I would advise you to look into the VHS collections, as this include Hancock's "cross to bear" the late, great Sid James, another great British (South African?) comedic genius, the perfect foil for Hancock's vented frustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Gold, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
First starting out on radio Hancock was soon to take itself to tv. With good comic scripts by Ray Galton and Alan Simpson it works just as well in either format. As these appeared before I was even born I came to Hancock due to my dad having records and then videos of the shows. This dvd contains five classic episodes.

The Bedsitter

This episode only shows Hancock as he finds himself at a loose end with nothing to do, all alone in his bedsit.

The Bowmans

In a parody of The Archers we find Hancock as an actor in the hit radio show. When he is axed from the show due to his always trying to overact, and his continual changing of accents little does the Beeb realise that it will cause such an uproar.

The Radio Ham

Hancock has started up his own radio in his bedsit. Whilst talking to others he comes across a Mayday call. Of course with Hancock, there is no way that it will be that easy to save someone.

The Lift

As Hancock forces himself into a lift, being the ninth person whereas the lift should only hold eight, then you just know it will break down.

The Blood Donor

My personal all time favourite. Hancock decides to give blood, and is rather worried when he finds out that it will be a pint. Of course just giving blood and then forgetting about it isn't in Hancock's books.

All these episodes are in black and white, and to be honest the picture isn't 100% perfect, but these are taken from old recordings and are perfectly watchable. If you are already a fan then you probably already have these episodes in one format or another. If on the other hand you are not, then it is high time that you saw these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last There Here!, 11 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
At long long last we have a nice little DVD with five of the best Hancock's Half Hour, dititally restored and a resonably good sound quality. Obviously the picture cannot be like a modern day film but its pretty close to the mark concidering. It would be nice, somtime in the future to see a DVD with the entire Hancock's Half Hour series, including the ones with Sid James such as The Cold, The Economy Drive and The New Nose. But for now fan will have to make do with this. The episodes which are on this DVD are: The Bedsitter, The Bowmans, The Radio Ham, The Lift, The Blood Donor.
Altogether this is a nice little DVD and deserves a place on anyones shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
Peter Piper (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this would only appeal to real die-hard Hancock fans or fans of 60`s TV humour, ie., oldies like myself looking for a bit of nostalgia. However, once my ten year old son heard about the mangleworzles song, the armful of blood and the radio ham, he was keen to see for himself. Not only that but he was soon laughing out loud.

Very much of its period, it is not as slick, as fast-paced as the comedy shows of the 90's (of course) but the emphasis is very much on Hancock's portrayal of the laconic bachelor life, mixed with his droll, off-beat wit.

Absolutely classic Hancock moments, the dialogue outside the lift, the song in `The Archers' spoof, the `whole armful', and the scramble to find a new valve. The cover picture alone is enough to raise a laugh. A brilliant time-capsule of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lad Himself settles well on DVD, 23 Sept. 2004
By 
M. Emerson "mr_emerson" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
"Hancock's Half Hour manages to do the impossible - it shows it's age yet remains timeless."
This DVD is a beautiful companion volume to the newly released HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR VOLUME ONE.
Let's hope the Beeb recognise the demand and follow this with volume two quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this ! Tony Hancock was a comic genius I remember watching these when I was a child and they're still funny ,the blood donor is a classic well worth buying , !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 22 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD] (DVD)
All of "Hancock" is enjoyable, and some episodes are just stunning. The writing of Galton and Simpson is perfection, but it could never show its greatness without a great performer.

Aside from wonderful episodes like "The Blood donor" which we all love, this contains my personal favourite "The Bowmans", which sits amongst my favourite three comedy half hours with Steptoe and Son's "The Desperate Hours" (also of course written by G&S), and Father Ted's "Speed 3".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tony Hancock - The Very Best of Hancock [DVD]
£4.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews