Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy
This dvd contains five classic episodes of Dad's Army, plus a bonus piece, Selection Box, which contains clips from episodes. All the episodes, filmed between 1969-1973 are in colour, and they are:-

The Deadly Attachment

The day has come when the Home Guard have to take charge over a group of POWs, in this case a German U-Boat crew. A simple task...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by M. Dowden

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality Copy
Arrived Promptly but poor quality video :( Not what we wanted to sit down & watch over the holiday period.
Published 20 months ago by Mary Iannetta


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 11 Mar 2012
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd contains five classic episodes of Dad's Army, plus a bonus piece, Selection Box, which contains clips from episodes. All the episodes, filmed between 1969-1973 are in colour, and they are:-

The Deadly Attachment

The day has come when the Home Guard have to take charge over a group of POWs, in this case a German U-Boat crew. A simple task you may think, but not with Captain Mainwaring in charge. This episode contains those immortal lines:

U-Boat Captain: Vot iss your name?

Captain Mainwaring: Don't tell him, Pike.

Keep Young and Beautiful

Personally, this is my favourite episode of all time. When information comes down from above that older members of the Home Guard could be transferred to the ARP, and all young ARP members transferred to the Home Guard, drastic steps have to be taken. Getting worried, the Guard decide to make themselves look that much younger and fitter.

Never Too Old

Jones' has done it, he has proposed to Mrs Fox. Will she accept and will they have a happy marriage?

Asleep In the Deep

A bomb has fallen on the pumping station, where Walker and Godfrey are trapped. Mainwaring leads a detachment to rescue them, but you just know that things will not be too easy.

Sons of the Sea

With Mainwaring able to get his hands on a large rowing boat there can be only one outcome. River boat patrols for the group, which could play havoc if the Nazis invade. Of course, even taking the boat out once for a training exercise proves too much for the crew.

Jimmy Perry and David Croft wrote here a sitcom that is timeless and brings a smile to everyone's face. Typically British this shows how the Germans would never be able to invade and hold this country, after all we are all nuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good selection of Dads army features., 22 Oct 2001
By 
Robert Redgwell (Savigny Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD for Dads army fans. Firstly, and most importantly the quality of the picture is high. Secondly they have chosen a good selection of episodes. I have two regrets: that they had to show the episode which showed John Le Mesurer (Wilson) after he had suffered a stroke and they did not include the episode on the cricket match which is a classic. However, hopefully this will be remedied in the future. Please re-issue more episodes on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An endearing, warm and charming classic, 17 Mar 2002
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Dad's Army has always had a special place in my heart since being a small boy; each episode shone with a warm charm like a summers day in a quaint English village.The cast selection was excellent, which produced superb performances through out the many shows. The episode selection on the Best Of the Dad's Army dvd was disappointing, as i found some of the most memorable episodes missing, like the "St George & the Dragon episode", other than that Dad's Army will always be a comedy classic that will live on for many generations to come. It is wonderfully written and beautifully acted the show deservedly has my highest rating of 5 stars. Kevin&Judith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 30 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Comedy that stands the test of time. Bought for 83 year old friend for a bit of nostalgia but enjoyed equally by my teenage son! A good compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Comedy., 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. Liversidge "c. liversidge" (Huddersfield,West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
I give this 4 stars as it is based on the same as one has seen before.

Nothing in it to dislike really. As again light hearted comedy.

Recommended for a light hearted laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make 'em Like This Anympore!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Hilarious antics from a fine team of actors - never seems to date. Brilliant plotting and entertaining for young and old alike. Also an education for kids learning about the Second World War at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
A timeless comedy that I enjoy over and over again. I will buy more of these classics in future and would recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well,it has the famous episode we all know, 20 April 2013
By 
Mr. Peter Howe "peterhowe3" (eclectica,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
generally very good,although i feel that as a sampler,there could have been better choices than the 5 episodes here.It does have THAT famous "dont tell him,Pike" episode,and of course,the quality of the acting and the strength of each characters personality are of the ilk we will never see again on,certainly not on BBC television,Timeless and essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a laugh., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
This is so worth having if you just want a pleasant evening being entertained and having a good laugh, as one would expect with any 'Dad's Army' dvd. I would recommend this to everyone who wants cheering up on a winters evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fine collection,with very good picture quality and fairly decent sound quality.Some of the incidental music appears to have been changed for no obvious reason,but otherwise all is present,correct and wonderful fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD]
The Very Best of Dad's Army [DVD] by David Croft (DVD - 2001)
3.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews