Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun that has stood the test of time.
I am not a die hard Steptoe fan, I am too young to have seen them on TV. I was simply looking for something to show my students here in Japan. I thought that it would be dated and stale, how wrong can you be, although these episodes are now 30 years old they still made me laugh, the acting is superb, the scripts timeless. All five episodes are excellent, from the opening...
Published on 11 Feb 2003 by Nigel Drake

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lacklustre effort from the Beeb
If you're a fan of Steptoe & Son and you're replacing your VHS collection, then this disc is worth buying, if only because we're unlikely to see a better effort. The picture quality isn't very good as might be expected with such old material, but the main problem is that a disc with an entire series could have been produced instead of the rag-and-bone collection we...
Published on 31 Oct 2001 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lacklustre effort from the Beeb, 31 Oct 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of Steptoe & Son and you're replacing your VHS collection, then this disc is worth buying, if only because we're unlikely to see a better effort. The picture quality isn't very good as might be expected with such old material, but the main problem is that a disc with an entire series could have been produced instead of the rag-and-bone collection we have here. As there are three episodes from series 7 conspicuously absent even though they've been released on VHS in the past, I can only hope the BBC haven't managed to lose them in recent years, as they've managed to do with so many other Steptoe episodes.
On the plus side, there's what appears to be a recent interview (about 25 minutes long) with Galton and Simpson which is a nice extra.
Encouragingly, the disc calls itself volume 1, so hopefully we can expect some more episodes on DVD soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun that has stood the test of time., 11 Feb 2003
By 
Nigel Drake (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
I am not a die hard Steptoe fan, I am too young to have seen them on TV. I was simply looking for something to show my students here in Japan. I thought that it would be dated and stale, how wrong can you be, although these episodes are now 30 years old they still made me laugh, the acting is superb, the scripts timeless. All five episodes are excellent, from the opening scrabble game to the final curtain, a joy to watch.
I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Galton and Simpson, stand up and take a bow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 3 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
Steptoe & Son was the best comedy (sorry that should say best programme) that the BBC ever made. The writing, acting and production were superb. The Desperate Hours is wonderful as Leonard Rossiter escapes with his father from the scrubs and finds the Steptoe residence as a refuge. Albert and Harold are, of course, even worse off than the escapees and finally Johnny (Rossiter) has to lend Harold a shilling for the meter. Johnny is not amused when Harold says he has no car and offers a horse as a means of escape (well it was good enough for Dick Turpin). Men of Letters is equally strong, as Albert proves he is the definite Scabble player and Harold shows his intellect to the vicar by arguing that Kant was in fact a "berk". All in the best possible taste - no modern comedy effort comes close. This is THE classic. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 July 2004
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
They dont make classic like these any more.Steptoe will always be tops for comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steptoe and Son, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Bernard E. Mcguire "Bold Bear" (Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
Have not watched this series since it was on television; took a little while to get used to again but was enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Vintage Comdey, 28 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
In reality, Wilfred Bramble (Steptoe) and Harry Corbett(Son) never got on with each other. However on camera, they were a formidable duo, and some of the acting seemed so natural, you wonder if all the scenes were performed on the first take itself. The two episodes 'Desperate Hours 'and 'A Star is Born are real gems. Steptoe is indeed a crafty character far more cunning than his son who is doomed to follow 'his old man'.

Menu isn't bad but nice extra is the interviews conducted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black/white or coloured they are all the same to me., 3 Jun 2004
By 
Stephen (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
Steptoe and son is an addictive comedy which proves that bbc comedy is going downhill recently, anyone who witnessed the horror that was Mad about alice bbc's 2004 release of a shameful unfunny and overall sickeningly boring 'comedy' (the word is being used in its loosest sense mind)will know excactly what i'm talking about. Even though Steptoe and son is old it keeps being funny each time you see it. Fair enough it may not be totally 'PC' and unsuitable for new comedies but so was porridge and fawlty towers, two of the best sitcoms ever made. Therefore i suggest strongly that you purchase this hilarious comedy. Ladies and Gentlemen I rest my case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
anything these two do is worth watching i highly recommened steptoe and son to watch for a good of fashion laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars steptoe and son, 28 Feb 2014
By 
T. M. Dennis "tezzer" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
This product was good value for money, and arrived on time with no hassles. There was no hidden costs and overall I am more than satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reliving my tv youth.., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] (DVD)
Steptoe is Steptoe - you'll either love it or hate it!!
But I bet you love it as these are 2 of the most talented actors of that era!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD]
The Very Best of Steptoe and Son [1962] [DVD] by Wilfrid Brambell (DVD - 2001)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews