Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last! a fascinating insight
A truly fascinating insight into the first formative weeks of this groundbreaking and successful series, this tape comprises the rarely-seen early episodes made in black and white due to industrial action in the early 1970s. These show the Bellamy household in an edgy state of flux, with many characters (and even rooms)coming and going. The standout episode is probably...
Published on 1 Jun 2002 by fegMANIA!

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it despite the blemishes
We should be grateful that these new versions of this wonderful classic series have come into being in the last 12 months, Stephen La Riviere has worked long and hard to create commentaries and an ongoing documentary(the fourth part of which is seen here)....It is a shame these new special editions of 'Updown" are marred by a couple of easily remedied mistakes. Firstly...
Published on 6 Oct 2006 by Les G. Solomon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last! a fascinating insight, 1 Jun 2002
By 
fegMANIA! (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A truly fascinating insight into the first formative weeks of this groundbreaking and successful series, this tape comprises the rarely-seen early episodes made in black and white due to industrial action in the early 1970s. These show the Bellamy household in an edgy state of flux, with many characters (and even rooms)coming and going. The standout episode is probably the second, with its razor-sharp script by feminist writer Maureen Duffy.These episodes are quite unlike the later ones in many respects.Also included in colour is the original opening episode, with its ending mercifully intact...this is why 'Series 1-The Colour Edition' didn't quite make sense within its own continuity! A must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evocative, 10 Feb 2007
By 
R. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an astonishingly evocative portrayal of life during World War I. The writers and directors interviewed WWI survivors in order to make the episodes as realistic and convincing as possible, and based on accounts I heard from elderly relatives when I was a child it seems that the period has been captured very well indeed. The episode whereby Georgina observes the hospital trains returning from France bearing wounded soldiers is very powerful, as are the scenes in which Christopher Beeny portrays a shell-shocked young soldier so very movingly. Daisy and Hazel suffer stoically at home as their husbands risk their lives abroad, an ageing and patriotic Hudson is desperate to do his bit, as is the simple Ruby, who courageously applies for a role in a munitions factory, despite the danger of being targeted by enemy bombs.

Series Four made me feel rather humble and in me it brought about a new respect for the people who lived through that challenging time. It also taught me a great deal about the history and politics of the period without being tedious or preachy - there are still funny interludes and interesting stories about the personal lives of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who will win the Peace?, 3 Sep 2001
By A Customer
There is a liveliness in this sequence of eight episodes that has been absent from the series since Lady Marjorie Bellamy died on the Titanic in 1912. The bloodbath of the Great War has been over for almost two years as we step through the familiar front door of 165 Eaton Place. Virginia Hamilton, now Viscountess Bellamy, returns from her European honeymoon without the slightest intention of taking on the rôle of mistress of Eaton Place, a position left vacant by the death of James Bellamy's wife, Hazel. Is it she or Richard, accustomed to the 'political wife' of the Edwardian era, who emerges victorious in the battle of the sexes?
The characters of James Bellamy, Georgina Worsley, and the former Lady Diana Russell, bored with marriage to good old Bunny, Marquess of Newbury, illustrate the madcap merriment of the twenties, a time when all's fair in love as it had been in war. The residents of the Servants' Hall, too, seek a freshness, a vitality in their lives and relationships. Even Ruby, still elevenpence ha'penny short of a bob, demands her place in the post-war world, defying the senior staff to find a 'Rudolf Valentino' of her very own! The joie de vivre is always short-lived. That love so often lies bleeding suggests that war has given way to a tug-of-war between past and present, a conflict in which characters old and new, above and below stairs, are inextricably involved.
This is one of the most enjoyable "Upstairs Downstairs" series, inviting the viewer to share the social tension as the old world lies shot to pieces, yet never saying die, as a new order struggles into life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series ever made, 20 Oct 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Series 1 (The Colour Edition) [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Upstairs Downstairs is my absolute favourite serie, I've taped them all and believe me it's quite a lot of tape, but I watch it over and over again !!! It takes me to a time I would have loved to live in, life was more relaxed then and so many novelties were about to be discovered! I imagine myself also working downstairs with Rose, Mrs.Bridges, Mr. Hudson and all the others.
Allthough they 'fight' a lot among each other, they form a family of their one..they go through so much together and with the Bellamy Family!!! I can't help myself..I love that series!!
Finally it's appearing on DVD and I can watch it over and over again....super!!!!!!!!!
Frans Berkers - Holland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent viewing but picture sometimes disappointing, 4 April 2003
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Series 1 (The Colour Edition) [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this series again that I hadn't seen for 20 years, when I last watched it dubbed on German TV. It is interesting to see how dramatic styles have changed in that time - there was more dialogue and a lot more for actors to get their teeth into than there is these days on television drama. The characters are strongly drawn and imaginatively played. Mrs. Bridges a legend in her own lunchtime and Mr. Hudson a staunch Scottish fuddy-duddy. The wayward Elizabeth is also a piece of brilliant casting.
However sometimes I found the picture quality disappointing - there were sudden jumps in the picture and the sound that plainly has nothing to do with our player as other DVD's are fine. What a shame and the only slight niggle I have. Still looking forward to the other DVD's in this series though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More ups & downs for the Bellamy's and their staff!, 16 Aug 2001
You can't help but feel sorry for the Bellamy household as nothing ever seems to be straightforward for them, and they have certainly had more than their fair share of tragedy over the years. Series 5 (part 1) focusses on the years directly after the end of World War 1, as the household embraces the 1920's. Drama unfolds as Lord Richard Bellamy and his new wife Virginia argue strongly about where to live. James Bellamy is lonely and he asks them to move back into Eaton Place with him. He fears that with just him and Georgina Worsley in the house the staff have too little to do, and he feels he may have to give them all notice and then sell the house. Richard wants to move back in but Virginia does not, especially with her young children to consider. Richard quickly learns that Virginia is certainly a force to be reckoned with! James Bellamy decides to enter politics, but will he find the right constituency to represent? Should he really follow in his Father's footsteps or should he listen to sound advice first? Georgina also decides that a wild party would be fun, but unfortunately tragedy once again envelopes Eaton Place. The new governess meets her match and realises that in the end she will never triumph over the formidable Rose Buck, newly appointed lady's maid to Lady Virginia Bellamy! Mr Hudson also learns a harsh lesson regarding other members of household staff, and it is a bitter pill to swallow, even for him. There is an awful lot of drama, fun and excitement contained in these first eight episodes of the final series of Upstairs Downstairs. Although I am too young to remember it when it originally aired I have found it gripping to watch on these reissued videos. I consider this a first class drama series and would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, wasted opportunity, 19 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. J. P. Clarkson "jonathanclarkson" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Series 1 (The Colour Edition) [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Upstairs, Downstairs has truly stood the test of time. Not only do the scripts still remain shining examples of dramatic writing (the first episide is by Fay Weldon) but the majority of the performances from the regulars remain brilliantly observed and often very moving, particularly Rachel Gurney as Lady Marjorie and the series' creator Jean Marsh as Rose.
As a DVD though, I was rather disappointed. The picture could have done with being cleaned up, especially on the first two episodes, and it's such a shame that no effort had been made to include any features from the original cast and crew, most of whom are still alive and were reunited for a TV interview last year. I would have thought Marsh in particular would have been interested in something like this. It's to be hoped that further DVD releases take more advantage of what this medium offers.
This frustration notwithstanding, it's an amazing piece of work and worth owning. British drama at it's best - fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'hen's teeth' from 'Upstairs Downstairs!!, 2 July 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
These episodes are from season one, which are the five black and white episodes that were originally 'interspersed' with the colour ones. This was because filming had been interrupted by the infamous Strike which had resulted in the said episodes not being done in colour. As a consequence, they have become much sought after and rarely seen. They were only ever aired the once by ITV - their original showing, despite any subsequent re-runs of the series there may have been. As Jean Marsh (Rose) once told me; these black and white episodes were among some of the best that were ever done! They will also help to fill in gaps for those who never saw them, and as to what happened during those missing years: 1903 - 1907, and also will reveal the destiny of some of the characters that appeared to 'vanish' for no apparent reason; some of whom later returned, and others who were never seen again...

This first season is what certainly resulted in 'Upstairs, Downstairs' taking off in the way that it did, and becoming such a massive success. It was an immediate 'hit' with the viewers, and the closing episode which left the son of the household involved in a scandalous affair with one of the housemaids, and the daughter, his sister, marrying a homosexual poet, was certainly guaranteed to bring viewers back for the second season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daring and heartbreaking view of The Great War, 1 Jun 2002
By 
fegMANIA! (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
LWT were very brave to devote the whole fourth series to The War, but after watching this I can say that the risk more than paid off. Here we have a view if the war not often seen on TV, as most of the episodes concern those left behind. Not one of the regular characters remains untouched by the terrible events, almost always with heartbreaking consequences.But don't let that put you off; the stories are very moving but not depressing...the writing and performances make sure of that, as do the moments of humour that are never far away. In this and the following volume, the series was at the height of its powers. If you want a drama you can really feel involved by, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent soap opera, entertainment through history, 23 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This whole series is an illustration of the current "dumbing down" of British television. This was prime time viewing in the early 1970s and yet it demanded a certain amount of background historical knowledge and a degree of concentration to follow the story lines. Particularly impressive is how the parallel stories were told. The viewer is equally interested in the upstairs and downstairs characters and events.All of the characters are well drawn and consistent throughout the whole series. Beautifully acted as well. One would have to single out Hudson, Rose Mrs. Bridges and Mr Bellamy. I defy anyone not to be engaged by the characters and the plots of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upstairs Downstairs - Series 1 (The Colour Edition) [DVD] [1971]
£9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews