Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true roots of R&B
This album brings us the type of music which has inspired a whole generation of HIP-HOP and R&B stars, you can tell as oon as you hear this album that Marvin Gaye was one of the greatest performers to ever grace the music scene! it includes clasics like Mercy Mercy Me and also some inspiring duets. This is an album for all ages and i doubt that no one who listens to...
Published on 25 Sep 2000

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another missed opportunity for a full hit overview
This CD is both fantastic but at the same time very flawed..at least if you are looking for a full overview of Marvin's UK hit singles. The ommisson of 'The Onion Song', 'Abraham, Martin and John (utterly unforgiveable), and the mid '70s Diana Ross and Mavin Gaye Duets such as 'You're My Everything', mean that this CD dissapoints. However, what this CD does offer is a...
Published on 27 July 2004 by Martin R. Wedge


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The true roots of R&B, 25 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This album brings us the type of music which has inspired a whole generation of HIP-HOP and R&B stars, you can tell as oon as you hear this album that Marvin Gaye was one of the greatest performers to ever grace the music scene! it includes clasics like Mercy Mercy Me and also some inspiring duets. This is an album for all ages and i doubt that no one who listens to it will say otherwise a truly clisic album bringing together some of the great man's biggest hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Marvin Gaye, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
Marvin Gayes' untimely death in 1984 left a big void in music. Marvin Gaye had become one of the most influential singer and songwriters in soul music history. His diligent work had tremendous depth, making profound political statements and social commentary as well as having a poignant and spiritual edge.
Marvin Gayes' recording career spans back to the dawn of the swinging sixties when Motown Records was beginning to make its mark in the world by becoming commonly known as "the sound of young America". The fantastic Stubborn Kind Of Fellow was one of his very best early hits. The formulaic though enduring Motown sound is fully at work on this classic with Gayes' distinctive vocals seamlessly surfboarding along the somwhat complex musical arrangements.
Hitch Hike, Can I Get A Witness? and Too Busy Thinking About My Baby also encapsulates that familiar and distinct Motown sound of its golden era in the 1960's and all three are instantly contagious from the musical arrangements to gayes rocketing vocal performances that was in a class and style of its own.
During Motowns golden era of the 1960's, Gaye worked with many of the labels most talented female singers. His phenomenal duet with the underated Kim Weston on the sparse, It Takes Two, sounds just as fresh and as vibrant as it was back then. But it was the divine Tammi Terrell (who was married to David Ruffin, one-time lead singer of The Temptations) that he found his perfect duet partner.
Gaye and Terrell cut many albums and succesful hit singles together with their diverse blend of harmonies gelling neatly into the sexually sizzling productions. Some of their greatest duets include You're All I Need To Get By, Ain't No Mountain High Enough ( the latter being a total contrast to the more famous version Diana Ross took to the top of the charts in 1970), You Ain't Livin Till Your Lovin' and The Onion Song.
Gayes recording work in the late 60's vastly matured growing much more unique and phenomenal. He really hits his stride on the masterpiece, chart-topping mega-classic, I Hear It Through The Grapevine. The compelling opening interlude leads into a rocking and sparse production with Gayes stirring, soulful delivery complimenting the startling arrangements. Gaye really carries off I Heard It Through The Grapevine with style and finesse and this was but a mere taste of things to come.
Whilst his recording work progressed the sound of his music became more refined and stylized. He delivered what was possibly his greatest ever album in 1971 with What's Going On. That album neraly didn't happen as Motown boss Berry Gordy was unsure as to how his buying public might react to Gayes new, creative force. Well, if anything, this merely fuelled Gayes record sales and critics alike joined in to praise the genius. What's Going On completely shook off his more familiar sound of the 60's, exploring relevant environmental issues that also made some form of political comment as well as profound social commentary.
Gaye is put more in touch with his spiritual side on the timeless and poignant Mercy,Mercy Me which, with its rolling arrangements that has a really sharp, soulful edge, conveys Gayes vocal power which was simply going from strength to strength.
In 1973 he recorded a successful album of duets with the queen of Motown, Diana Ross. The highlight of this project was the breathtaking, You Are Everything. From that magical, exotic opening intro to the fittingly refined vocal delivery of Ross to Gayes more forceful, aggressive delivery, You Are Everything is THE ultimate love duet!
The evocative Lets Get It On taken from the excellent album of the same name, is one of my own personal favourite tracks. Gaye is in full romantic mood here with his exuberant delivery sounding highly sexually charged. This merley coats the smooth arrangements that features glorious saxophone interludes played at various points on the recording.
Gaye moved into funkier terriotry in the late 70's and reached its pinnacle on tracks such as the startlingly effective Got To Give It Up. With its multi-layered musical arrangements, dubbed crowd noises that sounds as though it was recorded live in a nightclub to Gayes impeccable delivery, it perfectly demenonstrated Gayes wonderful craft of versatlity.
One of Gayes last signature tunes had to be the timeless, sensual and utterly divine Sexual Healing. Gayes raw, earthy delivery rides along the state-of-the-art production and this was featured on his last studio album, Midnight Love which was his first (and last) for CBS Records following his departure from Motown records.
This two Cd collection collects together all of these classics that are all compelling musically and really give you an understanding as to why his work has remained unparralled and such an inspiration to todays new generation of wannabe soul/r&b singers. ESSENTIAL!
Ian Phillips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent career-spanning compilation, 20 May 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
This comprehensive collection contains all Marvin's important American hits as well as highlighting other aspects of his music, including his political songs of the seventies. His British hits were sometimes different from his American hits. Three UK top ten hits are missing, though as this is an American compilation, there is no reason why they should have been included. Abraham Martin and John was an American hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles - perhaps it was felt that Marvin's version was better for the UK market. You are everything, a duet with Diana Ross, made the UK top five. Onion song, a duet credited as being with Tammi Terrell but recorded with a stand-in, made the UK top ten.
The classic American hits (not all of which charted in Britain) are all here including Can I get a witness, How sweet it is, I'll be doggone, Ain't that peculiar, I heard it through the grapevine, Too busy thinking about my baby, That's the way love is. What's going on, Mercy mercy me, Trouble man, Let's get it on and Got to give it up. Some of his duets are here, too, including Ain't no mountain high enough, Your precious love, If I could build my whole world around you, Ain't nothing like the real thing, You're all I need to get by (all with Tammi Terrell) and It takes two (with Kim Weston).
Marvin always considered himself a balladeer like Frank Sinatra or Nat King Cole rather than a typical R+B singer, but his early attempts to establish himself in this role were not a success. Eventually, he did gain acceptance as a balladeer after proving that he could do the R+B material - compare his definitive version of I heard it through the grapevine with the Gladys Knight version, released a year earlier. Marvin actually recorded the song before Gladys but Berry Gordy initially rejected his version. It shows what perseverance can do.

Marvin once again had Berry Gordy worried when he completed his anti-Vietnam album, What's going on. Motown had always been primarily a singles label so this album was completely alien to the marketing department, although it appears that many people at Motown loved it. Once again, Marvin was right. The album was a huge success and three of its tracks are here - they are the first three on CD 2.
This double-CD is a nice introduction to the music of Marvin Gaye, one of the finest soul singers of the twentieth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best single CD of Marvin�s music, 16 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
You cannot fit all of Marvin's hits on a single CD but this collection has most of the essentials. From a British perspective, one advantage that this has over the double CD (Very best of, which was compiled in America but released in both the UK and USA) is that it includes three UK top ten hits that are not on the double CD, these being Onion song (supposedly with Tammi Terrell, though Tammi was too ill to record the song and a sound-alike substituted), You are everything (with Diana Ross) and Abraham Martin and John (which was an American hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, not Marvin Gaye).
There is no room on this CD to explore Marvin's career in depth, but it does contain all his important British hits (some minor hits have been omitted) and on that basis, it provides an excellent overview of Marvin's career. Nevertheless, before buying this, you may wish to compare it with the double CD, Very best of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Marvin sings it makes you wanna get it on, 2 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
To say that Marvin Gaye was one of the greatest artists of all time is somewhat demeaning to the power and the emotion he puts into all of the songs on this CD, from the pop bubblegum of Hitch Hike and How sweet it is, to his Duets with his soul mate Tammi Terrell including the beautiful Ain't no mountain high enough and the Lesser known of his classics like Ego tripping out and Trouble man, this record has it all in abundance, you can tell when he sings his duets he really does feel for these women and the way Marvin sings his love songs he can melt the hearts of even the hardened heavy metal thrash head.
Billie holiday is the only person that belts out more emotion into her songs and it's not just a coincidence that both of them were troubled souls.
It seems the harder your life is the greater the artist (just look at westlife).
In retrospect all Marvin has to do for me is open his mouth and I can here love and emotion, he serenades me all the way and there is no-one else like him ever to walk on the stage.Thank-you Marvin Gaye for the hours of musical pleasure you have given me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm???????????????????????, 20 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
Well I honestly wasn't 100% sure if i'd like this one, the only Marvin Gaye song I actually knew was I heard it through the grapevine and not much else, but having deciding to give some soul music a try after hearing Stevie Wonder for the first time properly and being more than pleasantly surprised I decided in my wisdom to try a bit of Marvin Gaye and once again I was very pleasantly surprised, if you're unsure of the music of Marvin Gaye then buy this greatest hits package, i've since bought a few more of his albums after listening to this, of all the greatest hits albums of Marvin's I think this is by far the best one, it's 2 discs and it includes un-released songs .... AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH ... JUST BUY IT ................. NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start, 9 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album covering Gaye's Motown and more soul periods. It has some live tracks and an amazing version of 'His eye is on the sparrow'. It has two discs of such great music that you are engaged right to the end and you're left feeling every song nearly as much as Gaye did when he sung them! Highly recommended as a starting place to Gaye's music.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Good Compilation of a Maestro Vocalist's work, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
This compilation is a brilliant gateway into the music of Marvin Gaye for anyone who is curious what all the fuss and adulation is about. As a previous reviewer stated, the album is in itself a tour of music through three decades and also a tour across styles, but always, always soulful. Uncompromising natural talent. The brother is a soul singer's soul singer, a man who you could listen to at least once a month for the rest of your life as a sort reconfirmation of what it's all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Marvin!, 12 Mar 2009
By 
M. Cumming (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You can't get more soul or a sweeter sound than Marvin Gaye's voice. This is a real must if you want something to touch your heart and soul and relax into some amazing feelings. Buy it or you're a fool missing out on some legendary songwriting...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How bittersweet it is, 8 Sep 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye (Audio CD)
Marvin Gaye was the proud if tortured possessor of one of the most soulful, moving and beautiful voices in twentieth century popular music.
This is an exemplary 2-CD compilation of songs from throughout his career, from his early Motown hits such as Stubborn Kind Of Fellow, How Sweet It Is, and Ain`t That Peculiar (which have never sounded as crisp as on this remaster) to the impassioned later masterpieces from LPs like What`s Going On, Let`s Get It On, and Midnight Love.
I am so grateful to the compilers, not only for including several of his duets with Kim Weston and Tammi Terrell - the wonderful It Takes Two, unforgettable You`re All I Need To Get By, and emotive Your Precious Love - but for excluding both his duet with Diana Ross, You Are Everything, and The Onion Song, neither of which I`ve ever liked much. I don`t miss Abraham, Martin and John too much, though there would have been plenty of room for it as the first disc is less than an hour long (while CD2 is packed to the gills) and it would have been good to have it.
What you do get is a couple of hours of heaven from one of the great voices. Marvin Gaye could be smooth as silk one minute, sexily soulful the next, then gutsily abrasive a moment later. Only Al Green and Otis have that fluid, sinuous quality to such an extent.
If CD1 is the earlier, more obviously commercial stuff, CD2 is where he really takes flight. Three tracks apiece from What`s Going On (political) and Let`s Get It On (sexual, and my favourite Gaye record) plus the title tracks from Trouble Man and I Want You, along with his last major hit, the immortal Sexual Healing.
Along the way there are many other gems, including a rather lovely traditional spiritual song, His Eye Is On The Sparrow, a fine song called You, and a smattering of stray late tracks that got away, or haven`t been heard much.
The six-minute live version of Distant Lover is so impassioned it`s almost too much to bear, and it sounds like the frenzied audience felt the same way.
The twelve-minutes of Got To Give It Up are, with the best will in the world, rather repetitive.
It all ends with Sexual Healing - which is as it should be! - though I would have liked one or two more tracks from Midnight Love. To hear Marvin sing that first miraculous "Bay-bee..." still makes my spine tingle.
Compilers seldom get it right, at least in my experience, but this collection does Marvin proud. It isn`t perfect, but it`s around two hours of one of soul music`s most expressive voices, complex personalities, and passionate souls.

I needed the shelter of someone`s arms
and there you were...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye
The Very Best Of Marvin Gaye by Marvin Gaye (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews