Customer Reviews


433 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every child should have one of these
This sort of toy is absolutely superb. We have had one of these for years and it is STILL used almost every day by my boys aged 7 and 9....there are not many toys that last like this !Obviously great for encouraging handwriting but also great for playing games - look no further for the perfect toy.
Published on 1 Aug. 2007 by Mrs. C. J. Cubbon

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like they used to
I bought this for my son after getting one a few years earlier for my daughter from a charity shop. The original is brilliant with an automatic wipe function (pull the arm down and it slowly goes back up). As numerous other people have mentioned this one does not have the auto retract, meaning that you have to do it yourself; not a major issue you would think but the...
Published 6 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like they used to, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
I bought this for my son after getting one a few years earlier for my daughter from a charity shop. The original is brilliant with an automatic wipe function (pull the arm down and it slowly goes back up). As numerous other people have mentioned this one does not have the auto retract, meaning that you have to do it yourself; not a major issue you would think but the advantage of the auto one is the slow pace at which it retracts, and the force on the back of the screen so that it wipes in one sweep (two if there's a lot of scribbles). The new one wipes ok if you move it slowly, but you also have to pull the arm as you move it to get a good clean, an anoyance for an adult but practically impossible for a 2.5 year old to do.

All in all this one sits in the corner and the old one gets squabbled over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every child should have one of these, 1 Aug. 2007
By 
Mrs. C. J. Cubbon (Stafford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
This sort of toy is absolutely superb. We have had one of these for years and it is STILL used almost every day by my boys aged 7 and 9....there are not many toys that last like this !Obviously great for encouraging handwriting but also great for playing games - look no further for the perfect toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous toy., 1 Jan. 2004
By 
Fran (Isle of Man United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
This drawing board has provided hours of fun for our 7yr. old daughter who has downs syndrome. It is extremely durable and she takes it everywhere with her using it to communicate, to get people to draw on it for her& to amuse herself. Her dexterity has improved considerably and she just loves it. We now have it nine months and it is still going strong. Before we bought it we had other drawing boards which could not compete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lasting favourite, 30 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
Had this for over a year now and it's still a firm favourite with all 3 of my kids, ranging from 21 months to 7 years (the eldest plays hangman on it). Like the other reviewer said it's great for car trips. The pen being on a string means it doesn't get lost, but we have lost one of the four stamper shapes as they are not attached. This toy is very durable. It's been trodden on, thrown about and had drinks spilled on it, but still works fine. Easy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Alan White (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
Nice and big... but the only problem is that, aside from the cheap plastic, our one started leaking iron filings out of the front. Which is not particularly safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do you ever get the feeling you are been ripped off?, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
Aunty Ange (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
As a childminder I usually have about three or four of these. A couple of them were just about unusable as they get a lot of use and were not rubbing out very well any more so I bought one in December (from Argos - sorry amazon but can't seem to review it on their site) and it no longer has an automatic return on the screen wiper so I thought it might be broken already.

I found the telephone number for Tomy and when I called I was told that it wasn't broken, the automated ones were costing too much to make and therefore they had changed them. This is a rip off as the quality is not as good as the previous ones (the screen is not as tough as if they press a bit hard you can see the words they have written scratched on the plastic and they don't rub out as well as they used to) and they no longer have the automatic return and yet they have not got any cheaper - yes there are discounts about but they are around the same price as they have been for the last five years taking inflation into account and there is nothing on any of the product details to say they have changed them.

I will not be buying any more megasketchers, I will be trying other models instead - I have purchased about ten in the last three years and previously thought they were great.....

Hope this is helpful to anyone looking to buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never run out of paper again!, 7 Sept. 2001
By 
tobe (Slough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
This is a lot of fun at first, but after time can still be pulled out in an emergency (especially travel) to give them something to do. A particularly good thing about this one is that it comes with little stamps, too, as well as the standard pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad quality, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
Really surprised at the low quality of this toy - expected better from the brand. The lines of the swiper are visible under the screen; it takes several swipes back and forth to erase; it's flimsy and cheap-looking. It seems like something you'd buy from the pound shop, not something you'd pay over £10 for. Very disappointed. Wish we'd gone for another brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original Sketcher. Screen now far too soft., 14 Feb. 2014
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
On first appearance the Tomy Magasketcher looks great. Lovely, large sized screen, a carrying handle and funky colours. The 'magic pen' is secured by string so it doesn't get lost and is nicely shaped to allow for some fine line detailing. The sketcher has 4 magnetised pattern stamps however, and here comes the real review, they've changed the format of the screen from a hard surface to a thin, pliant, soft plastic sheet that wobbles about and makes erasing the sketches difficult. You have to move the eraser bar a dozen times or more to clear drawings and even then there are shadows left behind. The only way to quickly erase the sketch is to put your hand down flat on the screen while the eraser bar moves up and down underneath it - useless for tiny hands and fingers. Kids got really bored, really fast, because they can't erase their sketches and what's worse; the quality of the screen is so poor the lines are blurred and grey with little definition. I've given 3* simply because the Sketcher works and does what it should but this version is nowhere as good as the original and we're not impressed. In fact the kids got their original Etch A Sketch out of the cupboard, even though it's broken, and played with that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Built to last, 30 Sept. 2007
By 
Jonathan Gregson (Wirral, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: TOMY Megasketcher (Toy)
Solid, robust construction. Going well almost three years later. Educational toy - helping our daughter with her drawing and writing. No worries about drawing on walls with felt tips especially with a 2 year old brother.
They love it so much we had to buy another one for him.
Recommended for hours of fun and learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TOMY Megasketcher
£12.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews