Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's One They Made Earlier...When They Knew How To Do It
17th century comic strip capers in southern France in one of several series that the BBC, in its infinite wisdom, imported from the continent as part of the memorable "Tales from Europe" anthology, and which lay in wait for Blue Peter viewers on Monday evenings during the Golden Age of children's television. Enjoy a satisfying wallow in nostalgia with this excellent...
Published on 2 Jan 2005 by Mr. Simon C. Lewis

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You've got to fight for what you want..."
Great to see this historical drama series again after 35+ years; it was one of my childhood favourites from the early 70s! Swashbuckling adventures of the Chevalier de Recci set against the backdrop of a Franco-Spanish war. French dubbed into English and that memorable title song. The only problem I had with the DVD (apart from the fact that the final episode was in...
Published on 3 July 2009 by Mr. Mungo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's One They Made Earlier...When They Knew How To Do It, 2 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
17th century comic strip capers in southern France in one of several series that the BBC, in its infinite wisdom, imported from the continent as part of the memorable "Tales from Europe" anthology, and which lay in wait for Blue Peter viewers on Monday evenings during the Golden Age of children's television. Enjoy a satisfying wallow in nostalgia with this excellent double DVD which will evoke the good old days when summers had never been so happy and sunny. Relive the thrills, the clash of swords, the famous theme song, the quaint costumes and amusing hairstyles, the highly-strung cleric Bodinelli (they're well worth buying it for), and the love (Isabelle de Sospel - aah, François, you lucky devil!). Then recall the arguments with parents that it wasn't a foreign film ("Simon, it's dubbed." "But they're all speaking English." "Yes, but..."). It was some time before I was eventually convinced that it was indeed a French creation. Exquisitely filmed, although you do see a road sign (Roundabout ahead) whizz past as the dashing Lone Ranger de Recci and Tonto-type Guillot make their first cavalier charge across the fields. Occasionally weighed down with excessive diplomatic and military chinwagging - the defenders of Fort Casal spend far more time talking about fighting to the last man than actually doing so - and it all seems a tad too involved at times for a children's series, each episode nonetheless serves up enough action sequences to keep the kiddies entertained, always ensuring that the good guys win the day. The final episode, which I had never previously seen, offers a brief glimpse of how the rest of the series must have appeared when first shown in France: complete French dialogue, the original theme tune and title (Le Chevalier Tempête), as well as a strikingly richer colour quality. A splendid piece of vintage drama from which present-day programme makers could easily take their cue, if they had any light in their lantern, and which also qualifies for that most exclusive of epitaphs: "We shall not see their like again". An essential purchase for anyone who would relish being transported back to those halcyon days of the late 1960s, because we shan't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Flashing Blade, 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Re-live the excitement of your youth with this BBC TV childrens production.
Originally shot in French and then dubbed into English to be first shown in 1969.
In full colour it is exactly as I remember it, full of excitement and daring do by Francois and his Flashing Blade.
I was disappointed by the fact that there was no French option so that I could finally find out exactly what was going on rather than relying on the BBC story, although there is a major treat with Episode 12 which is in French with English subtitles.
Watch this with an eye for nostalgia and see if you can spot the road sign in episode 1!
Buy it you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Swashbucling Romantic Adventure, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
For those who remember 1969 for Neil Armstrongs landing on the moon,who can forget the brilliance of this adventure story:watching it now nearly 30 years on it is a journey back to carefree days; yet its message of genuine heroics againts the odds sadly rings true today. But never mind, hooray for the chevalier and his ill coiffeuerd Guillot,hooray for the Abbe Mazarin and the cure Bodinelli, and boos for Alonso,and boos and hisses for the pig dog RIcardo!!!!!Sit back and enjoy,even though we'd all re edit the sound track to make more of Berlioz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this series as a teenager and found it fascinating then, now i am 47 i still found it brilliant, it is not everyone's cup of tea but i loved it especially the signature tune which i haved played many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars those were the days my friends, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD]Imagine my joy when I found out that the Flashing Blade had been re released, I was always watching this during the school holidays in late 69 and early 70's and can still remember the theme tune.
Utterly Brilliant. This and the Banana Splits every Saturday morning. It was the best of times, it was a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy days!, 8 Sep 2011
By 
G. Malloy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD to remind myself of simpler times, of board games, walking to school, riding bikes, when kids were scared of policemen! I'm glad I did because I don't remember the last episode at all, but I won't spoil it for you! Aaah! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliving my childhood, 12 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved The Flashing Blade when I watched it over the summer mornings of my childhood holidays. I still love this series. In an ideal world I would be able to see it all in its original French version as well, but here we have the final 12th episode, never shown in the UK dubbed run, in French.

It's a great swashbuckler. Thank you Network.

DR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Adventure, 10 July 2010
By 
J. M. Harman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Although I missed this series when originally issued, I caught up with these programmes in the 1980`s. The episodes were transmitted on Sunday mornings and I thoroughly enjoyed them for several reasons: the action and adventure, also,as a horse-lover, I particularly admired the way in which the programme makers` trained these magnificent animals to "lie-down" on cue and above all, the breath-taking beauty of Genevieve Casile in the role of Isobel!

That in itself makes this series worth watching!

John Harman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie for Oldies., 17 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. C. Robson (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Dont think the kids of today will go for this, its for the Oldie's Brigade. A cup of coffe & biscuit, put the feet up, & have a half hour a day of oldie memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've got to fight for what you want..., 25 April 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD] (DVD)
Nowadays, if the BBC were to buy a twelve part serial from another european country, it would be shown late at night on BBC2 and attract a small but very loyal cult audience.

Back around forty years ago they would buy children's drama series from europe. Dub them into English. And show them again and again during school holiday times as schedule fillers.

And like all the modern imports, shows that were broadcast in that way back then have also got small but very loyal cult followings.

DVD allows you to relive memories of these programmes all over again.

One such mainstay of school holiday tv was a french serial called the Flashing Blade. Set in the seventeenth century, at a time of war between France and Spain. A french castle on the border is under heavy siege. But a truce in the fighting is imminent. Only the Spanish commander would rather that his troops take the fort before fighting ceases.

The only hope for the defenders may lie in the Chevalier De Recci, a daring swordsman, and his trusty servant Guillot. They undertake a dangerous mission to bring aid to the fort. And find themselves caught up in conflict. On the battlefield and in the arena of church and politics.

Meanwhile, as the Spanish prepare for one last mass assault on the fort, time is running out for the defenders. Can the Chevalier save the day?

Swashbuckling action in here is sporadic, but very good when it comes. It does manage a pretty decent portrayal of military combat of the time. And of the political scheming as well. Although this version is dubbed into English it succeeds because it's a very good dub, with all the voices fitting the characters well. Especially in the case of the scheming papal envoy.

With betrayals and scheming and daring escapes and time running out, it becomes more exciting the more you get into it. And it's worth watching one episode every so often rather than in a row, as that will only heighten the anticipation.

This does actually stand up well for adults - all those who saw this back in the day now being of that age - because the story is strong enough and grown up enough for them as well. All in all, it's a cracking good yarn and it should bring back great memories. And start some fantastic new ones.

And it does have one of the best theme tunes ever, which you won't be able to get out of your head for a while.

Although this runs for twelve episodes, the final part - which acts as an epilogue to the whole thing, although the end of part eleven is pretty much self contained - never got repeated very often. As a result the version of it you see here is the original French one. And it's in French with English subtitles. The picture quality is also a bit weak compared to the other episodes, but it's perfectly watchable. And it has the original theme tune from the French version, which is interestingly different.

There are no subtitles at all available on any of the other episodes. And the only language option on those is English.

There are two discs in the box. Each has six parts on them. All parts run for twenty three minutes. You can choose to watch all parts in a row, or one at a time. And if you do the latter then it allows direct scene access to selected points in the episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flashing Blade: The Complete Series [1967] [DVD]
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews