Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully restored version of the Lost World
This is a wonderful DVD containing a restored version of the 1925 First National movie The Lost World. This version is a combination of a nearly complete print found in the Czech Republic in 1992 and the existing video tape version. It took over 6 years to restore and the results are beautiful.
The extra features are nice as well. There is a scrolling bio on Sir...
Published on 13 Jan 2002 by Michael W. Miller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a few grizzles.
Just so there is no misunderstanding this review is for the Eureka release, the one with the yellow background and an artists rendition of three of the characters on the cover.

Back in the 60s, before the Czech version was discovered in Prague I had an 8mm, five reel version of this film and I remember it well. On viewing this version I see that the missing...
Published on 13 Aug 2011 by Fussy Bloke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully restored version of the Lost World, 13 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful DVD containing a restored version of the 1925 First National movie The Lost World. This version is a combination of a nearly complete print found in the Czech Republic in 1992 and the existing video tape version. It took over 6 years to restore and the results are beautiful.
The extra features are nice as well. There is a scrolling bio on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 12 minutes of Lost World dinosaur outtakes (found in Warner Brothers Stock Footage), and photos of items from the orginal press kit. The movie also contains a modern score and a traditional score. The title cards are new and it runs are the correct projection speed. This version contains about 30 minutes of additional footage that isn't on video cassette versions. A must for Sci Fi movie collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "My brontosaurus has escaped! Keep off the streets - until I recapture it!", 15 April 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
Willis O. Brien's special effects are still surprisingly good and way ahead of the 1960 version even if he was to perfect them further in King Kong (for which this film feels almost like a dress rehearsal at times), giving this first version of Arthur Conan Doyle's yarn an epic scale in the volcanic eruption and stampede sequences, while Wallace Beery is a perfect choice for Professor Challenger, embodying the gruff, belligerent nature of the character to a tee. There are changes to the novel - not only is Bessie Love brought along on the expedition to search for her lost father (with none of the comic relief chauvinism from Challenger found in the 1960 version) but the pterodactyl that terrifies the streets of London has been changed to a lumbering Brontosaurus, which is certainly a change for the better - but then Doyle's book is rather light on plot to begin with. The dinosaurs aren't as well integrated into the story as you might hope - usually it's cutaways to herds of dinosaurs in their natural habitat - and the racial stereotyping from Jules Cowles' blackface routine as 'Zambo' is painfully embarrassing and horribly unfunny (sample dialogue on seeing campfire smoke from the plateau: "That means our folks is still alive." "It may mean dat some of those cannibules dat drop dat rock down on us yistiddy am cookin' 'em in dar stew-pot!"). But it's hard not to like a film with dialogue like "What are you thinking of, Paula - in this lost world of ours?" or Challenger's immortal "My brontosaurus has escaped! Keep off the streets - until I recapture it!" and where our hero's rival for his girl back home's affections is called Percy Bumberry!

There are various public domain versions floating around at various lengths and with highly variable picture quality, so it's best to stick with Eureka's impressively restored 93-minute version (most others run 75 minutes or less), which also includes a fine selection of extras including several minutes of stop-motion outtakes, one including an unplanned one-frame cameo by Willis O. Brien himself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost World 1925 review, 12 May 2006
This review is from: The Lost World [1925] [DVD] (DVD)
The Lost World 1925 is a great film. I've read the book also.Not much teenagers watch silent films, but I do.(I'm 14,writing this now. It's a likable film with characters that make the film great.The dinosaurs we see are also likable.And the "Brontosaurus in London" part is the climax.This film that I bought runs for 63 minutes.I hope they show the 93 minute version on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a few grizzles., 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
Just so there is no misunderstanding this review is for the Eureka release, the one with the yellow background and an artists rendition of three of the characters on the cover.

Back in the 60s, before the Czech version was discovered in Prague I had an 8mm, five reel version of this film and I remember it well. On viewing this version I see that the missing footage consists of chunks of action taken out here and there, parts of scenes and in some cases, single shots. For example, the scene where the party fells a tree to cross the gap at the top of the plateau was present in my film version but the shot where Professor Summerlee stoops midway across to pick up a bug was missing. Also the scene where Challenger is bending trees down to use as a slingshot to hurl boulders at dinosaurs was present but the shot of Summerlee being thrown through the air was not. It seems that the missing scenes were taken from the best part of the film rather than the long winded first half. There seems to be no rhyme or reason for abridging it in this way. When we read in the printed notes that all known prints and negatives were destroyed in anticipation of a sound remake it just defies belief. Why DESTROY all prints just because they intended to make a new version? - Crazy.

Well, I must say that this is a good quality transfer nicely presented with all the different coloured tints restored, my 8mm version was black and white, and correct projection speed. It's good to see all the missing footage replaced, although apparently, this version is still not fully complete. Well, we never know, the last remaining elements may turn up someday in the future.

My grizzle with this version is that they have not used the original main titles at the start or the original dialogue title cards. The title captions appear too new and clear with a different grain to the film itself. They don't seem part of the film but more like modern intrusions, digitalised stills, interuptions if you like, instead of part of the running film. The main titles are superimposed over a long shot of the plateau and again look too modern and not in keeping with the age of the film. They are also too long and credits have been added that were not present in the origial. I know that the extra footage was discovered in the Czech Republic and that it probably had Czech titles but surely the original titles could have been sourced, they are on the shortened, English versions out there. And, if they MUST include extra credit information they should do it after the final fade out of the movie.

For those of you who may be concerned about the racist treatment of the Zambo character as mentioned by another reviewer. This version has been sanitised and the title card in which Zambo's speech is depicted as that of an uneducated southern black man does not appear, he now has impeccable English. I remember the offending script was included in my 8mm film.

It's my experience though, that Eureka always gives good quality and they strive to locate the best and most complete versions possible and they are to be commended for that. They are releasing the Charles Laughton version of, "Island of Lost Souls" later this year and I'm very much looking forward to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 30 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful film, and a wonderful DVD. Designed for the purpose of entertainment in 1925, it still manages to entertain even after over 75 years. The DVD is presented well with the best quality print available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning animation from the silent era, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
This wonderful restoration of a seminal film that was destroyed by the studio at the start of the talkie era anticipating a remake (this materialised as “King Kong”). We only have this virtually complete and excellent print due to an unknown copy recently discovered in Prague.
The animated dinosaurs must have left audiences speechless in 1925; even now they stand up as outstanding examples of stop motion animation, in fact where the dinosaurs are fleeing the volcano one completely forgets the film was made eighty years ago.
From the star point of view it is one of Bessie Love’s best roles, although she had one of the longest film careers spanning 1916 to 1981 her career faded during the mid 1930s.
This is a multi tinted print commonly distributed at the time and comes with a long selection of animation out takes, and two alternative soundtracks, one traditional and one modern,
So roll up ladies and gentlemen, sit and marvel at the precursor of “King Kong”, “Jurassic Park” and “Godzilla”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better but a good Oldie, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film never knowing that King Kong was an Americanised version of The Lost World and taken together with the invention of the Sherlock Holmes character shows Conan Doyle for the irish genius he was and there is still more to him than these books;investigate.

The dvd is good although the restoration has still left some white speckling now and then, here or there,I have to say, but overall,it's pretty good and you see the various uses of tint to some effect so it isn't only monochrome with the intertitles and this version is more of the modern theatrical film length at 93 minutes.

The Apeman who dogs Challengers team seems to be the foreunner for Hammers Wolfman,too,and although the essay extra and box mention the inevitability of King Kong and Jurassic Park in the wake of this old film they don't mention Harryhausens classic stop-motionist enthusiasm nor even Man and his mate or the 1,000,000 years bc of his era but maybe they could even have thought of The Planet of the Apes in this context about a fictional natural anachronism that preserves old lifescapes like the plateau,a natural chronic zoo for the experiences of the adventurous,at least in imagination.

The dvd comes in two cases and includes three versions of the film,one with a commentary and one each of two different soundscapes or scores;the formal extras are an essay that runs about 12 minutes,a stills gallery of the original programme and an outtakes film of about 12 minutes which is brilliant,especially for model-makers and shows Willis O'Brien amidst the set like a giant God handling his prehistoric monsters.

Frankly,I'd like to see included in any or some future dvd, a fully colourised version option with no intertitles and dubbed suitable voices for the actors because the film-makers,had they the technology and the money would've done just that for their contemporary audience which is why the first silent version was junked in the first place.Sehr interessant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Film, 31 Dec 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [1925] [DVD] (DVD)
They don't make dinsosaurs like this any more! I don't know what kind of special effects I was expecting, but these are superb, considering the film is now 81 years old. These monsters have personality, something which todays monsters don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sci fi monsters classic, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Steven Powell (north west UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [1925] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a Sci Fi nut so the more 'B' rated the movie the better...this is a classic and if you like this sort of film...then this is one of the better ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] (DVD)
This film should be much better known
Fantastic (for the time, OK?) effects.
As long as you are aware the story contains some pretty dodgy (again, by today's standards) attitudes, enjoy this pre Ray Harrihausen spectacular..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost World [DVD]
The Lost World [DVD] by Harry O. Hoyt (DVD - 2001)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews