Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class in a mini sized glass
A fantastic debut mini album from one of the greatest bands around. Every track hits you from six. Shade kicks ass, and was featured on the Sony Playstation game 'Gran Turismo'.
If you want a 22 minute blast of quality rock with infectious choruses and mighty riffs this is the CD of choice.
Published on 29 Oct. 2000 by Collie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early songs paddle along nicely
For those who own the original Swim EP, I can tell you one thing - you have the best songs from this album. Swwet 16, Stereo World and Swim are the standout tracks full of the promise which Feeder have now fulfilled. However, new fans of the band may be surprised at how heavy the trio used to be. World Asllep and Chicken on a Bone chug along harmlessly enough with...
Published on 24 July 2001 by davephillips66@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class in a mini sized glass, 29 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
A fantastic debut mini album from one of the greatest bands around. Every track hits you from six. Shade kicks ass, and was featured on the Sony Playstation game 'Gran Turismo'.
If you want a 22 minute blast of quality rock with infectious choruses and mighty riffs this is the CD of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early songs paddle along nicely, 24 July 2001
By 
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
For those who own the original Swim EP, I can tell you one thing - you have the best songs from this album. Swwet 16, Stereo World and Swim are the standout tracks full of the promise which Feeder have now fulfilled. However, new fans of the band may be surprised at how heavy the trio used to be. World Asllep and Chicken on a Bone chug along harmlessly enough with frontman Grant Nicholas' vocals distored for an effective atmospheric feel. Spill proves to be one of the more absorbing tracks with a very recognisable early Feeder feel to it. The video's are a welcome bonus, and we also get to see a very grungy looking Grant, long hair an' all! A good album which is likely to be much more appreciated by diehard and early Feeder fans than the new breed who have got into Buck Rogers / 7 Days In The Sun. The price makes this all the more appealing, but new fans - be warned - this is no Echo Park so don't expect the songs to be as 'pop'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazingly good, 9 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
Running on the Success of 'Echo Park', Feeder Release their EP 'Swim' with 6 extra tracks. opening track 'Sweet 16' is a catchy song, with quite haunting lyrics about stalking; "her mind filled as she loaded the weapon, her mind racing she cried". 'stereo world' proves to be a heavy poppy song, with a great riff and a brilliant chorus. 'W.I.T (women in towels)' shows yet more of Grants Quirky writing and catchy riffs. Haunting track 'Descend' Makes another appearence, after appearing on 'Polythene', whilst 'Shade' is a hard hitting Grunge tune that could hold its own in the charts, with a mix of everything really. a slow section, memorable lyrics and hard hitting riffs really set this track apart. 'Swim' is one of those songs that takes a while to get used to, as a slow acoustic song, but really shows grants great singing. starting on the added songs, B-side 'Elegy' Proves to be the slowest song on the album, and a great calm down song, but doesnt flow at all into the next song 'World Asleep', which is probably the heaviest song on the album. More quirkyness as 'Chicken On A Bone' makes an appearance, and 'Spill' adds to the heavier side of Feeder's work. Ending Track 'Forgiven' is another slower song, much akin to 'Elegy'. as a bonus for those with a PC (who doenst have one these days :P ) there are two videos from the 'polythene' release, 'Crash' and 'Cement'. Overall a great album to pop on, and one to show feeder haters who think feeder are 100% soft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 22 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a stunning debut mini-album from a band that show so much potential. WIT kicks and from the opening note of Stereo World you know that it is going to be the best track on the album. I have never heard a better debut, and to not buy this is pure foolishness. OK, so its only 6 tracks, and not many people can play vinyl these days, but these 6 tracks on a proper record player capture the cream of todays rock/indie influenced music. The vinyl gives an authentic feel to the songs, and they do sound amazing. If anyone buys this and doesn't like it, come and see me so I can give you your money back. I'm that confident you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini-Album but it's got everything you could want from Rock, 27 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
With just 6 tracks you'd think that it's too short to bother with and spend money on, but it's just the opposite. Feeders' first commercially available CD is short but sweet. Two of the tracks ('Sweet 16' and 'Shade') also appeared on the Gran Turismo game for the PlayStation.
1: 'Sweet 16' - Great tune and the story to it is well thought out.
2: 'Stereo World' - Pure rock noise. Class. Personally my least favourite "Swim" track.
3: 'W.I.T.' ('Women In Towels') - Quite amusing lyrics and very catchy.
4: 'Descend' - Excellent slower track that bursts in and out of the chorus. Possibly the best track on "Swim", matched only by
5: 'Shade' - Excellent rock type indie song. Cool lyrics, cool tune, great ending.
6: 'Swim' - A deep and thoughtful acoustic track. If you don't like acoustic songs I'm sure you'd like this.
This mini-album has the lot!
Rock, Indie, Acoustic, Depressing, Soul lifting, Feel good songs, Amusing lyrics.....
What more could you want?! It's better than most full albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cracking, 29 Aug. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
this little mini album is great.
the songs a re a;ot simpler than what was to come owning much more to a punky/grunge mish mash.
all the pieces are in place for what was to come though....great melodies and catchy hooks all over the place.
stereo world will become one of your favourite songs....ever....fact!!!
yes they do sound immature in comparison....but well they are old songs written by a band finding their feet....most other bands would still be releasing their demo at this stage in their career but feeder had gottne themselves signed and have done almost all of their growing up in the public eye.
i love this album as its very close in style to polythene and alot faster and heavier than what was to come.
i would say its essential for the completist but not for the passing fan
if you are new to feeder through pushing the senses try the other stuff before this!!!
its a million miles away from where they are now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeder - Swim, 100% value for money!, 13 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
This is the re-release of feeders 1st mini album swim. It includes a few extra songs on it. The Main highlights are the fantastic Acoustic track Swim, Sweet 16 and Chicken on a Bone. However in my opinion, Forgiven is the most powerful and amazing song on the album. In fact with having all Feeders albums i can say that this song really does rank up there with some of the best. You must buy this Cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid mini-album with never a dull moment!, 13 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim (Audio CD)
One of the best rock releases around.Each song has amazing earcatching choruses which will never die.There is also a classic acoustic track, swim. The first song sweet sixteen will blow you away,you'll never forget it. Overall swim is just about the best 22 minutes around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Wait..play loudly!!!, 11 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
Having been listening to Feeder since 2000 I have managed to now in 2006 collect all their albums! This album in particular I have been wanting to hear since 2001...and it was worth it!
I find each song holds so much energy and emotion be it the heavy riffs or the stripped down acoustic guitar tracks. FEEDER were indeed finding their style but I do feel they were close here. Indeed the distorted guitar driven tracks,'Shade','Chicken On A Bone','World Asleep' etc...are less featured on FEEDER albums as the years go by but they all have a melodic catch which makes the songs memorable and more of an interesting listen giving the songs pure depth,the heavy numbers on here particularly. The acoustic numbers 'Swim'(brilliant vocals I must add!), 'Forgiven' and 'Elegy' are beautifully composed and are easy to listen too.With the bonus tracks it becomes an album which holds a glimpse to FEEDERS to be trademark stlye...heavy riffs combined with sounds of melodic pop rock!I find Grant Nicholas' vocal variation a fantastic back bone to the album.
Any FEEDER fan must own a copy..I am by no means at all dissapointed with this album and encourage you to pick up a copy of your own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most similar to Echo Park, a great compliment., 30 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Swim: Re-Surfaced (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant. The sound style is most similar to Echo Park, with most tracks having a wonderful blend between heavy and light. Spill and Forgiven made a disappointing end to an otherwise outstanding album. Owning all fully commercial Feeder albums available I found this as second only to Echo Park, one of the greatest albums I own.
Comfort in Sound was one of the first ever albums I bought and I enjoyed it immensely. I then bought Echo Park and YWTS, which I now believe to be the best and worst Feeder albums. Although YWTS is not bad, all the others are better. Polythene sounds very different to all the others but I found it grew on me and I came to enjoy it. Finally I bought Swim, and instantly found it brilliant. I didn't enjoy the CD ROM videos much, but I would never buy a music video so can't really judge. Though the two tracks they cover, both found on Polythene, are worth listening to and I was disappointed to find that, on this album, they are just videos and not tracks.
This is a great album and if you've got Echo Park this is the next one to get, if not, get Echo Park first, it's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swim: Re-Surfaced
Swim: Re-Surfaced by Feeder (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews