Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review
I went to the concert and bought the LP, now I have the CD. Great price, lots of good stuff on there. I don't go in fo all this what is/was their greatest album stuff, give it spin and you'll be rocking away in no time. Fits in very well with all the other Stones discs that I've got, great to listen to in the car as well.
Published on 14 Sept. 2010 by Mr. M. D. Brocket

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mix of surprise and the same from the stones.
A good start to album with Start me up sounding as fresh as ever.Shattered and Time is on my side are unusual but welcome changes to the usual tracks on these sort of albums.Going to a go-go and Twenty flight rock are excellent sing-a-long numbers and help to keep the album moving along when mixed in with the more predictable and run of the mill stones tracks which are...
Published on 20 Jan. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review, 14 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. M. D. Brocket (Sheffield,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
I went to the concert and bought the LP, now I have the CD. Great price, lots of good stuff on there. I don't go in fo all this what is/was their greatest album stuff, give it spin and you'll be rocking away in no time. Fits in very well with all the other Stones discs that I've got, great to listen to in the car as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Richie Dodds (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
Great service and a brilliant cd stones at their best.have looked for this cd for yonks and im not dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mix of surprise and the same from the stones., 20 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
A good start to album with Start me up sounding as fresh as ever.Shattered and Time is on my side are unusual but welcome changes to the usual tracks on these sort of albums.Going to a go-go and Twenty flight rock are excellent sing-a-long numbers and help to keep the album moving along when mixed in with the more predictable and run of the mill stones tracks which are featured on this album.Satisfaction is the predictable encore and sounds tired.This album is a worthwhile addition to your record collection but sometimes the stones with their enormous talent should try to be a bit more varied with their choice of tracks on their live and compilation albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
CAME TO DAY FRIDAY 7 11 14 FIRST CLASS ALL ROUND THANKS LYN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still Life - ( but only just ), 8 Oct. 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I won't deny an album release like this frustrates the hell out of me - especially when it's from the group proclaimed to be 'the greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world'.

What's unusual to begin with is in normal circumstances a Stones tour pretty much reflects their latest release at the time - if not always in terms of style almost without exception in terms of quality. The Stones recent album at this time was 'Tattoo Tou' which was very good - unfortunately i can't say the same about this.

'Still Life's title very much sums up what's on offer - yes the evidence is the Stones are still alive - but only just.

The Stones by this time had very much lost their mystique and there's also no hint of danger, as they were sounding more and more like a business proposition though Keith and Ronnie played at times with some great vitality, complementing each other fairly well in a stripped down lean fashion. The biggest problem is Jagger, however, who sings in a gruff passionless voice throughout.It sounds like he was often enjoying the spectacle of these shows without being aware of his own shortcomings.

It's an empty and passionless album overall where the performances lack conviction. It may have seemed great to share the experience at a venue but the musical performances outside the spectacle of the occasion are overall extremely lacklustre.

This album fuels the fire to those who claim the Stones aren't that great live. It's annoying because there's so much recorded evidence (in particular 70s bootlegs) that prove otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments..., 2 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Moses "meirmoses" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
I'll come out and say that Still Life and Tattoo You were my introduction to the Stones in '81 and I love those albums. Still Life plays out at a frenetic place and is characterised by a kind of 'hard and loose' style. Richards delivers some awesomely slack solos and they sound like they're having fun in an environment of total chaos and hysteria.

Unfortunately, as with almost all RS releases, this could have been bolstered by more tracks from the tour and, as mentioned, the album itself, which featured probably the last quality Stones offerings....

Also: Check out (100% legit) Wolfgang's Vault for some awesome high quality mixing board streams from the '81 tour or 'The Let's Spend the Night Together' Tour movie - a genuine delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD, 10 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
All good but case cracked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the usual songs - just better sound quality, 17 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
Still Life is a fast paced, exciting Live album that came from the 'Tattoo You' tour, so why has it only got one song from the album on? It is a good album but we've heard it all before.
It opens up with 'under my thumb' just like 'Got live if you want it' and includes 'Time is on my Side' and 'Satisfaction'. I would have personally liked to hear the likes of 'slave' or 'hang fire' off the album. There is a fantastic version of 'Let me go' and 'going to a go go'.
The sound quality is better than previous attempts but still a bit dodgy.
If you're wanting a live album that really shows how exciting the stones are live, buy 'Flashpoint'.
Good for collectors though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good live album, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Main reason for buying this album is Jagger's introduction after the first track which I remember from listening to it when it first came out on a friends tape player.

To paraphrase " For all you watching on TV hope your sipping a few beers, smoking a few joints, Well alright !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones at their best, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
Susana Knowles "Susy K" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stones at their brilliant Live best. Absolutely faultless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Life (French Import)
Still Life (French Import) by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews