Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£63.98+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2002
How good is some of this music? And how varied is it? When I first bought this soundtrack, I was expecting the music to follow the same kind of direction as Final Fantasy IX - decent, but uninspiring in places. How wrong was I? The fifth track on the first disc - "Otherworld" - leaps out at you instantly, mainly because it's a kind of heavy metal track and not something you would expect in a Final Fantasy game!
The songs do stay in this fine vein of form. The seperate themes for the characters (especially Tidus, Yuna and Auron) are good. "Sending off to a different world" on disc 2 and the various battle themes (especially "Battle with Seymour" on disc 4) are too much fun to listen to! Then we have "Suteki da ne" and the "Ending theme", both of which are beautiful. "To Zanarkand", "Brass de Chocobo", "Omen"... The list of decent tracks goes on.
The only complaint I would have are the various summoning themes - all of which are the same except that they are sung by different members of a chorus. It can get a little repetitive, but that's just one small complaint.
You can see that Uematsu-san hasn't lost his touch, and the additions made by the other two composers (whose names escape me at the moment...) are quite good. I can't wait for the game, especially if the music is anything to go by!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2002
Before buying this soundtrack or playing the first ps2 instalment of the final fantasy series, i heard several reviews rating this soundtrack as "not usual uematsu" standards. Even if it wasn't up to "usual" standards, his lowest standards would still be stuninng. But my point is that it is just as spectacular as all previous OST's he has produced. I made the decision to buy the soundtrack despite early reviews fater playing the game. Time after time, even through the amazing animation effects and visuals, the music really stood out, not just as the perfect finishing touch, but as whole gaming element itself. Hours and hours of pure sweet music. Even if you don't know a blimmin' word of japanese, you can still appreciate the beauty of the vocal tracks. And i can guarrantee that you'll soon be humming the hymn to yourself, trust me, you can have alot lot lot worse songs stuck in your head. Buy. buy it now..............you know you want to.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
This soundtrack is briliant. This soundtrack is from the game 'final fantasy 10'-for the Playstation 2. This soundtrack is briliant for any Final Fantasy fan. The music is by: Nobuo Uematsu. A composer from the previous final Fantasy series. The content of the soundtrack is Japanese. Even the track listing is in Japanese. That is the only annoying thing about this soundtrack. I liked this soundtrack because it's from the Final Fanatsy series, the music is just skillfuly played. The instruments used are occasionly Japanese. The price you pay for this soundtrack is, worth every penny!!! It' even includes the chocobo theme and the victory theme,etc. Only track 1-on disk 1 is vocal and so is the last track on disk 4 is vocal.apart from that,it's just plane decent music!I DEMAND YOU BUY THIS NOW!A MUST BUY!!!!!Also try Final Fantasy 8 soundtrack.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2002
The latest installment of the epic final fantasy series brings with it a brand new soundtrack, but one of the first things you may notice about it is that for the first time Nobuo Uematsu isn't going solo. On this soundtrack Junya Nakano and Masashi Hamauzu did quite a lot of the composition...and for me it showed.
The CD opens with Uematsu's piano piece 'Zanarkand', the music from the opening credits and (in my opinion) one of the best tracks on the CD. From there you'll find yourself blown away by track 2 - 'Otherworld'. Not following the usual styles of Final Fantasy, Otherworld is pure hard rock (which shakes the room if you turn up the bass high enough!) and it sounds absolutely fantastic!!! After Otherworld the CD gets a little disappointing for me. The rest of the tracks include the latest remix of the chocobo theme (called Chocobo Jam), the game's battle theme is in there (aptly named Battle Theme), as is the music from the final battle (Final Battle), and the Hymn of the Faith is also there in the track 'The Sending'. Whilst these are all quality tracks when accompanying the awesome gameplay of FFX, they have trouble holding their own as independent tracks, and a lot of the magic is lost (on me at least).
And of course it wouldn't be modern Final Fantasy without the love song. This time it's called 'Suteki Da Ne' and whilst I find it far too cheesy to tolerate, I'm sure there's a few of you out there who'd enjoy it.
In short...well, as it says above, good but I've heard better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2003
My words for this soundtrack are unlimited! The music is absolutely fantastic, and is great to listen to all the bloody time, especially the Hymn of the Fayth, Lulu's Theme, Suteki de Ne and Song of Prayer (Yunalesca) are fantastic, not to forget the Final Battle music (against Yu Yevon). If you are a devoted fan to Final Fantasy and collect the merchandise, you have got to get this. This will be worth your money and is always great to listen to!!Nobuo Uemetsu has truely done it again, out of all the Final Fantasys he has composed music for this is his grandest of all time! Well done Nobuo!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
If you find yourself humming along whilst playing the game then you should buy it! All the tracks are good, I just don't like the Battle Theme, most likely because I hear it too often in the game! I was worried about buying the album at first I case I didn't like the music, but I am glad I bought it! I find myself humming Suteki Da Ne (?) a lot, I like all of the tracks I just wish there were a few more tracks on it! In case you are confused as I was, The sending ISN'T just the fayth hymn, its the proper sending theme, the one Yuna does her sending to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2003
Nobuo Uematsu is a artist in a million. If anyone has played the game has to buy this album, it is absolutely amazing. Even though you hear the battle theme over and over, the rest of the album is brilliant. The one song (Suteri Da Ne) will blow you away. there is such harmony within the song. I am so glad i have the album, who could get tired of it. I hope Nobuo Uematsu continues to produce more outstanding music for years to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2003
Having played the game twice, i really loved some of the music - the "ending theme" and "Suteki Da Ne" being my favourites.
The full version is better though, having over 60 tracks on it from Final Fantasy 10. Nobuo Eumatsu is a brilliant composer. Great work, Nobuo!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
According to the above information this is the 1 CD Domestic release of "Final Fantasy X's" Soundtrack, (the picture however is of the 4CD set) The 4CD version is much better, encompassing over 90 tracks spanning 4 CD'S, be aware however that this is in japanese, the track listing and the liner are all in japanese, aswell as 2 small tracks of speech, the translation of is easily availiable from fan sites. Disc 4 stands out above the rest with this, containing some lovley songs, including the theme song "Suteki Da Ne" ("Isn't It Wonderful?") The addition of Masashi Hamauzu's and Junya Nakano's composing talant add to the CD'S perfection and breathe new life into the series.
Well worth buying, however try to get hold of the 4CD set as it is much better!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
This CD brings all the music from the game Final Fantasy X strait to your CD player if you collect final fantasy items such as myself then you will no that this item is rare to find this is defintily a must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)