Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Graham Parker Album., 14 Aug 2001
By 
M. HAM (Cardiff - Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
Along with their first release, Howlin' wind, this represents the very best that Parker and the Rumour ever delivered in album form. It is noticeably less raw than the earlier effort, yet still manages to capture the energy that made their UK gigs in the late 70's truly memorable.
Parker's songwriting is excellent, and reaches its pinnacle on Heat treatment. The album is devoid of any filler material and produces memorable material from opening title track, all the way through to the anthemic finale on Fools gold.
Parkers voice cuts like a switchblade on every song. I defy you to listen to this only once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parker's Masterpiece, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
One of the UK's outstanding songwriters, much underrated and missed, I concur with the other 5* reviews here. Graham Parker and the Rumour were one of the tightest bands around, touring in the late 70s with Southside Johnny and Asbury Jukes (with whom they had a number of similarities) and providing the best double bill I ever saw. The ultimate statement of praise is demonstrated by the fact that the guitarist Brinsley Schwarz left his own-named band (along with keyboard player Bob Andrews) to join Parker in the Rumour! Martin Belmont, the guitarist who joined the Rumour from Ducks Deluxe, once said something to the effect that GP wrote songs that sounded like they had to have been written before i.e. they were such classics.

I consider this album to be the pinnacle of GP's writing (above other classics Howling Wind, Squeezing Out Sparks and the later Human Soul), with standout tracks being That's What They All Say, Black Honey (a true soul classic) and Fools Gold, but there is not a duff song here. GP was initially compared to Van Morrison and Elvis Costello, but I don't believe either produced an album of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you can't stand the heat, 7 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
Coming like a breath of fresh air in the midst of snot nosed punk rock - GP and the rumour combined old style storytelling with a 3 minute pop song. Each song stands up very well on its own to the test of time. This record is danceable and very playable. It has Nick Lowe's ghost embedded in the grooves. Rock god producer mutt lange dusted his magic over every track without taking away any of the power of the songs. Anyone who is old enough to remember listening to John Peel under the covers of a night will have heard some of these songs played on heavy rotation. It was good then,it's better now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Treatment, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Abstract (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
Soulful almost Motown in feel at times, swinging brass, steady pub rock beats, rasping and expressive voice reminiscent of Dylan/Van Morrisson... and fun.

What more can be asked of that tiny window pre-punk and post prog-rock in the mid-seventies?

Buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 1970's, 19 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Philip Baird (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
GP and the Rumour were Britain's answer to Southside Johnny and the Jukes and I'm a big fan of both. This album is the best thing the boys did and why they didn't stay together is beyond me. GP without the Rumour is like Johnny without the Jukes - unthinkable. Anyway, to the album in hand, and despite the new sleeve notes by a certain Mr Parker (what does he know !) they never bettered the attack and sheer vitality and 'rush' of their sophamore release, even bettering their marvellous debut, and just shading the later 'Squeezing Out Sparks' in my book. Graham himself doesn't rate the album as amongst his best, but I haven't heard a better one, and if it has a few weak points then we were too busy enjoying it to notice. The title track jumps like the Van Morrison band in full flight, with wonderful horn parts supporting the Rumour. Then two of Graham's strongest songs, the 'pith and vinegar' of 'That's What They All Say' balanced beautifully by the lovely and tender 'Turned Up Too Late'. The album rips all the way through to the majestic 'Fool's Gold' which could be one of the best songs ever written. This is where they hit 'the moment', when everything came together to produce three minutes of magic. I wish they would get back together again to perform these wonderful songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Parker, 4 Aug 2012
By 
A. Hunter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
Although, according to Graham Parker, he dislikes this album I think that it's the best thing he's ever done. GP is screaming into the mic and the Rumour sound really sharp with great guitar licks. I saw Graham Parker on tour at the old Guildford Civic Hall when this album was first released and they blew me away, this re-release still does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Sep 2011
By 
John McGuire (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
agree with the guys. A great lp I came back to in later life. I'm 53 now and it sends shivers still.Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comeback album after all these years, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
You have to be a fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
Ideal for anyone who can remember the 1970s, I've enjoyed listening to this one again.
Usual prompt delivery in good condition etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It Don't Mean a Thing If it An't Got That Swing!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heat Treatment (Audio CD)
GP in full bouncy rock/soul mood. A tricky second album after their debut 'Howling Wind' and they pull it off in style. Bad management kept them on the road - doing unwise gigs but they still managed to pull off a great album. Graham Parker is one artist that should have had more than his fair share of fame and fortune but unfortunately managed to fall between the cracks. I wish they would play some gigs in the UK after their recent reformation for a CD. You can only dream...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heat Treatment
Heat Treatment by Graham Parker (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews