Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun
This toy is educational only if an older child or an adult plays alongside a younger child and counts the pegs or names the colours. Otherwise it is "just" a great fun for any boy or girl who loves hammers, banging and making noise. I bought the toy to give my 2 year old a chance to practise precision in hand-eye coordination and in hope that he will leave daddy's real...
Published on 30 Mar. 2011 by L Rainbow

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the fun It ought to be
I remember having one as a child. It was great fun to bash the pegs in so I bought it for my 18 month old son. The main problem with it is that the pegs can be pushed through the holes with no hammering action being needed which makes it rather pointless. Needless to say my son doesn't play with it much at all. Classic toy badly done.
Published on 1 Jun. 2011 by Pathelo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the fun It ought to be, 1 Jun. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
I remember having one as a child. It was great fun to bash the pegs in so I bought it for my 18 month old son. The main problem with it is that the pegs can be pushed through the holes with no hammering action being needed which makes it rather pointless. Needless to say my son doesn't play with it much at all. Classic toy badly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
Sarah Dawson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
Our eldest son had one of these (not Melissa & Doug) when he was little and he loved it. It lasted long enough for our second son to thoroughly enjoy it too so served us very well for about 5 years and then decided it had had enough of life - fair enough! (so excellent value for a toy!)

So we put this on the wish list for our 3rd son to get for Christmas and someone kindly bought it for him.

We are EXTREMELY disappointed in the latest version of this toy - very, very poor quality especially for a Melissa & Doug toy which are always more expensive.
The holes are now made much bigger than the pegs and then a little plastic bit is put in them to supposedly hold the pegs in place and make the journey through smoother when being knocked - I like the theory but it just does not work.
In the one we have only 2 of the pegs are held in place - the holes for the 6 others are too big so the pegs fall straight through.
Not surprisingly our littlest sees no appeal in only being able to knock 2 pegs through when the others just fall through themselves so its a complete waste.
VERY VERY ANNOYED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 30 Mar. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
This toy is educational only if an older child or an adult plays alongside a younger child and counts the pegs or names the colours. Otherwise it is "just" a great fun for any boy or girl who loves hammers, banging and making noise. I bought the toy to give my 2 year old a chance to practise precision in hand-eye coordination and in hope that he will leave daddy's real hammer alone:-). And yes to both and 5 stars to the toy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars peg board, 15 Feb. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
Nice sturdy peg board apart from the holes are just a tad too large for the pegs so that they hammered through the holes to easily. Nice bright colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pound a peg toy, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
Ordered this for my 14 month old granddaughter. Have had a few Melissa and Doug toys before and they have always been good quality but this is absolutely rubbish. The pegs are far too small for the holes and fall straight through. Today as she got it out of her toy box the red side fell off!!! Would have returned the product but as it didn't come in a box it was too much trouble to wrap it. My husband is going to try and repair it and see if there is any way of making the holes smaller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly designed, 28 Nov. 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg

The pegs in this Pound-a-Peg just about fall through the holes, with no assistance needed from the hammer (which is used for much more creative and fun things!). There is no resistance in the holes. The toy looks nice and colourful but is badly designed and boring. My grandson used to just poke them through the holes, but even then they merely fall through. You can buy much better versions than this, I am sure. Would have asked for a refund but left it too late.

Grandma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 4 Mar. 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
I rated this toy so low because the pegs fall out all the time even when turned the other side up . Not what I was looking for thought the pegs would stay in and then hammered through not educational at all , would not recommend to my friends ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 2 Feb. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
This toy was difficult to purchase in a local toy shop. I found it online and ordered it but did not think it would be that good as the price was so cheap!
I was extremely surprised and happy with the product. The finish was good and it was such good value for money.
In future i will be ordering more of the Melissa & Doug toys for my grandson. If they are all like this one i will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 7 Dec. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
i bought this for my friends little boy for his 1st birthday, he seemed to enjoy it very much and its very durable, and keeps his attention for enough time to sit down to have a cuppa (her words exact) x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 26 Dec. 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg (Toy)
This is the worst peg board toy I have seen. The pegs can be easily pushed through without the hammer - in fact a couple of the pegs just drop through without a push as they are too small for the holes. There is no resistance at all to stop the pegs from falling through. This is such a badly designed toy that I am going to have to buy another one as it is not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg
Melissa & Doug Pound-A-Peg by Melissa & Doug
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews