Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make this the band Deftones said they are, 29 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
When on the US tour with Godsmack and CKY, Deftones exclaim CKY to be "the future of music". My god were they spot on. The music they write is incredible and is up there with the best of them. Starting off with the rip roaring "96 Quite Bitter Beings" which has some excellent drumming and vocals. Included is the video of this incredible song, along with the video for Shippensburg which gives you a hilarious sample of the CKY and Friends escapades. "The Human Drive In Hi-Fi" is another great song, with great vocals, bass, guitar, drums, hell EVERYTHING. The lyrics are clever and catchy, and the band have amazing energy and personality. Classic. Buy. NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CKY Volume 1, 15 May 2004
By 
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
They can't be that good can they? I mean, a group that owes some of its success to providing the soundtrack for Jackass? Sorry, they are.
Right from the rocky opening blast of "96 Quite Bitter Beings" this album never lets up, chock full of fantastic riffs and thrashy drumming. This album also boasts a great production job, courtesy of Chad Ginsburg. One of the best qualities of this CD is that the songs progress, but remain concise; on "Disengage The Simulator" the song goes full circle in just under three minutes.
There's also a lot of eclecticism in the music; there are some heavy tracks like "Knee Deep" and "The Human Drive In Hi-Fi", a straightforward rocker ("My Promiscuous Daughter"), the haunting "Lost In A Contraption", the super distorted closer "To All Of You", the progressive "Sara's Mask" and my personal favourite, "Rio Bravo" (which has to be one of the best riffs I've ever heard...).
Buy it, let it infiltrate your ears. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cKy - best band in the world?, 13 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
Damn right!! Most certainly the definative album for skaters and rock fans alike. With songs like '96 Quite Bitter Beings' and 'Disengage the Simulator' you are not gonna regret buyin' this disc! Jackass fans will recognize some of the songs, and also the drummer, Jess Margera, who is the brother of jackass Bam Margera. Get This Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camp Kill Yourself Rock!, 14 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
CKY, an American band, part of a group of people that call themselves Jackasses. Band member Jess ,brother to pro skater turned MTV Jackass Bam Margera, is the brains in the outfit. The music on this outstanding disk is more than just something to rock along to............ You can listen to feel the music. A lot of the CKY stuuf has been used on nomerous Skate and stunt videos simply because of their rare and extreme style. I advise you to buy this and the CKY videos: Landspeed and CKY2K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut!, 28 April 2004
By 
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
I bought CKY's album simply because a friend of mine had been banging onabout them for a while, so I thought I'd see what the fuss was about. Andthere was definately something to fuss about.
This album is a brilliant offering from a brilliant band, who don't getnearly as much recognition as they should. 96 Quite Bitter Beings, one oftheir more famous tracks on this side of the pond, is amazing andcertainly deserves to be so famous. With an infectious riff, awesome drumbeats provided by Jess Margera (not Bam), and blow-you-away vocals fromthe vastly underrated Deron Miller, this is definately a song to look outfor. Shortly followed on the album by Rio bravo, another of my personalfavourites. This song is a stonker, the perfect follow up to a song like96... And the standard of music doesn't seem to waver at all throughoutthe course of the album. You'd think that opening with three of the bestsongs to grace my CD player in a while, that this would be a difficult actto follow. But follow they do, and they do it so well it's unbelievable.Human Drive-In Hi Fi is an amazing track, with a 'Shaft' feel that youwouldn't think would work, but it really does. And things stay amazingwith tracks like My Promiscuous Daughter and Sara's Mask.
Though I was a little sceptical about buying this CD, I'm so glad I did.It offers a brilliant set, never dropping their standards once.
A must buy for anyone who loves rock, and isn't scared of things that area little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jess Magara is the man, 21 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
This album blew me away, being a big fan of bands like Deftones, Limp Bizkit, Creed etc... I thought I would buy this album after hearing a couple of songs off MTV Jackass. I found this album to be one of the best this year. Songs like 96 Quiet Bitter Beings, Promiscuos Daughter and disgengae the simulator amazed me. Buy this album rock fans and skateboarders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only listen to one album this year...., 22 Jun. 2003
By 
Ms. M. M. Reeves "Miss M" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
Ok, so forget the hype surrounding Bam Margera and the Jackass crew. CKY deserved to be listened to just because! I really like this album because not only does it rock, the music is supurb and the lyrics are interesting in a way that makes you think about their meaning. I definetely recommend this album to people who want to hear something a little bit different! I can not rave about this band too much!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beyond belief, 7 Feb. 2002
By 
stacy_jo59@hotmail.com (warwickshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard this sort of music before it takes a while to get used to it but once u have you'll be hooked i swear to it! Excellently played by excellent musicians! Keep rockin' Jesse, Chad, Deron and Vern! All i need now is to get my hands on volume 2 and ill be laughin' (literally!) so go one just get it!!! NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the collections, 20 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
I thought for the first album by Camp Kill Yourself (CKY) it rocks man. I mean I listen to a lot of rock music but his blow me away. There nothing like anything else I ever heared. If you like rock than you need this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best band-cky, 9 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Volume 1 (Audio CD)
this album is rad.chad,vern,deron and jess are all sick!skaters will recognise some of the songs from cky,cky2k and cky3 others will recognise from jackass.the songs are really good.buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Volume 1
Volume 1 by CKY (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews