Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy of 2001
First seen this band on MTV with the first single off their this album, "You wouldn't Believe" and was hooked instantly. All the songs have a great melody and beat to them. I don't think there is a bad song on the CD. After about 2 or 3 listens you will find yourself singing along. A brilliant album from one of the pioneers of the rap / rock genre.
Published on 6 Sep 2001 by David Byrne

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best effort but still...
I've been into 311 since i heard their "Soundsystem" album... i then got hold of the others... with difficulty because they weren't officially released over here. Then they decide to release from chaos in the uk! Yay. It's not their best album, but i think its more accessible than others. Highlights are the gothic-esque "Uncalm" (surprising!), upbeat,...
Published on 18 Nov 2001 by bulletkiss@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy of 2001, 6 Sep 2001
By 
David Byrne "byrne" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Chaos (Audio CD)
First seen this band on MTV with the first single off their this album, "You wouldn't Believe" and was hooked instantly. All the songs have a great melody and beat to them. I don't think there is a bad song on the CD. After about 2 or 3 listens you will find yourself singing along. A brilliant album from one of the pioneers of the rap / rock genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, 17 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: From Chaos (Audio CD)
Once again 311 break the boundaries and display their musical prowess by releasing "From Chaos", at a time when the rap/rock genre is in need of a serious kick-start. Thank GOD for 311. From the soaring melodies of "Sick Tight" to the blissful groove of current single "I'll be here a while", 311 never fail to impress, but unfortunately, they are the only band out there who try and be what we like to call "original". Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 311 of old are back!, 23 May 2003
By 
LM BUTCHER (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Chaos (Audio CD)
"From Chaos" harks back to 311's earlier era - plenty of funky distorted guitars, harder rapping than recent albums, and loads of grooving bass lines. Graded alongside other 311 albums this fairs very well - only suffering for a slightly thinner guitar mix than their last album, "Soundsystem". Standout tracks are the dynamic title track, the relentless "Wake Your Mind Up", the jazzy "Champagne" and the melodic singalong "I'll Be Here Awhile". In terms of what 311 can offer in comparison to their contemporaries, 311 are unmatched - purely because no one else mixes it up like them. RHCP are obvious analogy candidates but even they have taken a more well thoughtout commercial route. "From Chaos" is an album that relies on straight-down-the-line, honest, fun music and lyrics. Okay, so they're not as profound as Joni Mitchell or Bob Dylan, but that's not the point. This is an album you can put on and it makes you feel good. Why these guys aren't bigger here in the UK beats me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take it from me...you won't be disappointed, 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: From Chaos (Audio CD)
The first time I heard 311 was in 1995 when they released the their self titled album. Since then every new album has been a joy to listen to. They have altered their sound subtly over the years. SA's scratching became more predominant in albums like Transistor and Soundsystem. However there is none at all in this album. Instead they have opted for more guitar based music with elctronic sampling in some tracks like 'Champaign' and 'Amber' while other tracks like 'Sick Tight' and 'You Get Worked' sounds closer to their blue self titled album. Definitely worth getting hold of for anyone who is already a fan, there's enough diversity there to separate it from the rest of their albums. Anyone who hasn't heard them before then you're in for a nice treat, nice upbeat tracks mixed with cool laid back tracks...enough said check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best effort but still..., 18 Nov 2001
This review is from: From Chaos (Audio CD)
I've been into 311 since i heard their "Soundsystem" album... i then got hold of the others... with difficulty because they weren't officially released over here. Then they decide to release from chaos in the uk! Yay. It's not their best album, but i think its more accessible than others. Highlights are the gothic-esque "Uncalm" (surprising!), upbeat, laid back "I'll Be Here A While" and "Wake Your Mind Up." If you've never heard of 311, this is the album to start with. If you have, i'd suggest getting hold of "Transistor", "Soundsystem" or "Grassroots" first. Still, it's nice to listen to :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album ROCKS, 16 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From Chaos (Audio CD)
I first heard of 311 on the tele and I went straight out and bought their album as soon as it came out. Since I've had it it's all I've listened to. All the songs are great but the best songs are From Chaos, You Wouldn't Believe and You get Worked. If I were to compare them to any other band it would be OPM. If you like OPM and you like Rock music you should really buy this album. A Great Album by 311. Well done lads !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Chaos
From Chaos by 311 (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews