Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most stylish performance, 18 Dec 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
This is a most enjoyable recording (made in 1980). The performance by Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields led by Neville Marriner, at the peak of their powers, is very stylish and the tempi are well judged.

Some world-famous soloists participate - Henryk Szeryng (violin), Michala Petri (recorder), Jean-Pierre Rampal (flute) and Heinz Holliger (oboe).

There are many "period performance" recordings of this work by now, some of which are good. However, when you listen to a performance using modern instruments like this one under review, I wonder if period performance enthusiasts (including myself) are missing something important for the sake of pursuing "authenticity". Here in this performance, there are no problems of edgy tones of gut strings, dubious intonation of wind instruments and (occasionally) excessively fast tempi. All the notes appear to flow naturally.

The recording is very good. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach's masterpieces, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
I have recordings of the Brandenbergs, scattered across several CDs, by various orchestras/conductors/quality of recordings. So I decided I'd like to have them all on one disc, so that I may listen to them all, in the right order, similar "style" of performance, etc.

This has to be one of the definitive performances. Beautifully recorded, and performed with commitment, and that wonderful synergy you sometimes get between players and conductor, that, at times, just takes your breath away. There are other, great, recordings that "read" these pieces very differently, and have equal validity. But, to my sensibilities, this recording is "up there" as the best. This is obviously a subjective thing, and you may disagree with me. But, you, the prospective purchaser, reading my review, will have to listen to a vast number of recordings, to find any that come close to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic interpretation, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
This recording is a wonderful interpretation of JS Bach's timeless classic concertos, which rank among the most famous and recognisable of the Baroque era. Right from the beginning, you will be captivated by Sir Neville Marriner's sensitive control of the Academy of St Martin in the Field Chamber Orchestra, one of the finest classical recording ensembles in the world at the time of this recording.

The sound quality - this was recorded in the early 1980s, remember - occasionally leaves something to be desired over more recent performances, but this is more than made up for by the feeling which Marriner conjures into the music. This is by far the best recording in existence of these incredible compositions, and I would recommend them to anyone, Bach fan or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars smooth but quite pedestrian, 22 May 2007
By 
rc_rc (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Well recorded - stellar soloists - but fails to leave the ground. In a competitive market I cannot recommend this at all - for example Leppard's ECO recordings of comparable vintage are more characterised. Try the modern recordings of LA Chamber Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra of St Lukes, Scottish Chamber Orchestra (on Virgin) recordings for good modern instrument versions - this IS worth 4 stars but there are so many more worth 5 that it should be left on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bach Concertos, 12 Mar 2014
By 
R. George (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Yes this was a gift for my sister who was over the moon with it and just what she wanted . A good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance, 15 Jan 2014
By 
PW (Southampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
The incomparable Brandenburgs performed sensitively and with panache by the Academy. There are many versions of this concert standard, take your pick really but this is a nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ah another Bach recording, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
There is so much choice for the Brandenburgs but this was the one for me. The first person to say Ah Bach was his wife!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dry, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a bit dry and square, really - it's good to have a pleasant enough recording and the tempi seem just about where I think they should be but that's always a personal taste thing, I guess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, 17 April 2006
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
For those of you really into classical music, this album is a masterpiece. In my opinion the Brandenburg Concertos are musical masterpieces and this recording of them does not disappoint. The composer, Neville Marriner, takes the tempo about right most of the time, and the performance is generally very good. The recording is not the best, but this is not particularly noticeable, unless you're really listening out for it. Overall, a bargain given the price and the nature of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Ian Paterson (Helston, Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
The Academy never fails to deliver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos
Bach: Brandenburg Concertos by Academy of St. Martin in the Fields (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews