Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Mozart concerti
I don't think this series of three discs by Mitsuko Uchida and the ECO can be bettered. I have enthused about her Complete Mozart Piano Sonatas and the Concerti are just as good. Uchida has a real empathy with Mozart, I think, and you get the sense of love and joy in the music combined with magnificent musicianship.

She is crisp and sensitive in the quicker...
Published on 5 Mar 2007 by Sid Nuncius

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is it a piano?
Very disappointed, the "remastering was so intense that the piano sounded like a xylophone, all the guts taken out of it. What a shame as the underlying performance was superb. Would like to hear the original.
Published 11 months ago by fran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Mozart concerti, 5 Mar 2007
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
I don't think this series of three discs by Mitsuko Uchida and the ECO can be bettered. I have enthused about her Complete Mozart Piano Sonatas and the Concerti are just as good. Uchida has a real empathy with Mozart, I think, and you get the sense of love and joy in the music combined with magnificent musicianship.

She is crisp and sensitive in the quicker outer movements and has the power when needed to play as the orchestra's equal. In the slow movements Uchida's beautiful tone is a joy and she judges the mood perfectly, making them truly beautiful without a hint of sentimentality or Mozartkugel-flavoured kitsch. This is not easy in such over-exposed movements as the Andante of K467, for example, but she is absolutely exemplary in her empathy and restraint.

The English Chamber Orchestra are ideal in this repertoire. It is no coincidence that both Uchida and the great Murray Perahia chose them for their Mozart recordings. The orchestra - here under Jeffrey Tate - are vigorous, supple and responsive and again avoid any intrusion of the saccharine nonsense which mars some Mozart performances. You can almost hear the collective grins of the orchestra during some of Mozart's more outrageous show-off finales, and there is a fabulous understanding between them and Uchida who worked with the ECO a lot.

It seems to me that the only close competitor to this series is Murray Perahia's Complete Mozart Piano Concerti (also with the ECO) which are equally good, but weigh in at well over 60. And it's worth saying that on Radio 3's Building A Library, the reviewer said that he couldn't imagine even Mozart playing Mozart more beautifully than Murray Perahia, but still chose Uchida's recording of the Jeunehomme Concerto (K271, on Volume 3) as the best available. I'm not arguing with either part of that. In fact I've ended up with both Perahia and Uchida's sets and love both, but at budget price you simply can't go wrong with the Uchida set.

If you're undecided, I suggest you buy Volume 1, and I bet you'll only have to listen to the drama of the opening Allegro of K466 and the sheer beauty of its second movement Romance before wanting to order the other two.

The only minor drawback of these recordings is that the packaging looks rather cheap and the notes are sketchy, but the music more than compensates.

Mitsuko Uchida is, in my view anyway, one of the truly great Mozart players of our generation, and this is her at her magnificent best. Recommended without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Mozart, 9 Mar 2011
By 
William M. Poulton (Newcastle/Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
If you really want the very best of the Mozart Concertos, you need this and Voume 2. On both disks Mitsuko Uchida gives a masterly interpretation of these wonderful works which range from the deeply tragic Nos 19 & 24 (the only two in a minor key) to the gentle lyricism of No. 21 and the melancholy beauty of No. 23. These are not to be missed as they represent the peak of Mozart's genius. Unfortunately you do need to buy both sets (Volumes 1 & 2) to get them all - the indispensable C min (No. 24) being in Volume 2 and the others mentioned above in Volume 1. The quality of both sets is very high both in recording and performance and I thoroughly recommend them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Performances, Excellent Value, 17 April 2012
By 
Philip Watts (Holmes Chapel, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
These recordings are classic Mozart - bright, fleet, elegant and profound. Soloist and orchestra bring out all the nuances in Mozart's musical and emotional palette. A delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great performance but recording a little soft, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
This double CD collection has some of Mozart's best ever piano concertos, all well executed by the brilliant Mitsuko Uchida and the equally brilliant English Chamber Orchestra under Jeffrey Tate. However, the recording is a little on the soft side and you have to really turn it up to enjoy the full glory of the concertos,hence only the 4 stars. Might have something to do with these being remastered recordings. Will still thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicate & Noble Mozart, 28 May 2008
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
Mitsuko Uchida is not my kind of pianist, once very disappointed by her wishywashy rendition of Debussy's 12 etudes, but when she plays Mozart, few pianists can match. This set includes all of my favourite Mozart concertos and is sheer bliss to your ears from begining to end, filled with magical moments and noble poise.

Check out A.Rubinstein's RCA 2 disc set as well, quite a contrast to Uchida and Perahia's style but outstanding in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is it a piano?, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
Very disappointed, the "remastering was so intense that the piano sounded like a xylophone, all the guts taken out of it. What a shame as the underlying performance was superb. Would like to hear the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complementary vision to match the very established Perahia set, 19 Mar 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
This pair of discs, very well and naturally recorded in the mid to late 1980's, is one of a group of such pairs which together encompass the 'great' piano concertos of Mozart played by this team. Both Uchida and Perahia in his total survey are partnered by the excellent English Chamber orchestra, the main difference being that Perahia leads them himself and Uchida has the attentive presence of Jeffrey Tate as the totally sympathetic conductor.

Both soloists play with impeccable taste and style which falls absolutely within the remit of the Classical period. However there are differences in touch and phrasing which are worth considering. In general I think it is fair to say that Perahia brings a slightly more forceful tone to bear throughout whereas Uchida has a more rounded, gentler touch. Perahia is slightly crisper in his articulation and Uchida is a touch more legato. These are very tiny differences and should not be exaggerated as these players are really providing very similar interpretations, just different sides of the same coin.

The presence of Tate as a conductor on this set is another significant difference as he ensures a greater degree of dialogue between the soloist and the orchestra and generally the orchestral contribution is more involving. This is not so much accompanying as partnering.

Without wishing to be in any way trite or controversial, I would be tempted say that the difference is a gender one - that of a masculine and feminine approach to the same viewpoint. It is as small but as noticeable as that. Tate is an advantage in so far as he enables the interplay of orchestral dialogue to be that little more interactive with the piano. This is a matter of balance that is easier for a conductor to encourage than the soloist who must, by definition, be otherwise engaged a great deal of the time.

In my disc collection I have both Perahia and Uchida as equal reference sets with various other contributions of note represented by the likes of Curzon, Imogen Cooper and Anderszewski. This is my personal choice of balance and as such I avoid making choices between Perahia and Uchida whom I view as equals in terms of musical satisfaction.

In conclusion therefore, I would strongly suggest that these recordings by Uchida deserve to be considered with the very best when it comes to potential choices for purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Perfomance, but old recordings, 20 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
These recordings were made in 1988/9, (in DDD format , but at that time probably 16bit 44khz) and reissued on these discs. Tne interpretation is delightful , and as I have a copy of the TV series 'Simply Mozart' by the same artists I bought these discs to complete the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Mozart, 3 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
This is beautiful Mozart playing both by the orchestra and the soloist. The book of Proverbs says that " oil and perfume make the heart glad" I would gladly substitute 'music' for 'oil and perfume' and here there is a generous measure of gladness, pressed down and running over. Anyone wishing an introduction to Mozart's Great Piano Concertos can buy this with confidence and, unless they don't like Mozart's music, will find it a constant and continuing delight. Those with particular views of how the music should be played will find a plus here and a minus there, but I find these things are often minutiae and tell us more about the views and taste of the commentator than of the performance. As an instance of this, the Penguin Guide speaks of Uchidas's playing here as being like Dresden china and at a times a little over civilised. Well, I can take her civilised playing endlessly. If someone wants just one recording of this music, Uchida and Tate will stand comparison with many and the competition in this is very strong - Barenboim, Schiff, Perahia, Brendel, Ashkenazy. I would be very happy to have this as my only recording of these concertos but, in the end, I reserve the last star for my own favourites, Ashkenazy and Brendel. But then, that's just my view of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good recording. Excellent sound quality, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 (Audio CD)
Very good recording.Excellent sound quality .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1
Mozart: The Great Piano Concertos Vol. 1 by Mitsuko Uchida (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews