Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Born
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars56
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2001
After having heard 'Victory' on a classics compilation (seeing as it IS classical, only with enw ilfe breathed in!), I knew Bond were going to be something good, and the samples I have heard are fantastic!! Born is something that classical music needs; a invigoration, taking inspiration and energy from so many differen worlds of music, to create something that is new, alive and very refreshing.
Buy this CD, and you will NEVER regret it!!!
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2001
This is an amazing CD - hardly 'pop' as previously described, closer to the dance music so popular these days. The tracks range from folk through true classical to music that would not sound out of place in a film score. I adore 'Oceanic' and find it one of the most relexing pieces I have ever listened to. Keep an open mind - don't knock it as classical trash, but don't try and label it as pop either. This is far far more than that. Absolutely brilliant!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2006
I'm a hardened, dyed-in-the-wool classical music lover. I have hundreds of classical cds and maybe one shelf of what you'd call pop.

This cd, as has been said, is not classical. Oh sure, the tunes are familiar, but there's a disco beat to them and they've been heavily arranged. When I first saw this group, I did wonder if they were following the lamentable modern trend of looks over talent.

But you know what? I actually really enjoyed it. These ladies can play. Very well, in fact. It's perfect if you like classical, but are in the mood for something a little wilder, or maybe if you are not at all into classical but want to dip your toe in the water.

In short, this was the first Bond album I bought. I now own three.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2000
This album was one of my very few impulse buys. I heard it playing in my music store and just had to have it. This, I should add, was before I'd even heard of or seen the band.
Sure, the group use sex appeal and pop influences in their songs, and that has probably already earned the ire of the classical purists, but that doesn't detract from the quality of this album. The crossbreeding of pop and classical is notoriously difficult, and few artists cross the divide with any sucess, but this time it works and does so spectacularly. It manages to combine the best parts of both, the majesty of classical music with the energy of pop and somehow not lose the best bits of either.
A worthy addition to lovers of either genre, and too bad that what can only be described as snobbery kept it out of the classical charts.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This cd is without a doubt one of this years greats. There most promotional song Victory will be in your head for a very long time, especially as the cd comes with a bonus track of Victory mixed by Mike Batt. A cross between traditional and contemporary classical music, always mixed with a little technology. 13 tracks of pure enjoyment, from fast and furious such as the 1812, to the more mellow Kismet which was wrote by one of the Girls themselves (the celloist Gay Yee). All together this Cd needs and deserves to be in your collection, as you will never tire of it. This is classical music for the millenium, and it doesn't get any better than this.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
I have to admit to buying this cd after seeing these stunning girls on tv playing victory.I was completly blown away by their performance, they were so sexy and they looked so much to be enjoying playing their music. The production on the album is stunning and I can't say there is a single bad track, which in its self is an achievement. It is a great album to put on when you are feeling a bit down, if this dosent lift your spirits, nothing will. If you are a lover of good, exiting music I suggest you put this on your christmas list.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
'Born' was bought for me as a Christmas present and I can't get the music out of my head. After a Christmas chart of novelty records and insipid ballards Bond blast from the CD player like a rocket. Each track is refreshing and exciting. Their energetic spin on classical music makes the record a thrilling find.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
Although, as stated by a previous reviewer, Bond's music is not strictly "classical" in nature it is nevertheless an inspiring and uplifting album and is certain to enliven the most down-hearted soul. I hope that Bond give their unique sound many more airings!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
As the album's title suggests, something new is being born. Welcome to a not-quite-well-known kind of music – classical music with dance beats. This is Bond, a half-Australian/half-UK band consisting of four women with a first violin, a second violin, a viola and a cello. It's all very elegant, but with enough fun to go around, and is perfect for ice-skating to, as was demonstrated at the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Olympics.
The début single, "Victory", is lively, fun and flirtatious, and Mike Batt's mix is just a bit faster and more uplifting. "Duel" is exactly as its name suggests – instruments vying for attention, but at the same time make a mighty good combination.
Meanwhile, Tchaikovsky’s "The 1812" starts off slow, but builds to something lively and energetic. And "Kismet", written by band member Gay-Yee Westerhoff, and is the most outstanding track on the album. It begins slowly and mysteriously, rising with drama before falling gently again, and so the pattern continues, with a particularly moving bridge.
"Bella Donna", written by band member Eos Chater, is a good choice for an elegant evening or to accompany danseurs. In 3/4 timing, it sways with sadness but yet has hope within it. And if you're looking for a suitable song for a funeral, consider "Hymn". It's calm and peaceful, with reflection and signs of new life ahead.
While this album has been carefully constructed, it seems to be withholding something. The problem must be the track selection, but this certainly gets fixed in Bond's second album...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 29 December 2013
I can remember this when it first came out and thinking, these 4 girls are just what the "classical" music sector needed. Beautifully composed music and performed to perfection. This was their first album and it's still great to listen to. Their music is lively and not dull so provides a different take on classical music, almost a cross of classical and pop. Good value and the audio quality is top notch, an added bonus is it's very good value. For those wondering Bond are a British/Australian string quartet and are still going to this day! RECOMMENDED!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.