Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
After having heard 'Victory' on a classics compilation (seeing as it IS classical, only with enw ilfe breathed in!), I knew Bond were going to be something good, and the samples I have heard are fantastic!! Born is something that classical music needs; a invigoration, taking inspiration and energy from so many differen worlds of music, to create something that is new,...
Published on 22 April 2001 by Ian Kidd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great CD but...
Very enjoyable attempt to spread the appeal of classical music.

I have an issue with one surprising enjoyable track - Dalalai. It starts off with the distant/crackly vinyl effect, and then settles into the track with no vinyl noise. A nice jiggly little number. But at about 1:04 into the track there seems to be to be digital/cd type noise, as if the CD was...
Published on 17 Sep 2011 by Just A Consumer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 April 2001
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
After having heard 'Victory' on a classics compilation (seeing as it IS classical, only with enw ilfe breathed in!), I knew Bond were going to be something good, and the samples I have heard are fantastic!! Born is something that classical music needs; a invigoration, taking inspiration and energy from so many differen worlds of music, to create something that is new, alive and very refreshing.
Buy this CD, and you will NEVER regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 1 Jun 2001
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
This is an amazing CD - hardly 'pop' as previously described, closer to the dance music so popular these days. The tracks range from folk through true classical to music that would not sound out of place in a film score. I adore 'Oceanic' and find it one of the most relexing pieces I have ever listened to. Keep an open mind - don't knock it as classical trash, but don't try and label it as pop either. This is far far more than that. Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just pretty faces, 28 Sep 2006
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
I'm a hardened, dyed-in-the-wool classical music lover. I have hundreds of classical cds and maybe one shelf of what you'd call pop.

This cd, as has been said, is not classical. Oh sure, the tunes are familiar, but there's a disco beat to them and they've been heavily arranged. When I first saw this group, I did wonder if they were following the lamentable modern trend of looks over talent.

But you know what? I actually really enjoyed it. These ladies can play. Very well, in fact. It's perfect if you like classical, but are in the mood for something a little wilder, or maybe if you are not at all into classical but want to dip your toe in the water.

In short, this was the first Bond album I bought. I now own three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond blast from the C-D player like a rocket., 28 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
'Born' was bought for me as a Christmas present and I can't get the music out of my head. After a Christmas chart of novelty records and insipid ballards Bond blast from the CD player like a rocket. Each track is refreshing and exciting. Their energetic spin on classical music makes the record a thrilling find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot more than pretty faces....., 11 Nov 2000
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
This album was one of my very few impulse buys. I heard it playing in my music store and just had to have it. This, I should add, was before I'd even heard of or seen the band.
Sure, the group use sex appeal and pop influences in their songs, and that has probably already earned the ire of the classical purists, but that doesn't detract from the quality of this album. The crossbreeding of pop and classical is notoriously difficult, and few artists cross the divide with any sucess, but this time it works and does so spectacularly. It manages to combine the best parts of both, the majesty of classical music with the energy of pop and somehow not lose the best bits of either.
A worthy addition to lovers of either genre, and too bad that what can only be described as snobbery kept it out of the classical charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical for the new age, 7 Oct 2000
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
This cd is without a doubt one of this years greats. There most promotional song Victory will be in your head for a very long time, especially as the cd comes with a bonus track of Victory mixed by Mike Batt. A cross between traditional and contemporary classical music, always mixed with a little technology. 13 tracks of pure enjoyment, from fast and furious such as the 1812, to the more mellow Kismet which was wrote by one of the Girls themselves (the celloist Gay Yee). All together this Cd needs and deserves to be in your collection, as you will never tire of it. This is classical music for the millenium, and it doesn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the most exiting album i have heard in a long time, 26 Nov 2000
By 
J. A. Bourne "tonybourne" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
I have to admit to buying this cd after seeing these stunning girls on tv playing victory.I was completly blown away by their performance, they were so sexy and they looked so much to be enjoying playing their music. The production on the album is stunning and I can't say there is a single bad track, which in its self is an achievement. It is a great album to put on when you are feeling a bit down, if this dosent lift your spirits, nothing will. If you are a lover of good, exiting music I suggest you put this on your christmas list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 26 July 2001
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
Although, as stated by a previous reviewer, Bond's music is not strictly "classical" in nature it is nevertheless an inspiring and uplifting album and is certain to enliven the most down-hearted soul. I hope that Bond give their unique sound many more airings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 4 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
I thought this album was absolutely brilliant! It's turned old classical tunes into modern up-beat hits. Victory, Oceanic, Kismet, The 1812 and Hymn have to be my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond's Original Album!, 29 Dec 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Born (Audio CD)
I can remember this when it first came out and thinking, these 4 girls are just what the "classical" music sector needed. Beautifully composed music and performed to perfection. This was their first album and it's still great to listen to. Their music is lively and not dull so provides a different take on classical music, almost a cross of classical and pop. Good value and the audio quality is top notch, an added bonus is it's very good value. For those wondering Bond are a British/Australian string quartet and are still going to this day! RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born
Born by Bond (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews