Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Film!
Chaykin's disturbing portrayal of a controlling father with an inappropriate relationship with his daughter (Langrick), is well complimented by Langrick's portrayal of an overly innocent girl far removed from "normal" society. This dark tale slowly unfolds with increasing discomfort as Stephen (Gross), given by father to daughter as a birthday present, tries to leave...
Published on 10 Dec 2007 by Flossie Ann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like psycho thrillers, buy it on DVD
Considering this movie was released in 1989, "Cold Comfort" holds up pretty well. I'd give it 3 stars out of 5. Very strange psychological thriller, briefly involves a bear trap. I saw this movie described as "Fargo" like. I think it's more a cross between "Fargo" and "Deliverance", but then again, it did get nominated for 5 Genie Awards (Canadian Oscars) in 1990 and...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Jean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Film!, 10 Dec 2007
This review is from: Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Chaykin's disturbing portrayal of a controlling father with an inappropriate relationship with his daughter (Langrick), is well complimented by Langrick's portrayal of an overly innocent girl far removed from "normal" society. This dark tale slowly unfolds with increasing discomfort as Stephen (Gross), given by father to daughter as a birthday present, tries to leave their clutches with increasing desperation as he begins to realise he is not so much a guest, but more of a possession... Gross acts his part extremely well, disintegrating from a confident, perhaps slightly arrogant, young salesman, to a man desperate to escape.

The sound and picture quality of this film is not great, and the at times overpowering sound track sometimes makes it difficult to decipher what the characters say. However there is plenty of imagery and intelligent script writing for the more discerning viewer, but also a good watch just at face value. I definately recommend this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars if you like psycho thrillers, buy it on DVD, 1 April 2009
By 
Jean (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Considering this movie was released in 1989, "Cold Comfort" holds up pretty well. I'd give it 3 stars out of 5. Very strange psychological thriller, briefly involves a bear trap. I saw this movie described as "Fargo" like. I think it's more a cross between "Fargo" and "Deliverance", but then again, it did get nominated for 5 Genie Awards (Canadian Oscars) in 1990 and actually won in the category of Best Adapted Screenplay. I would suggest only buying this on DVD, because I've seen it on VHS too and the picture quality was not nearly as good. That's why I searched on Amazon.co.UK for the DVD, and I received fast delivery to Pittsburgh, USA. If you're a Paul Gross or Maury Chaykin fan, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Watch, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD is more convenient than the VHS tape. This is a campy Canadian movie with a cult following that will continue to be watched. It has a certain audacity that is rarely seen today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll watch it again and again, 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
The characters have depth, the story is simple and seamless, and the result is a gripping tale about your Average Joe in incredibly bad circumstances. A travelling salesman with a slight preoccupation for money and packaging gets stuck in a snow drift and pulled out by a plainly disturbed man whose shabby tow truck can't pass inspection. Having been unconscious and mostly frozen, our travelling salesman is grateful to wake up in a warm cabin, even if he does consider it to be a dump. Lied to and manipulated, he ends up spending several days with the tow truck driver and his daughter, both of whom seem less normal and more frightening as the story progresses. The movie gives you everything you need to sort out each character, but it leaves some of the thinking to the audience. It's one worth watching again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Gross Rocks, 27 May 2010
This review is from: Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Cold Comfort is an amazing movie .. Paul Gross is awsome as ever ..
totally happy i finally got this dvd over the moon very happy with all ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantatic Paul Gross Film, 17 Jun 2006
By 
Vicki Tubridy (Limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this film because of paul gross didn't bexpect to find one of the best movies i've seen it will keep you watching from start to finish the charceters are prefectly cast the dad and paul gross and the daughter is perfect for the parts .buy it you won't be dissapionted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD]
Cold Comfort [1990] [DVD] by Vic Sarin (DVD - 2001)
£10.65
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews