Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful
My motto is "if Johnny Depp's in it, it's got to be worth a watch" and never is that more true than when speaking of Benny and Joon.
This film touched my heart and the hearts of those who I have shared it with. I love this film so much that Benny, Joon and Sam will forever be in my heart.

Mary Stuart Masterson is Joon, the "mentally ill" sister of Benny...
Published on 29 Oct 2006 by Leah Cox

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You can't bet a human being!
An auto mechanic named Benny is a devoted and adoring brother to his mentally ill sister, Joon. They exist well enough until Joon loses a poker game and both she and Benny have to take in another players cousin, Sam. Sam is quirky and eccentric, his antics falling in with those of the great Buster Keaton. Operating as house keeper, Sam quickly settles in and wins Benny...
Published on 4 July 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 29 Oct 2006
By 
My motto is "if Johnny Depp's in it, it's got to be worth a watch" and never is that more true than when speaking of Benny and Joon.
This film touched my heart and the hearts of those who I have shared it with. I love this film so much that Benny, Joon and Sam will forever be in my heart.

Mary Stuart Masterson is Joon, the "mentally ill" sister of Benny (Aidan Quinn). Their parents are unfortunatlely deceased and Benny has spent the majority of his life caring for Joon, never really having the time to make a life for himself. Cue Sam (beautifully played by Johnny Depp) who Joon "wins" when she loses in a game of poker... but never has there been a losing hand at poker that has had such an amazing impact on someones life.

Sam... the oddball (who has traces of Charlie Chaplin and Buster Keaton about him) sees the world through innocent eyes and is perfect for Joon, he sees past her condition and finds his way into her heart through his caring and quirky nature. This film takes you on the journey of a romance that is pure and unblinkered by what society expects of people... it's able to open your eyes and show you a twinkle of hope that love is still untainted and still able to sweep you off of your feet.

It's moving... heart wrenching even, but perfectly intwined with all the sweetness and innocence that a lot of movies of today lack. Benny and Joon never fails to put a smile on my face and I genuinely have fallen in love with the character Sam...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need is love - no matter how quirky it might be, 21 Aug 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Mary Stuart Masterson ever since I saw Some Kind of Wonderful, and Johnny Depp plays the kind of quirky characters I usually like, but something had kept me away from Benny & Joon all this time. Partly, it was the fact that I caught a few minutes of the movie on TV and saw Depp doing a whole vaudeville routine that smacked a little too much of mimes - like every sane person in the world, I detest mimes. At last, though, I have seen the film and I can declare it a wonderful motion picture - quirky, most certainly, but good and exceedingly human. It does stretch the theme of love conquers all just a bit, but who cares?
Mary Stuart Masterson plays Joon, a young woman with a mental illness that is never clearly delineated - she's been known to start little fires, she sometimes hears voices in her head, and there is a somewhat childlike character to her nature. Aidan Quinn plays her brother Benny, a truly good guy who puts his sister's needs ahead of his own - even if it means turning down dinner with a hot chick. The siblings are approaching a crossroads, though - Joon has just run off another housekeeper, Benny can't find anyone to stay with her during the day, and all the while Joon's doctor is urging Benny to put her in a group home. Then Sam (Johnny Depp) arrives, after Joon wins him in a poker game - he's one of Benny's buddy's cousins, and he's driving the guy crazy. Benny takes him home temporarily, and things soon begin to change around the house.
Sam is even weirder than Joon (he makes grilled cheese sandwiches with an iron, for example), so naturally the two hit it off quite well. He has his own problems, but his quirky ways and Buster Keaton-inspired antics quickly win over Benny and most especially Joon. Benny even starts seeing a local girl named Ruthie (Julianne Moore), whom Sam immediately recognized as a B-movie actress from a few years past. Then, of course, romantic love rears its ugly head, and things go south in a hurry for everyone concerned, pushing Joon into a serious episode that shows Sam just how sick she really is.
Aidan Quinn is quite good in his role of Benny (and Julianne Moore is a nice bonus for the film), but Depp and Masterson clearly carry the story with their characters' quirky antics and heart-warming commitment to one another. As I alluded to, I'm not a fan of the whole Buster Keaton comedy shtick, but Depp proves a master at it, and he and Masterson have a real chemistry between them. There's high drama alongside a fair amount of subdued comedy, but Benny & Joon is an unashamedly feel-good movie, quite predictable yet charming and touching - and blessed with an extremely talented cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie will hit your heart with an amazing force., 20 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This film is incredibly moving. The story of a mentally ill woman with an overprotective brother who just can't let her go. When she falls in love with Sam, who is a little mentally challenged, her brother is a little angry to say the least. I won't spoil the end for anyone but I will say it is so......nice! At one point in the movie when Sam wants to apply for a job and has to fill out a form it almost broke my heart to see his handwriting like a little childs and the only part he could understand was his name. it was just so sad. Sam is brilliantly played by Johnny Depp, the most talented actor EVER! I can't imagaine anyone else playing Sam as excellent and moving as Mr Depp who is so blessed with an incredible talent. The rest of the cast are also great. It is a truly amazing, stunning, excellent, moving, touching and funny film. It's everything you could want from a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 30 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Depp continued his early nineties love of starring as offbeat characters, the type of characters that most actors would avoid taking on for fear of embarrassment or losing credibility. It may be true that very few actors have the ability to carry off such characters with skill, and make them believable and charming. Depp is the master of these roles, and in Benny and Joon he again proves his great talent and versatility. He may be the big name, and steals most of the scenes he is in, but the surrounding cast and story make it an enduring film of bittersweet romance and tries to prove that there is hope for all of us when it comes to love.

Benny and Joon were orphaned at a young age, and Benny has spent the greater part of his life looking after his mentally ill younger sister. Joon is slightly unbalanced and sometimes gets herself in trouble by burning things and causing 'public disturbances'. Benny works as a mechanic in a garage, has never been away from home or had a proper relationship as he feels he must always look after Joon. Recently Joon has been getting more unstable leading psychiatrists to advise that she be put in a home under care. Benny wants to live a normal life but cannot leave his sister. Joon is an incredibly smart and talented young woman but would never ask to be put in a home. On one of their regular poker nights Benny's friends play cards with Joon as Benny is late. The stakes are high- a week's washing, a troll toy etc. One friend puts his newly found cousin Sam in the pot, a 26 year old who can't read and spends his time watching movies and emulating Buster Keaton. Joon loses, and Benny has a new house guest. At first he seems odd, but as time goes on he proves to be a source of goodness in the household, and Joon falls for him. Sam also manages to get local waitress and B-Movie star Ruthie involved with Benny. However, when Benny finds out what has been going on between Sam and Joon he is furious, leading to Joon being committed. Benny realises his mistakes and asks Sam to help bring Joon back.

Above all this is a warm hearted tale with some good performances. Depp is superb when getting up to his supposedly unusual antics, Masterson manages well with an equally difficult role, and Quinn holds it together with his subtle performance of a character who must cope with the weirdness around him. Moore provides fine support as Ruthie, and there are a few funny moments. The film does not push for laughs or heart-felt tears and therefore is quietly charming and should hopefully leave most with a feeling of good-will afterwards. The director deals with mental illness as many before have, that it makes a person more lovable, and whether or not this is true it does not get in the way of the plot. Joon does not seem that different from everyone else, and Sam is a born entertainer, but a spontaneous one who should not be put on stage. It may be too slow and subtle for some, and it doesn't have the look or emotion of Edward Scissorhands, but it is nevertheless a fine movie and one which was destined to have a cult following.

The DVD only comes with a trailer, a making of and commentary would have also been nice, but at under a fiver it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I stumbled across Benny and Joon by accident whilst browsing on amazon. I had actually never heard of the film but decided to buy it based on the positive reviews.
Really glad i bought it as i thought it was great! The acting is excellent by the whole cast and Sam (Depp) was Very funny.
Even my boyfriend who was very sceptical bout the film actually enjoyed it!
I think that the love story between Sam and Joon is heartwarming yet not too soppy and i loved the happy ending.

Definately worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hand me the iron, there's bread that needs toasting, 27 Aug 2003
By 
Fisket (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I bought this film for the fact that Johnny Depp is in it, and while I was not disappointed in the least, he is by no means the only good thing about this crazily brilliant film.
The basic premise of the film is that Joon, a girl with psychological problems and a very protective older brother, wins a guy named Sam in a game of cards. She and Sam fall in love, leaving them with the task of telling Benny and living to see another day, and getting past Joon's harder problems associated with her mental disorder.
From this summary, you can already see how this film is such a mix of genres.
'Benny and Joon' could be classified as a romance, a drama, a comedy or an angst flick, but really it's simply a perfect blend of all four, with a quirkiness factor that just makes it very original and incredibly amusing to watch.
I laughed out loud more times than I can count: I had no idea Depp was so talented at playing comedic roles. On the other hand, there are moments when Sam shows sincerity and maturity, which keep his character admirable and realistic- no one can be a clown *all* the time without ending up looking stupid and insensitive. And Depp even manages to pull off a character who wears a top-hat and tails in marvellous style!
There is such a balance of the elements in this film: the romance scenes between Joon and Sam are my favourites of any film I've ever seen, and this is already one of my favourite films of all time. It's just so different from the usual, samey 'boy meets girl' sludge from the bottom of the Hollywood barrel.
You should definitely see this film. It's one of a kind, and more than entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic, quirky and totally Depp!, 8 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Johnny Depp plays a young man that is bought into siblings Benny and Joon's lives courtesy of a card game. Benny already has enough on his plate with a mentally challenged sister, but the oddness of Depp's character Benny (Quinn) everyone thinking that he is the perfect babysitter. However, the inevitable romance between Joon and Depp takes many turns for both the better and worse. Some great supporting actors like Dan Hedya (Dick), Oliver Platt (Flatliners) & Julianne Moore (Hannibal) add to this already classic romantic comedy that will will satisfy any Depp fanatic. A must have, especially now on DVD with added quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky and magical, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
An absolutly compelling tale of how love conquers all. This film really makes you feel good inside, often hilarious at points, it balances out humour with sadness without bordering on ridiculous. An excellent performance from Depp as usual, he captures the heart and soul of Sam, with hilarious consequences. Masterson's portrayal of shy Joon is absolutely exceptional, we see her character change rapidly as an unlikely romance starts to bloom between her and Sam. A sweet, romantic comedy which proves that there really is someone out there for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a shame about raisins....", 19 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This film is really amazing- I really recommend it. Here is a quick summary of the plot:
The slightly mentally impaired Joon Pearl (or Juniper) is a little strange. She paints, throws objects, directs traffic wearing a snorkelling mask and even sets fire to things but is also very clever with words.
She lives with her overprotective brother, Benny, who owns a car-repair shop and looks after Joon. He can never do anything for himself or have a relationship without worrying about Joon. He is driven to the point of despair after another housekeeper resigns after being driven away by another one of Joon's sudden and often violent outbursts. That night Joon is playing poker with Benny's friends and wins Sam, a whimsical, charming (and absolutely GORGEOUS) misfit who is a Buster Keaton fan and walks and dresses exactly like him. Johnny Depp puts a perfect twist on this character as he so often does. Benny, naturally, is not particularly thrilled at this ("You can't bet a human being!") but eventually agress to take Sam home, realizing that maybe for a few days the housekeeper problem can be set aside.
Unavoidably, Joon and Sam fall in love in the time to follow and when Benny finds out about this he kicks Sam out of the house (evil, I know) and then...well, I don't want to spoil it.
In a sequence of extremely comical and serious scenes (Joon's ilness is not romanticized and is actually quite heart-breaking), the viewer is led to a charming and happy ending for all people involved (even Benny, because through finding love for himself he has been able to let go of Joon).
And you will LOVE the opening song!!! In fact, the entire soundtrack is amazing and worth buying, too. Really feel-good-y.
This is a beautiful, charming, adorable romantic comedy (although not fluffy) that won't leave you reaching for the sick bag. The acting is fantastic and about 45 minutes through and you will already be swooning for Sam, who is just the cutest thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous film!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I first saw this film last December in a friend's house, but missed the first 45 minutes of it! I now own it on DVD & love it to death!!!
The story surrounds Benny & Joon Pearl, two siblings who have lived together since the accidental death of their parents in a car crash. Benny (Aidan Quinn) works as a car mechanic, but finds it difficult to form a long-term relationship with any woman he meets.
One night whilst playing cards with Benny's friends, Joon (Mary Stuart Masterson) loses her hand but wins Sam (Johnny Depp), who is an avid silent movie fan. He moves in with Benny & Joon for what, at first, looks like a night but turns into a permanent stay. Benny thinks this may be the answer to all his problems & it will also avoid him putting his sister in a group home, as he doesn't like those sort of places.
Unfortunately (for Benny), Sam & Joon fall in love (& I would be madly in love with him if I was in her position! *lol*),but I better not give away the rest of the story for those who haven't seen it!
The strong message that I got from this movie was to "accept people for who they really are inside". I felt so sorry for the way Joon was treated by her brother, but was so happy when Sam came into her life, as he didn't see her as mentally ill, but as a normal human being. I wish all human beings were seen in the same way!
The performances in this film are absolutely outstanding, but Johnny Depp's was the best (& funniest!) & I would love a person like Sam to be one of my best friends!
This film had me smiling from start to finish & I loved the comedy routines in the park - I couldn't believe it was Johnny himself doing all those stunts in that scene!
I won't ramble on for much longer, but I will say this: PLEASE SEE THIS FILM! IT IS SWEET & FUNNY & YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
Thanx for reading my comment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993]
Benny And Joon [DVD] [1993] by Jeremiah S. Chechik (DVD - 2001)
£5.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews