Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hypnotic tajeen of Middle Eastern pulse
Having enjoyed "Arabesque" so greatly, I was delighted to spot Arabesque Zoudge on sale.
Other reviewers haven't enjoyed it as much as the first album, and yes, it *is* different, but I have enjoyed it with equal relish as the first. Less mainstream pop with an Arab twist, this album feels more traditionally Arabic in its selection: those deep throbbing...
Published on 1 Oct 2001

versus
20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing....
Unfortunately, there is nothing new with this compilation. It's a very traditional album so don't expect to find the funk and the avant-garde of Arabesque 1. What happened? and why 2 Khaled tracks ? Why 2 tracks by Omar Faruk ? Where are the new talents?? I was very excited to buy the Volume 2 of the serie but I have to admit this album is a big disappointment.
Published on 17 Sep 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hypnotic tajeen of Middle Eastern pulse, 1 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Having enjoyed "Arabesque" so greatly, I was delighted to spot Arabesque Zoudge on sale.
Other reviewers haven't enjoyed it as much as the first album, and yes, it *is* different, but I have enjoyed it with equal relish as the first. Less mainstream pop with an Arab twist, this album feels more traditionally Arabic in its selection: those deep throbbing rhythms that awakens something in the soul; the beautiful and haunting moaning of the female singers, including the brilliant Natacha Atlas and Andrea Monteiro; those clear and hypnotic flute and string riffs which cut straight through and echo each other over the pulsating percussion.
1,2,3 Soleil's "Khalliouni Khalliouni" is performed live brilliantly and I challenge any listener not to tap his foot, nod his head in time, or even stand up and swing his hips.
I also enjoy the packaging - a triple gatefold interior which houses the CD itself tucks into a printed cardboard sleeve. The indication is that this is more than just the music, it's a whole experience.
And I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first one!, 4 Jan 2002
By 
V. A. Millett "vinceabdulazeem" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Overall this is probably funkier than volume one, keeping a groove going beautifully all the way through. There's a good mix of "western" Arabic music (Natasha Atlas) with more traditional music but they work superbly together. A very evocative and successful compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funky Arab, 6 Oct 2003
By 
D J Redding (Balham, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Great selection on this compliation with no weak tracks and a good mixture between funked up (very dancable) tracks and more traditional excecutions - all done with style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing...., 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Unfortunately, there is nothing new with this compilation. It's a very traditional album so don't expect to find the funk and the avant-garde of Arabesque 1. What happened? and why 2 Khaled tracks ? Why 2 tracks by Omar Faruk ? Where are the new talents?? I was very excited to buy the Volume 2 of the serie but I have to admit this album is a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One For trying, one for the pakaging!, 2 July 2004
This review is from: Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
One wonders sometimes. Do I wait and do something good? or, let's just put something together and make some quick money! I am sure Mr Murad "momo" as he likes to be called didn't ask himself this question. This CD might sound alright to someone who does not know much about eastern music. Most of the tracks resemble each other...The Khaled track "liberte" was a nice touch though, it is a very rare track!
I certainly couldn't picture anyone dancing to most of the tracks. Maybe the "1,2,3 Soleil" might do. These Arabesque compilations have lost their sparkle when Francis Peyrat stoped compiling! Other than that, if you want to buy this CD do not expect much...I would not recommend the Third one either!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tiresome wailing and breakbeats, 2 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
The world fusion scene sounded quite fresh in the early 1990s, thanks to bands like Transglobal Underground but now comes across as dated. Not just this album but most recent releases by acts ploughing this particular furrow. Frankly there's only so much wailing with breakbeats any sane person can take. If you really want to try out some world fusion, look elsewhere. There's little individuality between the tracks and certainly nothing to make you sit up and take notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2
Arabesque Zoudge Vol. 2 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews