Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2001
Say what you like about the four artists on this track, but you can't deny their vocal ability. Mya uses a lot of well placed ornamentation, and while she may be the weakest vocally out of the lot, she adds some much-needed soul to the proceedings. Pink, while not the best singer of the lot has loads of attitude and sass in her lyrics, and gives her verse a great going over. Lil' Kim injects some variation to the song with an unquestionably great rap, and finally, there's Christina. I know many people hate her for her samey songs and lack of showmanship, but you can't deny her vocal ability. She's easily the best of the bunch, and as a result, dominates the second half of the song. This four-way collaboration was a great idea, and it works REALLY well. OK, the video, with it's big hair, bad make-up and scary costumes was a little over-whelming at times, but this is a soundtrack to a film, let's not forget, that's supposed to be over-the-top and trippy. The one point where this song could have failed was the ability of the artists to perform it life. But after the phenomonal show at the MTV Awards, I think everybody will agree they all kicked ARSE!!! It was great. This is a jaw-dropping cover of a fabulous song, and a CD nobody should be ashamed of owning.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2001
Lady Marmalade is a classic remake of this great song.Sung by four stunning divas,Mya,Lil Kim,Pink and Christina Aguilera. All four divas blend together and show us there magical vocal talents.The song has a nice uptempo rhythm to it,and the chorus gives you a chance to sing to it. Myas vocals on this song are very soft and mellow,whilst Lil Kim and Pink provide lovely midrange vocals,and Christina Aguilera uses her amazing powerful vocals to put the final touches to the song. The song was very cleverly thought out,and to bring four such magical vocalists together on a song is a great idea. The overall summary is a great song,performed by four talented vocalists. Reviewed by......Mark Evans
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2001
Not being a huge fan of any of the featured artists (particularly Miss Christina "Why sing with when you can sing over the top of" Aguilera), I was dubious when I heard about this song being released. But trust Missy to bring it all together in a very funky package! This has been Number 1 on the Oz charts for the past month or so and should repeat that success in the UK. And if you think it works well on its own wait till you see how it's done in the film...oh and the film itself? Wow double wow and excuse me while I pick my jaw up off the floor!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2001
With a line up of vocalists like this you cant really go wrong, but this song totally blows me away! The songs been reworked to include rap, R&b, soul, and a whole lot of attitude. I think that it's a great introduction to an eagerly awaited film, and who better to wet your appetite than five totally talented and gorgeous divas. The bring total class to a classic song, which is so energetic it makes me want to get up on the dance floor, with amazing vocals and superb new lyrics...you go girls!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2001
If you like the original version be prepared to be blown away. This is an upbeat sassy song with truck loads of attitude. The quartet of singers is a match made in pop heaven. It starts off with the soft vocals of Mya and moves on to the huskier tones of Pink, Lil'Kim adds and in-your-face rap in the middle and it ends with the incredably powerful voice of Christina Aguilera. This version is far superior to anything else out there and is a definate must have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2001
As soon as you here this song you will love it- guarenteed! Its alot different from All Saints version(alot better aswell).The idea of bringing the four solo vocalists together works a treat. I advise everyone to buy it as it has a maximum feel good factor. Listen and ENJOY!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
This single blows away all other covers of Lady Marmalade. The vocal talents of all the artists show how poor and flat in comparison the All Saints version was. Christina Aguilera steals the show with vocals that compare to the worlds top divas. Buy it now
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2001
Buying this cd single will be the greatest thing you've ever done this year. Altough it has been four months since its release, it is still burning hot in my ears. The ladies obviously have given all into this song. I think i the new version of this song beats out the others and that includes the All Saints. But still Patti will be the greatest of all, because they are the first one to introduce the song. Above all, i don't recomend parents to teach their children the line 'Voulez-vous coucher avec moi ce soir'!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2001
This remake of a classic track was brave but has been done with real style. Mya may have the sofest
voice but she controls it better than Pink and Christina who try to out holler each other. Missy Elliott has over produced the track slightly. But Lil' Kim appears and gives the track "Classic" status once more, her fantastic rap gives the song something that the original will never have. She out shines the others with ease!!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2001
I hardly think any of these wanna be stars are ladies and they have taken what was a soulful song by a real lady (Patti Labelle) and ruined it. Don't waste your money on this version when you can still obtain Patti's.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.95
£3.16

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.