Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant reissue of this Brilliant Album
Well, I am a nearly 15-year-old ABBA fan. How come? I watched Mamma Mia! the movie and then searched for ABBA songs. It's been a year now, I've listened to all of their songs and I love nearly all of them. They are delightful. And yet I only own ABBA-The Albums, Arrival Deluxe Edition, The Album Deluxe edition and now this.

The original album is just brilliant...
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by Andreas

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original album: top - but the rest could be better!
I must admit that the release is quite disappointing to me. I even prefer the 2005 CSR remastering. I absolutely adore the album. But I don't quite get the fact that "Just A Notion" and "Rubber Ball Man" are missing - as they were left at a similar production stage as "Dream World". The explanation - that the reason for not releasing them is that parts of these songs were...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Dr. Paich


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
So many great songs. Abba were the best of their generation, I shall listen to their music for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ABBA + disco = bliss, 29 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
Spurred on by the success of the Bee Gees in the genre that was sweeping all before it as the Seventies ended, ABBA made a disco album. And there they stand on the sleeve in Stockholm's Alexandra disco, all dressed up for a night on the town. Except "Voulez Vous" isn't the seamless spin around the mirror ball you might expect. Two of these tracks are guaranteed to clear any dancefloor.

Things kick off promisingly with "As Good as New", all Classical strings set to a disco beat, before we get the title track and its whirling dervish call to dancefloor action, one prolonged sexual come-on. But then just as the party is hitting its stride the sappy "I Have a Dream" gatecrashes it (and brings with it a children's choir!). Later we get the second party pooper in "Chiquitita", an inferior South American-flavoured facsimile of "Fernando", the Latin strum-a-long smash from three years earlier.

Around these sentimental show stoppers the tempo picks up again with the remaining perfectly functional shiny dance-pop tracks. They effortlessly showcase the crystal clear girl harmonies while piling on the sexual tension. In many ways disco was a perfect fit for ABBA. Within disco women took centre stage, just as they did in the group. In both it's the woman's experience and female desire that are given voice. And it's a testament to the group's skill at this style that clubs fully embraced these and their later dance-orientated cuts.

That Andersson and Ulvaeus seemed incapable of sticking with one style throughout their albums is a clear drawback when attempting a disco album. Later CD versions of "Voulez Vous" add the non-album hit singles "Summer Night City" and "Gimme Gimme Gimme (A Man After Midnight)", the foursome's most convincing excursions onto the dancefloor. With these this collection finally begins to look like the epic disco opus we were promised. In fact, I have a dream: had the original album replaced the two schmalzfests with these later triumphs then "Voulez Vous" would have without doubt been the greatest disco album ever. Instead we have to settle for just a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Release, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
What a fantastic release this is, REALLY worth getting the DVD is superb with many
of the programmes and sections having never been released before it is great to be
able to see them all again.

The quality of the the CD is just superb and to have the bonus tracks and other
related tracks all together on one CD is just brilliant.

One awesome package and great value from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voulez Vous Cd & DVD, 4 July 2010
By 
Mr. A. Crawford "Crawfty" (Belfast N.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
As usual this CD re-issue has got extra tracks recorded at the same time, full length version of Summernight City, full length version of Gimme Gimme Gimme ( a man after midnight) full length version of Voulez Vous (disco remix) & Dream World but nothing new.
The DVD on the other hand wow, ABBA in Switzerland & various tv performances. Why did they never release If it wasn't for the Nights as a single, it has always been one of my favorite tracks with a great beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABBA's disco album plus a smattering of beautiful ballads, 28 Jun 2001
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
ABBA do disco - and make it all their own!
Listen to opening track As Good As New and you'll be in no doubt about the intention of this album: a smooth, classy, almost classical take on disco, full of great harmonies and catchy melodies.
Irresistible dance-floor fillers like Voulez-Vous and bonus tracks Gimme, Gimme, Gimme and Summer Night City keep the pace going, but it wouldn't be ABBA without a ballad or two and here it's Spanish-flavoured Chiquitita and a song for the ever-optimistic, I Have a Dream, that temporarily calm the tempo. I Have a Dream is worth revisiting if only to hear how it should be sung (ie. not like Westlife!)
Frida sounds particularly mellow on The King Has Lost His Crown, while Agnetha really hammers those vocal chords on Kisses of Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abba dabba doo, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
(Sorry about the title)
This is Abba at just about their best. I think most real feet-on-the-ground rose-tinted-spectacles-off Abba fans will admit that there's at least one duff track per album. This is no exception, but when you find out that the two candidates here are Lovers Live a Little Longer, which is a 2 and an half out of 5, and I Have a Dream, which is just a bit too twee for me - then you know you're on to a good thing.
Jam packed with singles and including two more that should've been (As Good as New and Kisses of Fire).
They've made better songs (see esp. The Visitors and Super Trouper) but for all round vfm, look no further.
Couldn't give it 4 and a half so forced to go for 5.
Nevertheless - Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original album: top - but the rest could be better!, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
I must admit that the release is quite disappointing to me. I even prefer the 2005 CSR remastering. I absolutely adore the album. But I don't quite get the fact that "Just A Notion" and "Rubber Ball Man" are missing - as they were left at a similar production stage as "Dream World". The explanation - that the reason for not releasing them is that parts of these songs were used in other songs - is for me not really logical - as "Dream World" also has parts that were used in "Does Your Mother Know". The alternatively mixed VV-songs on the DVD are interesting, though. Otherwise for me not so interesing as it could have been. Why not give the fans something REALLY interesting - that makes this "Deluxe" Edition something really special? The material is gathering dust in the vaults...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ABBA album. One of the best, 1 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
'Voulez-Vous' is the ABBA album that is full of disco tracks. It is so energetic and thoroughly enjoyable to listen to. These 24-bit remastering CD's are simply amazing indeed. My favourite track from this album is 'Angeleyes.' It has the best beat out of all the songs on 'Voulez-Vous.' I also love 'As Good As New', 'Kisses of Fire', 'Does Your Mother Know', 'If It wasn't For The Nights', 'I Have A Dream' and 'The King Has Lost His Crown.'

I also enjoy the bonus tracks featured on 'Voulez-Vous.' 'Lovelight' was the B-side to 'Chiquitita' when the single was released. 'Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)' is magnificent' and the same goes to 'Summer Night City.' A Fantastic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voulez-vous? You betcha!, 4 July 2007
By 
T. Kavanagh "tony" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voulez-Vous (Audio CD)
The ever adaptable ABBA kept their finger on the late 70s pulse by dipping into the sex-soaked disco culture. Without adopting genre wholesale, they got creative with some of its tricks for their own classic pop creations.

"If It Wasn't For The Nights", an absolute delight, is a perfect example of this marriage of dancefloor pizzazz to Abba's trademark piano-driven tunefulness. It is the No.1 single that should have been. The disco feel is more keenly felt on the album's zingy title track, which still sounds fresh almost 30 years on. Meanwhile, the sexy "Lovers" adds a sultry touch of funk to the mix.

Like any Abba album, great tunes are at the core. "Angeleyes" and "Chiquitita" are among Abba's all-time classics. The structure of the latter owes more to, perhaps, classical music than to pop and, like "I Have A Dream," is a little at odds with the overall feel of the album. Nevertheless, it demonstrates the breadth of Andersson's and Ulvaeus' talent. "The King Has Lost His Crown", with it's dreamy intro, Frida's sultry lead vocal and that melting string arrangement, is a hidden gem. Understandly so if you consider that 5 of the album's ten original tracks achieved A-side status: "Chiquitita", "Does Your Mother Know?", "Voulez-Vous", "Angeleyes" and "I Have A Dream".

This remastered version of the album is augmented by the 1978 hit single "Summer Night City", "Lovelight", (a B-side which actually sounds like an A-side) and the 1979 hit "Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!" - a sample of which breathed life into Madonna's "Hung Up". These bonus tracks were recorded during the album sessions and work well with the set.

Well mastered and crammed sull of hits, this is a definite must-have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value package, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voulez-Vous -CD+DVD- (Audio CD)
Great package of well mastered album and bonus tracks - The DVD is worth the money alone as it includes the concert for UNICEF footage (please someone release this landmark concert from 1979 in full) and the rarely seen BBC special from Switzerland - if you're an ABBA fan it's an essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voulez-Vous
Voulez-Vous by ABBA (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews