Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Explain... very, very easy!, 17 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
Hard to Explain is, without a doubt the best Strokes song ever recorded! Scratch that - the best song ever recorded by ANYBODY!
I love the band, I love both albums, but this song... infectious, catchy, sublime!
The strokes have had an affect on me like no other band - especially this song! I have DVD performances of Hard to Explain, performed live on SNL, Leno, T in the Park (Scotland) & on 2$ bill!
This song is gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music should sound like, 29 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
Occasionaly, a single comes along that takes your breath away from the first time you ever hear it. And hard to explain is one of those singles. Following on the back of the brilliant "Modern Age" EP, The Strokes have produced a single of such brilliance, such raw guitar energy and euphoria that all you can do is just close your eyes and let the whole thing just wash over you. This is the most wonderfully cocksure, life-affirming single of the year so far, making you realise that something as simple as a pop song can make your life feel so much better. Remember how you felt when you first heard "Supersonic" for the first time? Buy "Hard to Explain", and you can feel that way all over again.
You need this in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who are The Strokes?, 29 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
Simply one spin of 'Hard to Explain' is enough to ally any fears that The Strokes' preposterously assured debut EP, 'The Modern Age', was a flash in the pan. They've only gone and done it again: here is yet another surging anthem which gleams from top to toe and demands to be played loud. Whereas stand-out track 'Last Nite' from 'The Modern Age' was deliriously drunk on its own euphoria, 'Hard to Explain' is a terrifically exciting, head-down chemical high that contains not one ounce of slack, and the twin guitars ring like bells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More skinny NY cool, 25 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
Another great single from the Strokes. Hard to Believe borrows some of the pop savvy of Blondie, welds it to some prime time Television riffery and leaps around enthusiastically. New York City Cops has a meaty garagey riff, reminiscent of the the Stooges and races along into the chorus which tells us that New York city cops ain't too smart. Sounds like a reasonable warning to me.
Julian Casablancas once again sounds like a weird cross between iggy, lou and any other cooler than thou noo yawk drawler, but it's not all deadpan: some hoarsely shouted lines up the energy quotient. The guitars fizz along in a strum frenzy punctuated by cool melodic riffs, backed up by some almost new order-esque bass lines. the spectre of the velvets and co rears its head again, as it seems to whenever anyone talks about this band. Is that so bad, when the strokes bring us cool tunes, energy and all the other things missing from so many other bands ? all in all, another great single. Sadly only two tracks on the single this time. Do yourself a favour, buy this single and their first one. go and see them if you get a chance. I saw them at the zodiac in oxford and they were phenomenal. Can't wait for the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Strokes top quality stuff, 5 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
the strokes debut release, wot can i say truely amazing.new york city cops rolls in with julian(vocals) squelling ooowww i meant aaaahhhh and albert hammonds catchy riff,and fab's speedy drums this song is destin to b a classic of our time plus it's a live favourite(i've seen them 3 times).hard 2 exlain what can i say the song starts wirh yet more speedy drums from fab and yet more catchy riffs from nick and albert,the lyrics are true genius and this song should be places among any post punk fans hall of fame,the shere grit of this song will get u pogoing aroud ur bedroom like a becrazed rabbit. a must buy.oh and if u already have the album buy this too as it's different not the same words pkus it's near enough live and not touched up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another top notch tune from the best new band in the world., 27 Jun. 2001
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
While it may be wrong to judge a band on their look and background it is impossible to seperate the brilliant Strokes from New York. This is the sound of New York and as expected it sounds fantastic!! Great hooks, punchy/ punky guitars, laid-back 'Lou Reed' vocals, cool lyrics... "It was only one night, but it was f*#%ing weird" and an oddly placed pause. I want to go and form a band so i can do a cover of "New York City Cops" and be like the Ramones... sorry i mean the Strokes. One can hear the sound of asses being kicked everywhere because this is the most kick-ass band around. Dont even think, just get on the bandwagon...theres one hell of a party goin' down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once again New York has come up with the goods., 10 July 2001
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
New York City has a long and wonderful musical heretige, the arrival of The Strokes is no different. After the release of The Modern Age E.P in May, the 5 lads from the Big Apple for once prove that sometimes the hype can be right. Hard To Explain and New York City Cops gives us younger listeners the chance to hear what the 1970s must have sounded like. The Strokes are rough and ready in both sound and appearance, singer Julien sounds like Lou Reed if he had grew up in the 21st century. Forget about the hype and hear for yourselves, the band that everyone is takling about and a band that will rock you world to the core!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not amazing, 1 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
When I think of The Strokes I think of the Public Enemy song "Don't Believe The Hype". If you believe the press, then the Strokes are gonna change your life and are the best band to come from New York for 25 years-they wont and they aren't. This is a very good single, Hard To Explain and NY City Cops are great, but its kind of underwhelming. After the excellent Modern Age and all the hype I was expecting a lot more. I think this is definitely worth buying, but its not gonna change your life, and the Beastie Boys are the best band from New York anyways!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short sharp perfect rock makes a comeback, 8 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
The stokes - hyped to the max (maybe even over-hyped, I admit !) But either way, this is an excellent signle of an excellent album. With the energy and punch of the Pixies (think "Alison") and the distorted vocal styles typical to the strokes, you get a perfect sound.
Why 4 stars ? Because although it's great, it's not the BEST song ever released in this style. Also, why buy the single, when you could own the whole album ?!
A welcome return of great rock music in a bleak pop dominated landscape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music at its best, 15 July 2001
This review is from: Hard To Explain (Audio CD)
I have only just heard The Strokes in the last couple of weeks, but I firmly believe that their music is some of the best around. This band could teach the likes of Limp Bizkit and Papa Roach a thing or two about music. Their music is full of energy and it has a positive vibe. I only saw the exclusive live video of 'Hard to explain' about 2 days ago, but I impressed with the standard of music and i am glad to see that some music stars aren't miming along to 'their' own work. The Strokes are top quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard To Explain
Hard To Explain by The Strokes (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews