Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Romancing, only three for Jewel
Of these two movies Romancing The Stone is definitely the better one. Why Robert Zemeckis' previous films all failed I can't imagine, as this and the Back To The Future trilogy are some of the best movies I've seen for a long time. The set pieces are packed to the rafters with thrills and spills, the chemistry between the three leads may well cause your DVD player to...
Published on 28 Jan 2004 by L. Cooney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but still fun
Encompassing the first two of the Douglas/Turner stories, both films are excellent fun and you can see why they were so popular in the day. Certainly they have aged, but considering that it's more than a quarter of a century since they came out, that's not an issue. Good fun whilst not being too serious
Published 14 months ago by Mr John C Dodd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Romancing, only three for Jewel, 28 Jan 2004
By 
L. Cooney (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Of these two movies Romancing The Stone is definitely the better one. Why Robert Zemeckis' previous films all failed I can't imagine, as this and the Back To The Future trilogy are some of the best movies I've seen for a long time. The set pieces are packed to the rafters with thrills and spills, the chemistry between the three leads may well cause your DVD player to short-circuit and the script simply does not grow old. It's a stylish comedy adventure with Turner stealing the show from under the two guys' noses. In comparison Jewel is a pale-imitation Indiana Jones and lacks the developments we saw in Romancing (which I think is partly due to a change of director), but if you have nothing better to do on a wet Sunday afternoon there are worse movies to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old 80s films, 30 Jan 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
When I first saw Romancing the Stone on a VHS tape I saw it as a mix of Crocodile Dundee and Indiana Jones. However, there were enough differences in the character and story to make it an enjoyable film. The move to DVD improved the sound and picture quality and so i thought is was worth watching again. It is a great comedy adventure film with heroes, villains and damsels in distress.

The second film started to milk the them a little, but as this is a box set, you have to watch them both. These are films that whilst they have aged a little, are still highly watchable today, even to the point where I have contemplated upgrading them to the Blu-Ray versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainy Sunday afternoon viewing., 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Love these two movies from the 80's.
No brain required. Just good clean fun, adventure, humour with a bit of romance too.
Would rate both movies the same 5* (which is unusual with sequels they often don't live up to the original) ... in fact I keep changing my mind as to which is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAY H, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
These two films perfectly compliment one another blending comedy and action. Great escapism viewing and value for money. This cast also appeared in The War Of The Roses which is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYMENT, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
ENJOYED BOTH FILMS WHEN I FIRST SAW THEM SHOWN ON TV. A LARGE VARITY OF ROMANCE , ACTION AND ADVENTURE ALL IN ONE. WELL WORTH THE MONEY SPENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, comedy, romance in both films, 16 Feb 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Now you wouldn't believe me if I said this, but I think Jewel of the nile is the better of the two. Why? You are asking. Romancing the stone is great, but lacked the action then it did with the romance. Yes, Romancing the stone was too romantic for me, still enjoyed it though. Jewel of the nile however is quite different, there is a bit of romance, but it has more comedy and action.
So, do see both films, but don't expect to much from Romancing the stone if you're an action type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to laugh, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
The story lines here are so crazy you have to laugh at them most of the time. There's some good action in parts but not up to Indiana Jones quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comedy, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
two great films on one dvd.. if you like adventure with alot of comedy then this is for you. good condition and as always, arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great double disc set, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Indiana Jones style adventure with Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner also starring Danny DeVito. Great fun for family of all ages. Join Joan Wilder as she first searches for her kidnapped sister and a Jewel in Cartagena and then in a hunt for the mysterious Jewel of the Nile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but still fun, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Mr John C Dodd (Barnsley, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Encompassing the first two of the Douglas/Turner stories, both films are excellent fun and you can see why they were so popular in the day. Certainly they have aged, but considering that it's more than a quarter of a century since they came out, that's not an issue. Good fun whilst not being too serious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad965870)

This product

Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986]
4.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews