Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Romancing, only three for Jewel
Of these two movies Romancing The Stone is definitely the better one. Why Robert Zemeckis' previous films all failed I can't imagine, as this and the Back To The Future trilogy are some of the best movies I've seen for a long time. The set pieces are packed to the rafters with thrills and spills, the chemistry between the three leads may well cause your DVD player to...
Published on 28 Jan 2004 by L. Cooney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but still fun
Encompassing the first two of the Douglas/Turner stories, both films are excellent fun and you can see why they were so popular in the day. Certainly they have aged, but considering that it's more than a quarter of a century since they came out, that's not an issue. Good fun whilst not being too serious
Published 22 months ago by Mr John C Dodd


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for Romancing, only three for Jewel, 28 Jan 2004
By 
L. Cooney (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Of these two movies Romancing The Stone is definitely the better one. Why Robert Zemeckis' previous films all failed I can't imagine, as this and the Back To The Future trilogy are some of the best movies I've seen for a long time. The set pieces are packed to the rafters with thrills and spills, the chemistry between the three leads may well cause your DVD player to short-circuit and the script simply does not grow old. It's a stylish comedy adventure with Turner stealing the show from under the two guys' noses. In comparison Jewel is a pale-imitation Indiana Jones and lacks the developments we saw in Romancing (which I think is partly due to a change of director), but if you have nothing better to do on a wet Sunday afternoon there are worse movies to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old 80s films, 30 Jan 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
When I first saw Romancing the Stone on a VHS tape I saw it as a mix of Crocodile Dundee and Indiana Jones. However, there were enough differences in the character and story to make it an enjoyable film. The move to DVD improved the sound and picture quality and so i thought is was worth watching again. It is a great comedy adventure film with heroes, villains and damsels in distress.

The second film started to milk the them a little, but as this is a box set, you have to watch them both. These are films that whilst they have aged a little, are still highly watchable today, even to the point where I have contemplated upgrading them to the Blu-Ray versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie pack, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
It's worth it to have the double pack if you can get it. I really enjoyed the movies when they first came out. Great movies to show to all the family, especially on a rainy winter's afternoon. Though Romancing the Stone id defintely the better of the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYMENT, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
ENJOYED BOTH FILMS WHEN I FIRST SAW THEM SHOWN ON TV. A LARGE VARITY OF ROMANCE , ACTION AND ADVENTURE ALL IN ONE. WELL WORTH THE MONEY SPENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAY H, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
These two films perfectly compliment one another blending comedy and action. Great escapism viewing and value for money. This cast also appeared in The War Of The Roses which is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old favouriites, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Great to revisit these old favourites. I remember when first watching Romancing the stone it was a real 'Indiana Jones' type adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliving my well-spent youth!!, 1 July 2009
By 
Katie Bean (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I thought my children would love these films and I was right!! We all really enjoyed watching them. Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner look so young and fresh, the scenery is fabulous and it took me back to the 80s immediately - memories of sitting in a flea pit with my friends eating mint-cream Poppets came flooding back. Would recommend to anyone who remembers Live Aid and the Rubik's Cube (first time around!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good chick flick, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
An favourite film of mine. I love a good chick flick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romance and a story to make you smile., 23 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Pamela A. Stephens "P.S. AST" (Maidstone, Kent.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
These films are old but can still bring a smile with the inevitable romance and silly stories. VHS binned and replacement DVD bought instead. Another pair of films for late night ironing sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something for the Ladies to Enjoy, 7 May 2014
By 
Imagine Group (St.Matthews Church, Great Barr, Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
A good entertaining tale with excitement, just the thing to watch after Sunday Lunch, good family entertainment suitable for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romancing The Stone/ The Jewel of the Nile Double Pack [DVD] [1986]
£6.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews