Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding - sheer quality!
Having seen Pennywise recently, their great performance made me decide to purchase this CD and, boy, am I glad I did! This album is bursting with energy and contains everything Pennywise are renown and legendary for - the familiar powerful guitar riffs, distinctive, heavy basslines, pounding drums and Jim Lindberg's voice demanding to be heard. The stand out tracks,...
Published on 20 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Test CD
I bought this CD to know them better. Anyhow, it didn't become my favirote. But I may need to play it more times.
Published 14 months ago by Attila Fekete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding - sheer quality!, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
Having seen Pennywise recently, their great performance made me decide to purchase this CD and, boy, am I glad I did! This album is bursting with energy and contains everything Pennywise are renown and legendary for - the familiar powerful guitar riffs, distinctive, heavy basslines, pounding drums and Jim Lindberg's voice demanding to be heard. The stand out tracks, although all of them are great, are definitely, 'F*ck Authority', 'The World' and 'Divine Intervention'. The moment you put this album on, your head will be nodding and your feet will be tapping - that is how good this is. Don't believe those who said Pennywise's best days are behind them. Pennywise are back with a vengeance - this album is a testament to how true this statement is. You want hard, fast punk? Listen to this CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn good, 26 Jun 2002
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
This album is, in a word, breathtaking. Listening to this album really brings it home to you what this whole genre is about, I bought this album cos its on Epitaph, and is sposed to be similar to bad religion. It is, the lyrics arent quite as well thought out but their still veyr provoking. I think the main difference between this and bad religion is that this is far more agressive, land of the free is a prime example of this aggressiveness. I only own this one pennywise album but ive got another one on the way as im writing this. If their as good as they are now i should be in for a treat. Oh and incidentally to the guy who reviwed this first, Epitatph is owned by Brett Gurewitz not Greg Graffin and the offsprings epitaph stuff isnt as old as pennywise, nor can it compare to pennywise, or bad religion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another fantastic record from pennywise, 5 July 2001
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
After reading the reviews on amazon, i decided to buy it. It's almost impossible to beat the last album, straight ahead, but they have and this record kicks. Its a bit slower, but still miles better. If you liked any of the other albums, which is impossible not to, or like this sort of music in general, you must buy this album, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational albulm from a great modern punk band, 16 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Songs such as 'Enemy,'and 'Who's side are you on' have thought provoking lyrics along with catchy riffs, and this albulm is therefore another great effort by Pennwise to demonstrate their views concerning modern society. My only criticism is the fact that the voals are not as clear as they could be but this is a classic characteristic of Pennywise. Pennywise have been at the forefront of the 90's Punk revival and it looks like they will continue to make great Punk rock along with bands such as NOFX, Guttermoth and Pulley, and therefore 'Land of he Free?' is a must for any dedicated punk fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk as it's supposed to be., 12 July 2001
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
Firstly any Blink 182 or Wheatus fans should look away now. This isn't your pop-punk, childish lyrical noise. This is what punk is all about, the anger, the frustration and damn good songs. It makes a refreshing change to hear lyrics that provoke both feeling and thought, as well as being catchy as hell and musically brilliant to boot. Any punk fan should have this in their collection. Whoever said nu-metal is here to save rock better listen to this CD quick. Punk is here, and it doesn't get much better than this! Buy it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If Straight Ahead was good, then Land Of The Free is GOD!, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
This album is said to be less hardcore than most Pennywise material. Musical yes it is softer, but lyrically this album is more intense, anti-authority than anything Pennywise has ever done in the past. Tracks such as 'Fuck Authority', 'Land Of The Free'? ,and 'The World' will no doubt justify this reveiw. If like Pennywise you have to get Land Of The Free, and if you dont like them, then this album will certainly change your mind! Pennywise=God
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Test CD, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to know them better. Anyhow, it didn't become my favirote. But I may need to play it more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pennywise are amazing this cd makes no exception, 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
Excellent cd, well worth getting, impresses from pretty much the first listen. Fantastic lyrics, brilliant music and loads of energy. best songs are 'fuck authority' and 'my god', but every song is top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pennywise's Worst Album?, 9 July 2005
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
If you are new to Pennywise, and buy this album then you'll probably love it. It contains everything that is great about the Wise - furious power chords, pounding drums and unbelievably catchy choruses.
However, if you buy any of Pennywise's other albums you'll soon realise that this isn't really anything special.
It opens with four great songs, but goes downhill from there.
With this album, Pennywise took their political views too far and it soon became boring. Everyone loves a political song, but not an album full of inane rants.
It is worth buying just for fantastic songs like 'Land of the Free?', 'The World' and 'Anyone Listening'. These three songs easily rank among Pennywise's all time greats.
Opener 'Time Marches On' and 'F**k Authority' are also quite good, but the rest are forgettable. Some of them have catchy melodies, but nothing that'll make them want you listen to them individually.
Overall, this is probably the weakest effort yet from the kings of modern punk. If you want a classic Wise album, get 'Unknown Road, 'Full Circle' or the awesome 'About Time'. Avoid this though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Power chords, 5 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of The Free (Audio CD)
Pennwise are a pretty decent punk band but this album, Land Of The Free is a let down. All it consits of are banging out series of power chords and some half interesting lyrics. If you are looking for excellent power chord based punk try bad religion, and for infinatly better lyrics the Offsprings older albums on Epitaph. LONG LIVE GREG GRAFFIN!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land of the Free
Land of the Free by Pennywise (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews