Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars70
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2015
A family move from New York to a small Boston town. There they rent an old, large house unknown to them it was once owned by a crazed man- Dr Freudstein, soon all sorts of horrors start happening to the family and people at the house.

Outstanding Lucio Fulci horror which contains a lot of his best work. Almost certainly his most terrifying film, there is a very creepy atmosphere maintained throughout, tension & suspense are (especially in the lead up to the finale) remarkably high for a Fulci film and the jumps scenes are actually scary. The violence is strong - throats being ripped out, throat slashings and severed limbs & many others, but although gory it never detracts from the film if anything it adds to the tension and the make-up & gore effects are also great. A strong exploitation Italian cast- Paolo Malco, Dagmar Lassander, Ania Pieroni & (British) lead Catriona McColl all are very good, however Giovanni Frezza who plays young Bob is excellent and steels every scene he's in. If there are any minuses some may find the conclusion is a little incoherent (a fault with many Fulci films), however I didn't find it a negative at all indeed it added to the films feeling of the dead never die.

The film crosses several horror genre's, from haunted house, monster, splatter, possession and something I felt was strongest a kind of stalk 'n slash/slasher film. One of if not the best film on the video nasties list & also one of Fulc's greatest films, a wonderful terrifying film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Go to special features then move your right directional onto the cross.It will fill up with blood press enter to reveal:
1.Sergio Martino on Mountain Of The Cannibal God
2.Luigi Sacchetti on Contamination and Censorship
3.Alternative Frezza Intro
4.Silvia Collatina
5.Lady Oscar trailer.
Hope this helps
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
Frightening,bizzare,gory and trippy horror film.The films plot is a mixture of many famous horror films,including the shining,frankenstien,dont look now and the amytiville horror.However this film is somehow more than the sum of its parts and is genuinly nightmarish and frightening. On seeing this film as a kid who had seen a lot of horror films,this was the one that made the most impression on me and my friends,and was talked about in school for years afterwards,(even my father was impressed by it!) I wont give away too much plot but the film is based around a scary house on the edge of a cemetery,the family that moves there ,a ghoulish monster and a terrible secret. Strange close up camera shots (in typical fulci style)permeate the movie,and terrible dubbing,but great creepy music,and very gruesome scenes.Not for the faint hearted! I highly recommend this film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
House by the Cemetery arrives in the UK uncut, its about time! The film concerns a house that a young couple and their kid move into not knowing what danger they are in, someone is killing people and no-one in the house is safe, the sinister Dr Freudstein is supposedly behind it all but as the husband looks deeper into the mystery things take an unusual twist, if you're a Fulci fan this disc is a must have, if you don't like Italian horror or dubbed movies give it a miss. The film has a great transfer and some interesting special features making it a good version to get. All in all a great modern gothic horror with some decent gore, its a great addition to the cult horror fans collection, if you liked this you should look into some of Fulci's similar films such as The Beyond [DVD] [1981] [US Import] or City of the Living Dead [DVD] [1980] or Zombie 2 [DVD] [1979] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] which are all brilliant in my opinion.

Fulci Lives!
88 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I like this film. I like the cool and dead looking creature, Dr. Freudstein. I also enjoy the dark synth and atmospheric
music of Walter Rizzati. Some people may think or thought it was the music of frequent Fulci collaborator,Fabio Frizzi,but
it is not.Their music actually sound quite similar in this film, so some may mistake it for Frizzi music.

Picture quality: 4/5

The picture quality was greatly improved from my Anchor Bay DVD. There is problems with DNR and noise like Zombi 2,
but not as much problems like Zombi 2. I think Zombi 2 has poorer and more use of DNR than The House by the
Cemetery.

The film grain is actually mostly noise mixed with grain. The DNR is noticable, but i have seen worse use of it as i said.
The things that are improved compared to the DVD is: black levels, blood & gore effects, colours, details and
sharpness.

Audio quality: 3.5/5

The English dub in the DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 Dolby Surround remix, is actually a bit disappointing to me. I thought
the mix would sound a bit clearer music wise and with more bass. Yes, there is some Stereo effects and such. At least it
sounds improved compared to the lossy Dolby Surround 2.0 mix on the DVD.

Film: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Another insane b-movie from Lucio Fulci. If you are a fan of the genre, and can forgive the obvious short-comings of this film and take it for what it is, you are in for a fun ride. Like in all of Fulci's best films, there are surreal and cinematic moments in amongst the gore and badly dubbed dialogue that will stay with you and prove that Fulci could be much more than a hack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Fulci doesn't disappoint with this classic horror tale. If you are familiar with his work or are a fan or Dario Argento style horror, BUY this. You won't regret it. An absolute horror collectors gem!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 October 2013
The House by the Cemetery is directed by famed splatter meister Lucio Fulci, and it pretty much reverts to Lucio's type. Which of course is often enough for fan's of Fulci's work. Plot is irrelevant, but basically a family moves into a creepy house in New England and discover a flesh eating ghoul is in residence down in the basement. The ghoul needs to continue its bizarre medical habits to remain, well, a ghoul! Cue screams, serious bloody gore, bad dubbing and incoherent narrative.

Visually, as you would expect from Fulci and cinematographer Sergio Salvati, it has inspired moments, the whole irreverence of it draped in Grand Guignol textures. The ghouls lair is a place of nightmares, while the appearance of a scary bat and doll further add to the weirdness. Yet it undoubtedly is a hack job by Fulci, where he clutches from some famous American horror movies and just inserts a bloody killing at regular intervals. The whole film serves only to shed some blood for the gore hounds delight, regardless of if it actually matters to what was left on the writing table.

Its reputation, certainly in Britain in the 1980s when it was ridiculously banned during the even more ridiculous Video Nasty craze, is that of a blood thirsty cult movie unfairly held from interested eyes. The banner proudly proclaiming that the work of an Italian horror visionary was being stymied, that's unfair for anyone looking at it now because it's more funny than scary. Had I saw it as a early teenager back then? I'm sure I would have felt disturbed to my guts, though I do believe that even then I could spot a messy hack job when I saw one! This has some skills, but it's not great and really only for Fulci and pulp splatter completists only. 5/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2002
House by the Cemetery
A young family moves from their cramped New York City apartment to a spacious new home in New England. But this is no ordinary house in the country: the previous owner was the deranged Dr. Freudstein, whose monsterous human experiments have left a legacy of bloody mayhem. Now, someone - or something - is alive in the basement, and home sweet home is about to become a horrific hell on earth.
Another Lucio Fulci gore flick. I really enjoyed this film as I do with other Fulci films. It starts out with this girl getting a knife in the back of her head and out her mouth. After that it starts to get a bit slow, and nothing really interesting happens until a lady gets her foot stuck in a crack in the floor. One thing that I found annoying about this film is the horrible dubbing. The little boy is dubbed by some old woman and it gets annoying really fast. Another thing I noticed is that if they did a Chucky look-a-like contest, that little boy would win it hands down. Just slap some red hair on that boy and you'd never be able to tell the difference. Another thing about this movie is that it isn't really a gory film like other Fulci horror films, this one is just more bloody. If you can look past the horrible dubbing you are in for a really good monster film. If you're a fan of Fulci, I recommend this film.
Anchor Bay brings us another Fulci film in its uncut glory. After buying both the Anchor Bay versions of "The Beyond" and "City of the Living Dead" I figured that I couldn't go wrong with a Fulci film that is brought to us on DVD from Anchor Bay. And I must say that Anchor Bay has done it again with another great film with a really good DVD. The features are nothing like the ones that are on "The Beyond." But the film is presented in its complete and uncut form which really is great when watching a Fulci film. That is another thing that Anchor Bay has really done a good job with, releasing these films uncut. The picture and sound quality are great. I never saw this film before I bought this DVD, so I really can't tell you if it's an improvement, but I can say that from others who have seen both versions of the DVD and people who have seen the VHS, it is a big improvement. The picture quality is supposed to be more clear on the Anchor Bay version, and it is clear. The only bad thing about this DVD is that it really doesn't have much extras. So it's your basic DVD, but the thing that saves this DVD is the fact that the movie is completely uncut. A
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
house by the cemetery is one of the finest italian horror films ever made and it has been given a terrific high def makeover by blue underground. this film has always been treated badly with previous dvd releases all being of questionable quality,but finally we have a version to be proud of. the picture quality is a vast improvement on the standard dvd versions and the colours look stunning. yes there is quite a lot of grain to be found but,that just adds to the overall feel of the movie. well done blue underground for delivering a decent blu ray version of this fulci classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)