Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These Mermaids Splash with Zest for Life
Actor turned director Benjamin's heartfelt, nostalgic rendering of Patty Dann's cult-novel dealing with the trials and tribulations of restless mother Cher, who changes towns as often as her current boyfriend doesn't live up to her expectations, and precocious, god-fearing daughter Ryder, who falls hard for the local caretaker man of Eastport, Boston, in the 60's. When...
Published on 26 July 2001 by Roland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mum Is Many Things. . .Normal Isn't One of Them
To sum up my opinion of this film, I would describe it as a feel-good movie. It isn't the best movie-it suffers from some really hokey dialogue in some parts, but it has enough funny moments, charm, and the story and characters are well written and developed to make it worthwhile to watch. This movie was based on a book, and I have a strong feeling that the book is...
Published on 12 Jun. 2013 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These Mermaids Splash with Zest for Life, 26 July 2001
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Actor turned director Benjamin's heartfelt, nostalgic rendering of Patty Dann's cult-novel dealing with the trials and tribulations of restless mother Cher, who changes towns as often as her current boyfriend doesn't live up to her expectations, and precocious, god-fearing daughter Ryder, who falls hard for the local caretaker man of Eastport, Boston, in the 60's. When salesman Hoskins lays eyes on Cher and she is smitten with Ryder's hunk, things get really complicated... Clever dialogue, peppered with now famous oneliners ('Charlotte you drive like old people make love'), a great 60's soundtrack (that's Betty Everett singing the original version of the Shoop Shoop Song 17 mins into the film), and top notch performances all around - with Ryder as a standout - make this one a treat. Though film takes you to familiar places - hey, we all have been 15 once, let alone madly in love for the first time - it rings true every second, and it helps you recalling those moments with a tear to shed and a smile on your face. What joy! What fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ricci, WInona and Cher make a great trio, 16 May 2007
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Oh yeah, another incredible performance by Cher. Sure, it's no Moonstruck, but Mermaids is very entertaining. I also have to mention that Winona Ryder did a fantastic job, and young Christina Ricci is absolutely adorable. I only have a couple of problems with the film. The first is Cher's character. The character is very predictable and equally as hard to swallow. She is almost too abrasive and inept to be real. Winona Ryder's character experiences much more growth during the course of the movie than Cher's does, and I find that disappointing. I had higher hopes for her character. But she remained stagnant for the most part. Still, Cher does a great job portraying the wacky mother who scorns main courses. My only other problem is with the story itself, which is just a bit contrived. The plot resolves itself in a very unnatural way that would not occur in real life, most likely. The movie seems to hurriedly race to the happy ending in a very improbable way. But, Mermaids is still worth watching over and over again because it is hilarious, and because every teenage girl can relate to Winona Ryder's character. Mermaids is also very well-written and numerous laughs are thrown in everywhere. As others have said, it's a `feel-good' movie. It's nothing brilliant or life altering, but it's definitely worth seeing and if you're at a certain point in your life (like your teen years, specifically) it can be very moving. It's also great as a period piece. The soundtrack goes with the time period and includes Cher's version of `The Shoop Shoop Song (It's In His Kiss),' as well as the late Peggy Lee's `Fever.' The references to JFK's assassination fit in perfectly as well. Anyone who lived during that time would tell you that it's just wrong to make a movie set in that time period without mentioning JFK's assassination because it was so devastating to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost A Classic, 19 April 2009
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
A car can't be considered to be a classic until it is at least 20 years old. Another necessity is a reappraisal with the benefit of time.

Well, Mermaids is nearly 20 years old and, having just wathced it again for the first time in several years, I am happy to report I enjoyed as much, if not more, than ever -s urely the test of a good movie.

A mixture of gentle comedy, soft Pathos and light metaphor, Mermaids delivers a well known morale with a novel twist and just enough distance between our reality and that of the characters to make it touching and telling.

Cher is surreal, Christina Ricci adorable, Winona endangered while Bob plays the perfect fantasy father figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet, funny film, 12 Jun. 2006
By 
Star_Sea "Xing" (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Possibly one of the best films of the early 90s, "Mermaids" is both a snapshot of the 1960s and a wonderful portrait of an unconventional family that doesn't try too hard to be whimsical. Cher plays unconventional Mrs. Flax with flair, breezing through the film with a cigarette in her hand and her hair always perfectly in place. Christina Ricci is adorable as Kate, the swimming fanatic (a complete contrast from her more famous role, Wednesday Adams!). Bob Hoskins inhabits his role of smitten shopkeeper with ease. And Winona Ryder is the centre of the film as precocious Charlotte, torn between Catholic ideals and her earthly passion for Joe, the local handyman. The film is backed up by a smart script and a wonderful soundtrack. It's perfect for a lazy afternoon or a quiet evening in.

I'm giving it four stars because the extras leave a lot to be desired (as if often the case with small films). The trailer, some profiles and that's it. Some interviews or a commentary would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mermaids is an unknown masterpiece!, 24 May 2001
By 
Pogomonkeytutu (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Such a good film! Winona Ryder is excellent and I didnt believe that cher could act that good. It is one of those movies you can watch over and over again and not get bored of it. If you dont end up falling in love with little christina Ricci then may god have mercy on your soul!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Family Dance Scene, 3 April 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
"Mermaids,"(1990) starring the well-known singer-actress-entertainer Cher, is another good romantic comedy that came along on the heels of the 1980s. The clarion-voiced Cher, of course, has been singing since the mid-60's, with her then-husband, Sonny Bono and without him, and has had many chart-topping hits; they had a widely popular television show in the 1970s. The actress won an Oscar for Moonstruck , also made Silkwood , and several more good films.

"Mermaids" is, without doubt, a chick flick. It was originally meant to be the Scandinavian director Lasse Hallstrom's American film debut; however, Cher didn't care for his work. Neither did she care for Frank Oz's. So it was directed by former actor Richard Benjamin. Unfortunately, many sophisticates can't say "Richard Benjamin," without, in the same breath, declaring "TV sitcom." And when it's a chick flick too, well, the scorn.

The movie also stars the English Bob Hoskins, Mona Lisa playing Lou Landsky, lusty, unlikely love interest to Cher's Mrs. Rachel Flax. The child Christina Ricci Addams Family Values made her debut as Kate, Mrs. Flax's younger daughter, born to swim. Winona Ryder Heathers holds the camera as the older daughter, Charlotte, in heavy flirtation with Catholism although the Flaxes are Jewish. Ryder was then a child star, more particularly a teenage star, until Angelina Jolie stole Girl, Interrupted , out from under her, and she had her regrettable adventure in shoplifting. Oddly enough, the English teenage star Emily Lloyd Wish You Were Here had been signed to play this part, but she was blond. Cher, who evidently had a lot of say on this picture, thought viewers were unlikely to accept a blond as her screen daughter. So Ryder was brought in, and Lloyd received a studio settlement.

The picture's set in a lovingly recreated 1963, and treats the major world event of that year, the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, with considerable discretion and grace. Mrs. Flax is a hot-blooded single mother who gets herself into talked-about trouble with men, then moves on to the next randomly-selected town. Her daughters just must get in the car. We open with the Flaxes' relocation to a pretty Massachusetts coastal town, where Mrs. Flax and, this time, her older daughter, will meet men. Kate will win swim meets.

The cinematography gives us plenty of pretty. The soundtrack's chock-a-block with early 60's hits. Included on the soundtrack, for sure, is Cher's adaptation of "The Shoop Shoop Song," initially made a hit by Little Eva; now far better known as "It's In His Kiss," by Cher. The script's witty: in an often-quoted line, Flax dismisses one of her daughter's teachers as a guy who drives an Edsel. Does MERMAIDS have the heart of a sitcom? Well, it has heart, for sure-- it's really about family. And I don't watch TV sitcoms, can't abide them, but I love this movie. The final, touching scenes, where the Flaxes dance around their kitchen, setting the table to Jimmy Soul's irresistible "If You Want to be Happy the Rest of Your Life, Never Make a Pretty Woman Your Wife," perfectly express the relaxed intimacy, and joy, of family life, and present us another moving, off-handed family movie dance scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Mermaids Is A Fine Cast., 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Hello.
Although now over two decades old Mermaids could still
enchant anyone still not aware of the film.
The story of a single mother Mrs Flax played by Cher who does
not settle. She insists on moving her two daughters Charlotte
and her younger sibling from town to American town. Escaping from herself.
The story Is really Charlotte's. Winona Ryder is very competent
as she portrays the teenager. A girl who becomes enchanted by
the nuns at a nearby convent. But ultimately is searching for love.
Love she feels is lacking from her mother, and lost altogether from
a father she never knew.
Bob Hoskins is excellent as the friendly, base ball loving shop
owner. He fills the void left by the girls father a little. They grow to
depend on him. But Mrs Flax gets itchy feet regarding our shoe store
owner.
The finale is gripping. Full of teenage tortured angst from Charlotte
who after hooking up with the local handy man is left heart broken.
The humour Mermaids provides is what makes this a delight. All
the character's are well cast and I couldn't favour one over another.
A film from the archive's now. But still worth another look. Or to
be recommended to a contemporary family.
Thank You
Craig : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something special, 16 Aug. 2008
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This film is about a dysfunctional family consisting of Rachel(Cher) the mother, Charlotte(Winona Ryder) the 15 year old daughter who seeing her mum go through dozens of boyfriends is attempting to lead a good christian life and little Kate(Christina Ricci) who has a talent in swimming, just like her father who her mum never caught the name of!
The family end up moving to a new state everytime Rachel ends a relationship, which seems to be a lot, we see them as they leave their home and head for Boston. Once there we see them struggle to become more functional and settle down. Its got a bit of everything in this film, but best of all is the way this film leaves you feeling, after all the ups and downs they really are just like everyone else.I should also mention how great Winona Ryder is in this , it's probably one of her best. I saw this film as a teenager and always remembered how much I liked it, now I have bought this dvd at a bargain price and I'm over the moon as I can watch it as much as I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love BOB!!, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I watched it many times. Kind, funny, bitter-sweet movie, worth watching! Christine Ricci was such a tiny girl but already showing some talents!! Cher is amazing, I do really like her acting. Im happy to admit that she is not "only" an amazing singer but a great actress too. I saw many movies from her and she was great in all of them. Winona was good too. A bit too much I guess and if you know her films, you can see that she fails to step out of her usual characters but she is not bad. BUT BOB!! OMG! I love every inch of him, such a good actor and sweet man!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. A. K. J. Bridger (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mermaids [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I have brought this for my Sister as a birthday present as she always used to watch this film when we were younger and she loved it. This was such a good price and the delivery time was very quick and efficient. The only flaw I would say is that the DVD had actually come loose by the time I received it so I did have to open the package to check and make sure there was no scratches to it which there wasnt but I think it would be unfair to blame Amazon - it was more likely it came loose while going through the postal system. Cant wait to watch this with her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mermaids [DVD] [1991]
Mermaids [DVD] [1991] by Richard Benjamin (DVD - 2001)
£9.03
Usually dispatched within 10 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews