Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better
If you're wondering how the greatest TV series of all time can get better, just watch this. The scripts are as sharp as ever, the production values are flawless, and the acting from Gandolfini, Falco, and crew deserves all the awards they got (and didn't get)!!! Among the newcomers to the cast here, Aida Turturro and David Proval as the loving couple from hell, and Louis...
Published on 14 July 2001 by Mikey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what I'm missing but...
I'm not sure what I'm missing as this series seems to have universal approval, but...having really enjoyed the first series I thought this one had gone badly wrong. The loss of Tony's mother (who becomes a minor bedridden character prior to the actor's untimely death) is one problem, the fact that the psychiatrist has essentially been written out another. I found the...
Published 23 months ago by J. Waite


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better, 14 July 2001
By 
Mikey "Reader" (Antrim, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
If you're wondering how the greatest TV series of all time can get better, just watch this. The scripts are as sharp as ever, the production values are flawless, and the acting from Gandolfini, Falco, and crew deserves all the awards they got (and didn't get)!!! Among the newcomers to the cast here, Aida Turturro and David Proval as the loving couple from hell, and Louis Lombardi as the everyman, lisping FBI agent Skip Lipari excel.
The mini-documentaries, interviews, etc that make up the DVD extras are great too.
The only criticism I have, in fact, is where's Series 3???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT GETS BETTER & BETTER, 8 Jun 2001
By 
whispering gravy (Los Angeles,CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
series 2 doesn't let up, the writng acting and direction are on a par with series 1. You feel a lot of emotions brewing whilst watching this excellent programme, pain ,anger, hatred not to mention empathy. The lighter side of the writing is very funny and keeps your feet on the ground. All in all this is by far the best tv series ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER MOB HIT!..., 15 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you are looking at this review, you probably already have the first season. All I can tell you is that the second season is as good, if not better, than the first.
There are some major plot developments. Livia and Tony's uncle hatch a plan that can have murderous consequences for Tony. Carmela is doing all in her power, and I mean all, to help Meadow get into a good college. In her own sweet way, Carmela can be just as scary as Tony. Janice (Aida Tuturro), Tony's sister, comes back home, wreaks havoc, marries the former mob boss's jailbird brother, and then leaves town with a bang. One of Tony's best friends becomes a snitch for the Feds. No wonder Tony continues to have anxiety attacks and still needs to see his psychiatrist, Dr. Melfi.
The writing continues to be intelligent, and the story lines are as well thought out and engrossing as ever. I have watched the entire first, second, and third seasons and am eagerly awaiting the fourth season. I absolutely love this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best TV series made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 21 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This series is amazing and gets better by the episode, Its captivating, humorous and full of action, a perfect reflection of the modern day mafia, and if Don Corloene (The Godfather) watched this he would be very very very impressed!!!!! A masterpiece 100/10 praise the mighty HBO :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sopranos = Boss of Bosses, 31 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The story continues to revolve around the massive shoulders and belly of Tony Soprano. At the end of Season 1, Tony survived a "hit" arranged by his Uncle Junior and his mother, Livia. But family is family, and both Uncle Junior and Livia are still breathing at the outset of Season 2, even though Tony keeps insisting that Livia "is dead to me." Making Tony's family life even more complicated, his opportunistic leech of a sister, Janice, has returned to Jersey from Seattle. Janice professes to be home to help her dear old mother, but in reality she's back to get on the Tony gravy train, which will be a nice supplement to her 100% disability checks from the State of Washington for her carpal tunnel syndrome.

Tony's crime family is also on the rocks, as doubts linger about the possibility of an informer in the ranks. Sure, they killed one snitch last year, but these guys are like roaches, and the cops continue to sniff just a bit too close at Tony's heels.

All the great aspects of Season 1 are back in force - the terrific actors who have been cast in the roles of their lives, the witty writing, the massive budget that allows for one episode to be filmed back in dear old Italia, and the freedom of pay-cable that allows "The Sopranos" to revel in the violence and debauchery that follows this hypnotically flawed family.

The only aspect of Season 2 that seems to lose a bit of steam is Tony's relationship with Dr. Melfi. Their relationship grows, but mainly due to distance because we see as many scenes with Dr. Melfi and her own shrink as we do with Dr. Melfi and Tony. Dr. Melfi remains one of the most beloved characters in the series, to be sure, but the show has the luxury of knowing it's a smash hit and Season 2 allows Tony and Dr. Melfi to let their relationship grow patiently.

Oh, and one more thing makes Tony's life a living hell. Meadow is a gifted high school senior and her dream school is Berkeley, which is pretty much a nightmare for a mob guy from New Jersey with only a semester and a half at Seton Hall under his belt.

If you haven't seen "The Sopranos," you must watch Season 1 first - don't dive into this series in mid-stream. But you must dive in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony and Carmela try to get Meadow into the right college, 8 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I was not completely bowled over by the first season of "The Sopranos" the way I was about the first season of HBO's "Six Feet Under," but I think that was mainly because no show in the history of television could possibly fulfill the expectations I had when I started watching. The important thing is that however highly you graded that first season that the second season of the show is even better. I think there are several reasons for this:
First, Carmela Soprano (Edie Falco) is given ample opportunity to show some teeth in these episodes. My oldest daughter is currently caught up in the college application rat race so I totally appreciated Carmela going to the mattresses for Meadow (Jamie-Lynn Sigler). By the same token I thought it was a good move to make the Soprano kids more background figures in the second season.
Second, David Chase and the writers wisely backed off forcing the whole bit with Tony Soprano (James Gandolfini) seeing his shrink Dr. Melfi (Lorraine Bracco). I bet on balance Melfi spent more time seeing her own shrink (Peter Bogdanovich) than she did Tony during season two. This had the great effect of recalibrating their relationship because now she is having about as many problems as he does. Consequently, it was not just more of the same and by the end of the season Tony's problems have been clearly defined, giving them something to work on in season three.
Third, rather than continue the attempt by Uncle Junior (Dominic Chianese) and Livia (Nancy Marchand) to take out Tony the threat comes from a pair of new characters, Richie April (David Proval), recently released from a 10-year prison stint, and Tony's sister Janice (Aida Turturro). Actually, I think that it is wickedly funny that Livia is reduced to weeping harridan for most of these episodes. Besides, I still get the feeling Uncle Junior is merely biding his time and the season works a lot better for me dealing with more of the weekly routine of being mobsters than the high opera of a coup attempt. But this works well for the show because it did not pick up right where it left off; even the question of whether "Sal" (
Finally, in the second season the right people get killed. Sure, a lot of people get killed, but I mean that there were two particular people I wanted to see dead in this cast and both of them got whacked on Disc 4. Along with Meadow graduating high school there was not much else I wanted to really see happen by the end of the second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bada bing bada boom !!, 6 Jan 2014
By 
martyn bloomer (somerset england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
what else can you say about this emmy award winning tv series. the writing,acting and direction is first rate and has to be one of the greatest tv dramas of all time. just buy it and see !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what I'm missing but..., 13 Oct 2012
By 
J. Waite - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I'm not sure what I'm missing as this series seems to have universal approval, but...having really enjoyed the first series I thought this one had gone badly wrong. The loss of Tony's mother (who becomes a minor bedridden character prior to the actor's untimely death) is one problem, the fact that the psychiatrist has essentially been written out another. I found the mix of Tony's psychological journey (albeit necessarily somewhat simplistic) combined with his mafia journey an excellent device in the first series. Because she was threatened by the events of the first series, the psychiatrist has to make a come back and is marginalised, becoming a very minor character here, and the few analysis scenes are brief and tacked onto the action rather than being a driving force. The battle between Junior and Tony also disappears and is replaced by much less interesting characters of Tony's sister and ex-con Richard. Episode after episode Richard does something outrageous and Tony simply accepts it.

Major plot lines revolve around the nephew's interest in writing film scripts (with some dreadful sequences of him attending acting classes) and a badly misjudged and sentimental treatment of an attack on his life (lots of ridiculous sad music with shots of him in bed). These are symptomatic of what seemed to me flaccid writing and a palid reflection of the much stronger first series.

I gave up in episode 9 finding this series unbearable. Perhaps it improves in this and subsequent series, but with so much excellent television available on dvd these days I'm going elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Late start, rapid fan, 21 Jun 2011
By 
R. Brocklehurst (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
As a late starter to the Sopranos saga, I rapdily became a fan. Some of the dark episodes could trigger nightmares. The concept was brilliant, the execution superb -with excellent performances. Some of the moral issues resonate in my head days after watching episodes which I take in in small doses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best TV Shows ever., 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Actually I would rate it as the second best drama show ever, the best being Sopranos Season 1. The brilliant acting is carried over from season 1, the writing is almost as original. New faces and old problems really deliver and I'm amazed how Tony manages to stay alive.
Buy it, enjoy it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999]
The Sopranos: Complete Series 2 [DVD] [1999] by James Gandolfini (DVD - 2001)
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews