Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant twist for an ending
Everything clicks in this laugh-out-loud gem. Steve Martin and Michael Caine are in top form as Freddy Benson and Lawrence Jamieson, two con men who agree that this town (on the French Mediterranean coast) ain't big enough for the both of them. To solve the problem, they agree upon a solution - the first man to swindle $50,000 from a naive young woman gets to stay. The...
Published on 23 Dec 2007 by Jay

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is set on the beautiful French Riviera following the life of cunning con-man Michael Caine. His life couldnt be better, a big house, a booming buisness and steady income. All that is ruined when amature Steve Martin comes along and threatens to steal his buisness. In order to keep a close eye on him, Caine takes him under his wing, but when Marting...
Published on 19 Dec 2008 by Omac


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
Watch this film on VHS tape years ago when i was a kid. Lost the tape over the years and decided to get the film again. Fantastic comedy. Brings back great memories again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 18 Aug 2013
By 
K. Duffield (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
Lovely to watch a film without bad language and violence. Nice twists to the plot as well. Very good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining and amusing film about two con men, 24 July 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

Steve Martin is Freddy Benson, a small-time con man sleazing his way through Europe on whatever handouts he can scam. Michael Caine is Lawrence Jamieson, an impeccably dressed and high-minded artiste who thinks Freddy's giving him - and all con men - a bad name. At first, Lawrence agrees to help Freddy spruce up his talents and his wardrobe. But when it becomes apparent that the French Riviera isn't big enough for the both of them, they make a winner-takes-all wager over the fortune of a naive American soap heiress (Glenne Headly): The first one to "clean her out" can make the other "clear out" - and keep the Riviera and its unsuspecting tourists to himself!

Steve Martin and Michael Caine are absolutely brilliant in their roles as Freddy Benson and Lawrence Jamieson respectively in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. I was reading about this film in my copy of Michael Caine's 2010 autobiography The Elephant to Hollywood, which is a very interesting book to read (and one that I would strongly recommend). From when reading in that book about this film, Michael Caine stated that he had absolute pleasure working on this film with co-star Steve Martin and Frank Oz, the director of this very amusing film. As other reviewers here have mentioned, you can really tell that the two main stars had so much fun making this film, and it really shows when you watch it as there is a lot of great humour in the storylines.

In some ways Dirty Rotten Scoundrels reminds me of a British comedy drama from the 1990s named Perfect Scoundrels, which also centred on two con men who are on their travels conning wealthy people out of their money (I watched every episode of that series on YouTube a while ago and thought it was great, just like this film here - sadly, Perfect Scoundrels has never been released on DVD due to rights issues with programming from the regional ITV company who produced it, TVS).

Despite the fact that I had never seen Dirty Rotten Scoundrels before until watching the DVD, I thought it was really good, I was crying with laughter at some of the scenes. Overall, it is such a great film to watch and I would very highly recommend that you buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lhilariously comical, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
loved the twists and turns of the scam, don't agree with it though. it makes me wary of any rich man or woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overview of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Damian Peter Carberry "Movie Reviews" (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
If you are looking for great fun and laughter for all the family then you have chosen the perfect movie. Scoundrels is loaded with humour and such multi charachter talented acting we have come to expect from such seasoned naturals such as Michael Caine and Steve Martin. The plot of two highly competative con artists trying to rid themselves of the other to gain monolopy over the playground and rich picking to be had is surpassed only by the lovely twists towards the end of the movie which take us by complete surprise.

Scoundrels bears testomeny to the fact that one does not need high budget, hi octane, obscene or explicit scenes within a movie to keep the viewer thoroughly entertained from start to finish.

A must for any age, any group, a must for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing and addictive, 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Ive watched this movie hundreds of times and cant get enough of it. Its one of those movies that makes you laugh even harder everytime you see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has Its Moments, 28 Dec 2013
By 
E. Smith (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first time I saw this I thought it was one of the funniest films ever, then the second time not so much. As I now know the filming locations pretty well, I thought I'd give it another go in bluray to see what I recognised.

Anyway, the storyline is pretty good. A suave conman gets forced to take an extremely gauche small-time con artist under his wing, and they end up trying to scam the same rich woman. I felt Michael Caine as the smoothie came across well, but Steve Martin was as OTT as ever, so often too much.

The film was made mostly on location, with the wonderfully scenic old town of Villefranche-sur-Mer taking centre stage, although I think credit was mostly wrongly given to nearby Beaulieu-sur-Mer. Needless to say, most of the locations are beautiful and even sumptuous.

It's often pretty funny, especially the leg-testing scene, but I feel that Steve Martin was often so annoying that he detracted from the humour.

Whilst watching, I commented that David Niven would have been ideal for the Michael Caine role, and when reading about the film afterwards, it turns out it's actually a remake of a 1964 film starring David Niven and Marlon Brando.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and nasty, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That characters that is - the film is great along with the acting.
The three of them work together wonderfully.
Michael Cane and Steve Martin are slick as oil spills just as they should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely funny, 20 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
The first time I watched this film I noticed there are many similarities between this film and a classical film "Bedtime Story" ,which performed by David Niven and Marlon Brando. However the play of Steve Martin and Michael Caine made the film very interesting . Although Steve Martin is well known for the films like "Jerk" and " A Man with Two Brains" this is my most favourite Steve Martin film.All characters in this comedy film are charlatans except a lovely lady but...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic comedy all the way through !, 3 July 2001
This review is from: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989] (DVD)
You will not regret buying this film, a complete laugh-fest from start to finish.
Stars Micheal Caine and Steve Martin as two con men who decide that the French Riviera isn't big enough for the both of them. Battle ensues with hilarious results !
Some of the scenes will have you rolling around on the floor with tears in your eyes. I won't spoil it for you but all I can say is "Why is the cork on the fork ?"
You'll see !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels [DVD] [1988] [1989]
4.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews